We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wacko Burger Cafe

Wacko Burger Cafe
Jalan Kayu Aya - Food Village, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 739178
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 292 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Australian, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The reason we are so hard to find because we are located in a new square called Kayu Aya Food Square.We are a tiny cafe, right in the corner of the Kayu Aya Food Square (NOT Seminyak Square), just next to OBEROI hotel you will notice a little market, well... we are behind that market. Just give us a call for directions or ask the taxi driver to drop you in front of the Oberoi Hotel.We are open from 12 noon and our last food order is at 9:30 pm.Don't expect an extensive menu, we only sell burgers and a couple other eats, we just want to focus on good BURGERS & SHAKES for a reasonable value. From the classic to the most innovative burger creations there is a place for everyone's taste.A wacko a burger is not just a burger, it's a creation that has been made from your own inspiration!
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We visited Wacko Burger twice while we were holidaying in Bali after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Fabulous food and fantastic service! Great flavour combinations with the burgers - introducing beetroot to a burger is genus!

Perfect if you are looking for good food, great service, burgers and Bintang!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiKapitano, Owner at Wacko Burger Cafe, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we consider ourselves blessed with all the comments we are getting.


I’m glad you enjoyed the beetroot, for your information, in Australia it is very typical to use beetroot in burgers & sandwiches.

Regards,

Wacko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    198
    37
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesomely good burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We went to Wacko Burger after reading the great reviews on TripAdvisor, and we weren't disappointed! The location is small but clean. Service was great. The owner came out and chatted with us while we ate. I had the Flaming Bali Crunch, while the kids had the BBQ Cheeseburger. My burger had the most extraordinary mix of flavors I've never tasted on a burger. And I've had many burgers. The use of Indonesian sambal and potato chips on top of that juicy patty, all sandwiched between those soft buns was just out of this world! I had a bite of the BBQ cheeseburger, and that was good as well. The fries are also worth a mention. Crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside. You can't go wrong with the burgers, though the fish & chips my daughter had was only so-so. It's great value for money too, it was one of the cheapest meals we had our entire trip. We'd definitely go back next time we're in Bali. Worth at least one visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiKapitano, Owner at Wacko Burger Cafe, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your contribution, I do remember you and your family, and I’m glad you enjoyed our food and service.

Hope to see you and your family again in Bali sometime.

Best Regards,

Wacko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a must do when you are looking for something light, great service and the best burgers in Bali. Clean toilets and kitchen, and GREAT FLAVOURS a must do in Bali

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiKapitano, Manager at Wacko Burger Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your support, we consider ourselves blessed with all the comments we are getting.

Hope to see you again on your next visit in Bali

Regards,

Wacko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It might be 'only' a burger, but damn it's a good one.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Located in the Kayu Aya food village, behind the Seminyak market, Wacko Burger offers a good selection of burgers, just how they should be. The meat patties are juicy and cooked to your liking. I had the Flaming Bali Crunch which had potato crisps on it - this might seem weird, but it really worked - and just the right amount of spice. My husband had the OMFG which was tasty but as the name suggests, only for those who really like it spicy We also had the Belgian waffles (the chef is Belgian, of Indonesian descent) and they were amazing. The chef/owner has had an illustrious career in fine dining and brings this experience to making tasty burgers cooked to perfection with interesting and different flavour combinations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiKapitano, Owner at Wacko Burger Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your praise, we consider ourselves fortunate with all the comments we are receiving.

We are working on a new extended menu and hoping to launch it in December.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Bali

Regards,

Wacko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Globally Good Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Yes it's just a burger joint, and there are supposed fine dining experiences around Seminyak, but this is simply a must stop. The patties here are juicy and flavoursome, and the buns are fresh and soft, and put many a brioche bun to shame. I haven't had a better burger ever. I've had the wagyu burger at the Rockpools in Australia, and they're good too. This burger is not absurdly thick, and doesn't have the charred black dried out meat of the various inch thick upmarket burger options around the world and Australia these days. This is unpretentious and seriously good. And sitting in the outdoor courtyard, away from the noise and heat (and our seriously upmarket hotel on the beach), drinking $2 Bintang beers in frozen glasses from the bar next door, is simply a great holiday experience.

We walked straight from an extended session here, to beautiful outdoor beachside dining, with terrific imported wines and single waiter to table service at our hotel restaurant, and interpretations of local food. It was an incredible experience, but I woke up this morning still thinking about this little burger joint.

Seems crazy to recommend burgers in Bali, and I do love Indonesian food, but good local food options seem scarce close to the beach. I'll keep looking for that, but will also head back for more burgers for sure. Best in its class.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiKapitano, Owner at Wacko Burger Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your admiration, we consider ourselves fortunate with all the comments we are receiving.

I’m glad to see that so many reviewers accept what we are producing, we are trying hard to give our customers the best value and quality.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Bali

Regards,

Wacko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wacko Burger Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Wacko Burger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wacko Burger Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.