We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meja Restaurant and Bar

Meja Restaurant and Bar
Jalan Kayu Aya #68 | IZE Hotel (oberoi), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Meja Kitchen and Bar)
+62 361 8466996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 317 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Continental, Australian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The MEJA experience starts the moment you turn onto fashionable Oberoi street in the Seminyak district of south Bali. Just look for the blue on the left. Because set like a glowing opal among the other glittering boutiques and restos is the New Meja Kitchen & Bar. With a striking, modern façade of louvered steel, one look at this two tiered venue and you know you are going to have a great dining experience. Even the understated neon sign is cool. Mixing a modern menu with traditional respect, with plenty of parking out back, you don’t just enter this restaurant, you glide into it. The food is out of this world, ranging from such exotica as an almond crusted Mahi cooked with a chive butter mash to a Coffee rubbed cheese burger that is worth a drive from Jakarta. Once inside you will immediately feel at home. Upstairs is being developed as a chic bar and lounge, that offers a bird’s eye view of all the action of Oberoi street. A great place to watch the dusk fall upon the nightlife of the street. All in all, Meja is an affordable one stop shop for a dynamite dinner and an upstairs lounge experience. A great place to kick-start any adventurous evening in Bali, Meja is set to become a destination restaurant for any lovers of great food and even better memories.
Queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Chef has a unique Fusion style of Food that tantalize the taste buds.........portion sizes are just enough....allowing you to enjoy the beautiful desserts..........The ambiance is very relaxed & casual, with an open Kitchen......so that the chefs can see the service of the wait staff..........very friendly.......I love it

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Stephanie,


Warm greeting from Meja Team.
We all glad knowing that you had a great experience with Meja also giving us such an excellent review on TripAdvisor.
What we trying to do is create simple and comfort style food and make it slightly different with neighbors just to ensure peoples get more option with us yet the price we have is the best best value for money.Also we providing best srvice delivered from our trained wait staff

Next visit definitely you must try the Balinese Style Pork Ribs,marinated in secret recipe Balinese bumbu served with jukut urab ( traditional Balinese vegetables ) ,bumbu goreng and steam rice.
Also our Mojito,I can say best mojito I ever tasted...so be with us again soon.

Kind regards


Meja kitchen & bar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    26
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Banana pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

These are fabulous - something I usually don't eat for breakfast but they were light and fluffy with nice banana, crumbled pistachios and marscapone cheese. Yum! It was fabulous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Sandy

Warm greeting from Meja team.
Thank you very much for your visit at Meja and also posting such an excellent review on TripAdvisor.
We all glad that you enjoyed our food.
Our concept is quiet simple providing ,comfort and healthy choices.We also provide different kind of set menu for breakfast with very reasonable price.We are not serving cheap food but the best value for money.
Fresh baked bread,fresh fruit and ..I love the bircher muesli yet the Banana Pancake with pistachio and mascarpone cheese is yummii.

Also please spare your time at Meja for Lunch and Dinner cause we have many option to be explored and differently set by our chef with the neighbors.
Definitely need to try our Kaffir Lime Chicken Risotto and Our best Beef Rendang ( Indonesian best Food .
Don't forget we have the best mojito on the Island with unthinkable flavor combination.

But anyway we look forward having you back at MEJA.

Again thank you for your visit at Meja.

Kind Regards,


Meja kitchen & bar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The perfect mojito and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Four of us visited Meja for dinner last week and after eating out for 10 days in Bali it was my best food experience. Everything from the garlic prawns, calamari, pumpkin salad and corn with jalapeño butter was divine. Their range of mojitos are the best I've seen and come in generous jam jar style glasses. The staff were also pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Worked out with starters, mains, four sides and three mojitos each to be $35 per person. Unbelievable value for a very upmarket restaurant/bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear,

Warm greeting from Meja team.
Thank you very much for your visit at Meja kitchen & bar and also your excellent review on TripAdvisor.
All off Meja team are very happy knowing that you were have a great time with us and enjoyed with our foods and drinks.We put quality on top of everything yet our price is the best value for money.

I do believe your excellent comment will be a motivation for us to become better and better.

We look forward having you back at Meja on your next Bali Trip.


Kind Regards


Meja kitchen & bar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay Aust
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meja - Great food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a great meal here with friends, food was fantastic and I thought the service was A1. We ended up staying for a few drinks ( Mt Gay Rum mojitos , very nice!). Ate seafood dishes which were tops and had meringue for desert. Great staff, prompt service, food was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear,

Warm greeting from Meja team.
On behalf of Meja team I would like to say thank you very much for your visit at Meja and giving us such an excellent review on TripAdvisor.

We all glad that you were enjoyed your meal at Meja.
Your excellent review will be our prime concern to make sure we will keep up the quality of our product better and better .
We do hope in your next trip to Bali you will spend your time again with us and having such a great time with us at Meja.

Kind Regards


Meja kitchen & bar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We enjoyed a fantastic meal here along with 2 for 1 Mojito's, the staff here are friendly & knowledgable about the menu. We enjoyed the Chicken & Lime Risotto & the Crab & Chive Mahi Mahi (white fillets of fish) both were deliscous with great subtle flavours. We also enjoyed the chocolate brownie & meringue both very nice. There is music in the background which is nice you can still hold a conversation. Although smoking is allowed on the terrace as non smokers we were not too concerned as the space is so open it was not an issue unlike other places. We will definitely come again on our next visit to Bali

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Deb,

Warm greetings from Meja team.
Thank you very much for your visit at Meja kitchen & bar.All of Meja team really happy to know that you had a great time with us and enjoyed our product.
Also we do thank you for contributing such an excellent review on TripAdvisor.We gonna treat this review as a standard that we have to keep up.

When you say the Chicken Risotto & Crab & Chives Crusted Mahi Mahi I definitely say those two are the champions. Every body love it.

We are very proud having a solid team who support each other highly and I can say they serve and doing a job with heart.

We look forward having you again at Meja in your next Bali trips.

Kind Regards,


Meja kitchen & bar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meja Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Meja Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meja Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.