We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mejekawi

Mejekawi
Jalan Kayu Aya No.9 Seminyak, Bali, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
361 736969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 323 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exquisite!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Mejekawi is classy restaurant for those who appreciate fine dining at its best. My husband and I treated ourselves to an 8 course degustation paired with wines. Our taste buds were tantalised with every bite and the wines matched perfectly! We were also overwhelmed by the staff who made us feel welcomed, relaxed and special. The restaurant sits above Ku de ta and during courses we were invited to sip wine on the balcony which overlooked the ocean and a sea of candlelit diners. It was magic. A memorable experience - worth every penny!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    12
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Outstanding degustation and sophisticated service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very impressed with our dinner at Mejekawi. The 8 course degustation was aboslutely delicious and just the right size. We enjoyed every dish!! The quality of the food is up there with all the top rated restaurants in Sydney and Hong Kong.

The waiters were knowleagable about the dishes they served and they were happy to suggest to us that we could take a break during the degustation and finish our drink out on the balcony looking at the waves on the beach. Such a sophisticated, relaxed approach to fine dining.

A big thankyou to Bon Bon who also arranged for lychee rose martinis for me even those cocktails are part of the downstairs cocktail menu.

It was a lovely, romantic dinner and one of best memories of Bali.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a must visit when in Bali!! The chefs are absolute wizards with the amazing dishes they create. Every single dish was so full of flavour and presented beautifully. Can't say enough about this wonderful place. Perfect in every way from the service thru to the cocktails. Just go

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This truly is a very good restaurant with superb food and matching service...and great value.
As my son does not eat fish, they were very happy to change two of the fish dishes to other items.
The eight course menu was a perfect size.
The only other observation is that it would be more convenient if they had a toilet upstairs,rather than sharing with the other restaurant/bar downstairs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Went not really knowing what to expect and was absolutely delighted! We chose the 8 course
degustation and matched it with amazing cocktails. The food was of an incredible level, as good as a Michelin restaurant we ate at in France. This is a must for real foodies. Unusual combinations beautifully presented and each course fully described by the excellent and very knowledgeable wait staff. The kitchen is open but was calm at all times-with at least 5 chefs in attendance. We felt really special as this is a very small restaurant. A definitely recommend and will go again! Stunning dining experience. This is on the expensive side for Bali tho.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mejekawi also viewed

 

Been to Mejekawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mejekawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.