We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vila Lumbung

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vila Lumbung to your Saves list
Hotel Vila Lumbung
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Raya Petitenget, No. 1000 X | Bali, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Vila Lumbung this last week and it was the best hotel I have stayed at in Bali. The atmosphere was so peaceful and relaxing and it was in the perfect location :)

We did have a few issues with late check-in and early check-out but it was totally manageable. The staff were friendly and professional, rooms were tidy and the pool/pool bar were AMAZING!

We had a great time and will be returning to Hotel Lumbung :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    266
    73
    21
    19
See reviews for
130
233
23
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed in a basic room and found it really comfortable and clean -- bed was very nice. The pool is very good and was never too crowded or noisy and breakfast had quite a bit of choice. Food wasn't as spectacular as you'd find at a 5 star resort but lots of good restaurants are within walking distance. Overall this was a very nice place to stay and good value for what we paid.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor and quite close to the pool but never had any problems with noise or any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have stayed at Villa Lumbung twice now and have been very happy with both stays. I always felt safe and everything was always clean. The staff are lovely. I will be staying there every trip to Bali.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My second stay and staff went out of their way to secure adjoining bungalows so that my daughter and kids could be right next door. Family and friends visited and used facilities and were always welcome. So much better up there instead of Kuta or the busier areas of Seminyak.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I have stayed at so many different hotel rooms . This hotel is not 4 star . Should be 2 star . Rooms are not finished properly / blood stains on sheets and when they changed it the sheets were still stained . It's like they are using second hand bed sheet. Locker didn't work . We have to change room 3 times . The manager wasn't even available. Staff at reception couldn't speak good English. Pls don't stay in superior room worst ever . It's very overpriced.only thing is good at the hotel is food , bar staff and swimming pool. That's it. I wouldn't recommend it. My girlfriend and we wanna to move out next day. Complaint wasn't handle properly. No call return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed at the Vila Lumbung for six nights over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed my even though it was raining for 4 days straight.

The pick-up from the airport was arranged as agreed even though the immigration formalities took forever. The drive to the hotel took about an hour and a half due to traffic but the driver (Mr Button) was chatty and spoke very good English so that wasn't really a big issue (and no fault of the hotel anyway). Check in process was quick and very friendly and within a minute or two the bellhop was showing me to my room.

I stayed at one of the deluxe bungalows (downstairs) and for a solo traveler that room(s) was way bigger than some of my early apartments back in the day... The master bedroom/living room was very spacious and the king size bed was of so comfortable. There was even a second bedroom available and plenty of closet space for unpacking. Fridge was available and TV was equipped with international channels so no complaints. The huge bathroom was semi-outdoors and privacy was assured by a walls/drapes and partitions. Separate bath and shower were available. Note that as the bathroom is partially outdoors some mosquitoes/bugs/creepy-crawlies will be present. Only small minus for the room was the sound proofing (or lack thereof as is often the case in Asia) as I could hear the pitter-patter of footsteps going up and down to/from the upstairs apartment as well as their television. But my sleep was not bothered so again, not a major issue. But bear in mind if you're a light sleeper.

The wifi reception was a bit sketchy at times but this may have also been due to my devices so no minuses form that. The room service worked like a charm and as it was raining heavily for several days I spent a lot of time lounging on the outdoor bed on the patio of the bungalow reading and enjoying the excellent service of the hotel. Overall the staff at the restaurant/front desk were very friendly and helpful and already on the second day they were addressing me by my name so good job there. I ate at the restaurant a few times and the food was quite good and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate.

Overall it was a really enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend the hotel to my friends and would not hesitate to stay again if looking for a place to stay in Seminyak.

Room Tip: I stayed at bungalow 9A which is close to the pool so there will be some noise coming from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is my third review of Lumbung as we've been coming here for 10 years (actually still here, after a month). For my 10 and year old daughters, they feel as at home here as if it was our own holiday home. Which sort of explains why it's so fantastic and how a 3.5 star property can get a 5 star rating. It's all about context. Sure, it's not fancy but it's extraordinary value in both the size, cleanliness of the rooms and their flexibility in letting children share the rooms with you, thanks to their super large day bed room. Not all hotels will let you decide when you are comfortable with all four in a room - which is pretty much all the time for us as we aren't the sort to hang around inside on holiday. It's also about how lovely they keep the grounds and the pool. And about the warmth of the service. All of these things make our time here lovely every time we stay. Now, don't let this review seduce you into thinking you are coming to a 5 star resort, it's much too easy going for that. Which also makes it great for the children. Not that should be an excuse for kids gone wild, but they can play Marco Polo and laugh in the pool without being frowned upon by guests who, rightly, expect their sort of serenity when paying a lot of money. (Actually, the worst behaviour I've seen in the public spaces here has been from adults, so don't let the kid friendliness put you off if you are travelling sans children). Other great aspects of Lumbung are that all the 'amenities' of Seminyak are slowly creeping up, making the property quite central these days. This of course, can also be seen as a bad thing, it's up to you. Personally, I'd like to see less cranes and more of old haunts resurrected than a lot of what's going on, but that's not really the fault of Lumbung. In fact, it's a big part of its charm as the grace of Bali is slowly being sacrificed to some god-awful blights on the landscape and Lumbung soothes with its lush gardens and understated graceful lumbung style villas. If you are a family, the family bungalows with kitchens are great if you have younger children. We have moved onto to the superior bungalow, downstairs, which has indoor daybed but no kitchen, which we don't need. We also love the outdoor bathrooms of the downstairs villas. To be honest, the rooms in the newer hotel block are pretty charmless in my opinion but I'm sure they serve a purpose for some, especially as they are very low price compared to many of the other properties in Seminyak. So, once again, this year we are reminded why we love Lumbung and why so many people we have recommended lumbung to also love Lumbung. Which is why, in finishing I mention some fancy pictures they have up on the border fencing of a new Lumbung and ask of the universe, "please don't let it be".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vila Lumbung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Lumbung

Address: Jalan Raya Petitenget, No. 1000 X | Bali, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#33 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#44 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vila Lumbung 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Lumbung is located in Seminyak area, just 15 minutes drive by car from Kuta or Legian and 10 minutes walk to Seminyak Square shopping centre. Set on 15.000 square meters of lush tropical gardens and just 800 meters away from Petitenget Beach, this hotel also close to several famous restaurant and beach club in Seminyak. The hotel features with 36 Superior Rooms and 34 Deluxe Bungalow and this is the perfect place for those who seek a fresh tropical atmosphere. All villas are in the Lumbung style with typical Balinese wooden roofs (sirap) in spacious Balinese rooms. Flooded with natural light, the well-designed rooms with a balcony and DVD player prepared in each room. All of them are fully equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, in-room safe, minibar, coffee or tea maker facility, bath-up and shower, and free complimentary Wi-Fi access.In addition, an open air restaurant with an adjacent pool bar and 2 level swimming pool with waterfall and cave, tropical island, whirl pool, gazebo and day spa, kids playground, tour desk and recreation room. Luxury and style within a true Balinese atmosphere awaits you at this Bali resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vila Lumbung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Vila Lumbung
Vila Lumbung Hotel
Hotel Vila Lumbung Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vila Lumbung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.