We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great addition to Eat Street.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meja Restaurant and Bar

Meja Restaurant and Bar
Jalan Kayu Aya #68 | IZE Hotel (oberoi), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Meja Kitchen and Bar)
+62 361 8466996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 289 Restaurants in Seminyak
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, Australian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The MEJA experience starts the moment you turn onto fashionable Oberoi street in the Seminyak district of south Bali. Just look for the blue on the left. Because set like a glowing opal among the other glittering boutiques and restos is the New Meja Kitchen & Bar. With a striking, modern façade of louvered steel, one look at this two tiered venue and you know you are going to have a great dining experience. Even the understated neon sign is cool. Mixing a modern menu with traditional respect, with plenty of parking out back, you don’t just enter this restaurant, you glide into it. The food is out of this world, ranging from such exotica as an almond crusted Mahi cooked with a chive butter mash to a Coffee rubbed cheese burger that is worth a drive from Jakarta. Once inside you will immediately feel at home. Upstairs is being developed as a chic bar and lounge, that offers a bird’s eye view of all the action of Oberoi street. A great place to watch the dusk fall upon the nightlife of the street. All in all, Meja is an affordable one stop shop for a dynamite dinner and an upstairs lounge experience. A great place to kick-start any adventurous evening in Bali, Meja is set to become a destination restaurant for any lovers of great food and even better memories.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great addition to Eat Street.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First visit to a new restaurant.

Very casual but loved it.

Standout meal was the chicken and lime risotto but really, why bother eating at all. The pomegranate mojito would be almost the best cocktail I have had in Bali (and to my shame I have had more than a few) and seems to cover most of the food groups.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear,

Warm greetings from Meja team.

Thank you for your good review on TripAdvisor and we all glad that you enjoyed your meal at Meja especially Kaffir lime Chicken Risotto and also the Vanilla and Pomegranate mojito.
Those two items are top of the sales at Meja.
But again definitely you need to come back to try all the Flavored Mojito.They all very interesting.

We just put a couple more interesting dishes in to our menu to enrich the menu selection and make sure your next Bali trip Meja will be your top list to be visited.

Look forward seeing you back at Meja.

Best regards,

Meja kitchen & bar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    23
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Breakfast - Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

So I’m not one to frequent the same place often, but while on a recent trip to Bali we did come here for breakfast most mornings.

Food is great, prices are reasonable, ice coffee is sensational and the Wi-Fi is speedy. (sometimes we need some creature comforts) They have set menu options i.e. an indo breakfast with juice etc. and American or continental breakfast or you can select from their menu too. Fresh juice is great and the place has a wonderful French funky decor influence.

Staff deserve a mention for being smiley and wonderful. Feel free to ask for colouring for the kids too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear,

Warm greetings from Meja team.
We are very happy that you enjoyed the experience with us also thank you for your kindness in posting very good review regarding Meja kitchen & bar.

We try to put small details that people would love to have that like cold towel and coloring paper for the kids.

We also providing light and healthy breakfast as everybody start going in to this direction.
Again we will not gonna stop to make the place better and better.

We look forward having you back to be a part of Meja experience.

Kind regards,

Meja kitchen & bar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Calamari ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The 2 for 1 Mohito's drew us there (we enjoyed them), but the Calamari was without the best I have ever had anywhere in the world. Food is upmarket and, as you would expect of a fine restaurant, serves are modest but high quality. Staff were very good and attentive. If you want to fill up on bucket of food cheap don't go there, if you want quality European style food and time to digest it while you watch the world go by, it's a great option.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Barneyannie,

Warm greetings from Meja kitchen & bar.
The first thing that I want to say is,,yes I agree with you ,the calamari is my favorite too ,,Panko Crumbed Calamari with Mango Aioli...just so good !!

But anyway we thank you in a million ways for your good review on TripAdvisor.
We all very happy that you were enjoyed your time with us and we all waiting your next visit to Meja and having good experience with us again.

Kind Regards,

Meja kitchen & bar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice decoration, poor value, expired food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast there with 4 people. Portions were small and expensive. Menu is poor and not very clear. But mainly, food did not taste fresh. When ordering pineapple juice, staff said we should not because it was bad. Waffles were hard. Apple juice was fermented and tasted like cider for two among us at the table. When asked to replace, staff did not taste but made us feel it was our taste. They replaced by brown looking fresh apple juice.
Other than food, location is good and decoration is nice.
I would not recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear,

Warm greetings from Meja team.
We do apologize that you did not enjoy your experience at Meja.
I am sure there always be a chance for us to improve since we just open two and a half months.

But any way thank you for the comment and management will process the comment in to improvement for our business.Just for sure we will not gonna serve the expired food which is the result even worst than just complain.
If we talking about the taste we have change our juice brand which might be the taste that people not really like it.
We putting more attention in the quality of course just to drawn us in to better and better .

Should you have another chances to Meja I will guarantee that will not gonna happened again.

Look forward to see you back at Meja .

Kind regards,

Meja kitchen & bar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor terrace & good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The 1 for 1 mojito sign drew my friend & I in here yesterday & I decided to go back there for a spot of lunch with my daughter today. They have a good selection of mojitos (not the best on the island but not bad either) including the classic (IDR 85k) but they make them using caster sugar - ask to omit this & go for sugar syrup instead, so much better! For lunch today we had pumpkin & couscous salad $55k (menu said quinoa?) & panko crumbed calamari $48k, both were yummy & we would definitely eat here again! Staff are friendly and not overbearing, mojitos take a little while to prepare? Toilets are nice & clean, shame all the tables on the terrace are all smoking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komang D, Manager at Meja Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Lenny,

Warm greetings fro Meja team.
Thank you very much for your good review on TripAdvisor.We all glad the hear that you were enjoyed the time with us.
Also I do apologize that you have to wait the Mojito for sometimes since we really prepared everything fresh.I am agree with you with the caster sugar, we start using a balance citrus and sugar syrup to maintain the consistency.

We try to accommodate everybody in our premises ,which is non smoking will be inside and smoking area is by the Terrace
Next we will put deck on the water feature at the front,by that way we will be able to maximize space and having 2 section at the Terrace.

All of Meja team are looking forward seeing you back at Meja .

Best regards,

Meja kitchen & bar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meja Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Meja Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meja Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.