We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blanca Villa Bali

Blanca Villa Bali
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blanca Villa Bali to your Saves list
Blanca Villa Bali
Jl. Oberoi Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days at the end of September. There were 5 of us in total. The villa was advertised as new but as soon as we arrived we realised that wasn't true. (I belie the website comments have been changed following our numerous complaints). The villa accommodates 6 people but only had 2 sun chairs and a couple of bean bags for use by the pool. The kitchen was dirty as was the crockery. Bathrooms had plumbing issues and at one stage we couldn't leave the villa as one of the bathrooms was flooding. The tiles in the bathroom left a black sticky residue on the soles of our feet after we showered. On complaining we were told the villa offered good value for money. We would have gladly paid more for something clean and functional. It was such a shame to have overshadowed what could have been a lovely holiday. All said, Katut, the chef was charming.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Villa Blanca for a period of 6 nights at the end of August 2013. When we arrived we were greeted by the managing agent as well as the cleaner. and shown around the property and its features. It was clear from first impressions that the photos used on their website were taken a long time ago as the rooms and bathrooms were now suffering from moisture and dampness which had dis-coloured the walls and floors. The bed sheets were stained and the property hadn't been maintained as well as the photos depicted.

We are fairly well traveled, having visited over 35 countries, including having been to Bali 3 times before and have stayed in all various of properties. So with that aside however, the most disappointing part of our stay had to be the fact that we had $200 AUD taken from the safe which was located int eh master bedroom in the cupboard. We had stored exactly $1000 AUD in the safe, the night we arrived, together with some jewelry and our passports and when we check 2 days later $200 cash had been taken. The agent tried to manage the situation by notifying the owner (who was in France) and interviewed the cleaner and gardener, each of whom came past once daily. Both denied any knowledge of the event and the owner refused to compensate us for our loss.

whilst it a quick street in Bali, there are a lot of loud noises at night, including, barking dogs, roosters (starting at 12:30am) and other tourists pumping music until 5am in the morning.

Overall a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: avoid keeping anything in the safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The website looked great, the majority of the reviews seemed good. But we were a little disappointed in the villa we chose and we didnt like the madness of the Seminyak area much at all.

The actual layout of the villa is fine, but the property is extremely tired and in need of some TLC. Our bedsheets/linen were stained (washed, but stained). Many things arent working properly or seem a bit dangerous (like the wire dangling in the pool near the pool light?!) and the bean bags/pool floats are all coming apart at the seams. The shower in the main bedroom is dreadful. No pressure at all and ice cold, even on the highest setting. Short showers are fine, but dealing with unclean hair because I cant have a decent shower, bugs me.

Roosters, mosquitos, geckos - make you feel like you are in Bali, so no issues there.

Would I come back to Villa Blanca. No. (Not unless changes were made)
Would I come back to Seminyak? No.
If I was ever to return to Bali, it will be to go back up to Ubud to escape the craziness. This has not been my idea of a relaxing vacation at all. And we still have 4 days to go. Ugh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just completed a 14 day stay at the villa Blanca. Location is excellent & staff really do try to be accommodating, and are friendly.Just a couple of issues about the villa, firstly the air con in our bedroom was not working as it should & needs servicing.Kitchen area needs work and some kitchen utensils would be great.Shower areas and toilets need addressing,like new tiling on the floors as there is mould & soap scum build up on floors & walls.Pool area decking starting to warp and needs replacing.The Villa is showing signs of wear & needs some TLC, so that it looks like the photos on the web site.






v

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

this is a great villa but there is a couple of issues
this is not a fault with villa but its location there is a few roosters around the area and they seemed to be noisy all the time but 5 30 am they were in fine form it did t bother me but a couple
of people in our group it really did bother them
the house cleaning was a bit hit and miss she did do a great job cleaning but was t great with replacing linen and we had to a couple times strip the beds to make sure we got clean linen and
towels ,the villa has a great water dispenser it is both hot and cold water witch is good but if it runs out of water you have to wait until house cleaning to get there cause the spare is locked away in a closet
the villa is very nice it is down a dark lane so torches are helpful you are best to get picked up at the airport cause you will struggle to find it we did have a security person there but it s not from the villa but supplied by the land owner security was there 10 pm till 6 am although it is dark spot it did feel safe.the villa is close to eat street so great location .the pool is very nice and kitchen and tv area is open with ceiling fans no air con in this area but fans are ok the 3 big bedrooms had air con our room air con seemed to struggle to keep room cool there are no tv in rooms and the bathrooms are big and part open to sky
overall the villa was great would i stay here again most differently i would

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Collected by driver and taken to our Villa in Seminyak, it is about a 4 minute walk from the main eat street in Seminyak the lane is quite dark mainly locals live there so take a torch for night, even though no security felt quite safe, just locked doors to villa and bedrooms each time out and even when asleep each room has own key. Villa was clean had a lovely Villa lady but hardly saw her as out alot this trip, but basic beds, bathroom and kitchen all cleaned when we returned. Anni the manager was really helpful she came and met with us and helped us out a lot phone in villa with her number in it and other contacts. Villa rooms two have double beds and one villa room 2 single beds a total of 6 people to sleep, rooms really bright in colour, bathrooms are really large whilst they are under cover when it rained heavy if on the toilet you did get showered on, but not that bad, each room has own air conditioner. One room has the safe. The main living area is bright and spacious with a TV on wall with a few stations, only thing had 3 remotes so as not technical minded had to get help from our Villa girl to fix a few times. The filtered water was really handy as filled bottles up each day for our big days out and also heaps of cooking equipment if you wish to cook and stay at Villa.
The main are is open and has two ceiling fans which we found great, also has large drop down blinds for the afternoon sun. The pool was in sun all day so always nice and refreshing and not cold, a few large red bean bags to sit in around pool came in handy our 16yr old son loved lazying around and of course putting them all together. The overall villa is clean and white in colour with splashes of red and green and lovely outlook over pool from each room and living area. The location is great away from the busy main access street in Seminyak only thing rooster do wake you up at 5am but they are everywhere so we just lived with it.

Room Tip: If travelling with 3 couples, one couple will have twin beds, all rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Blanca Villa from Xmas Eve to the start of January, and it was a wonderful place that I would recommend.

BEDROOMS:
There were 3 huge rooms in total with a different colour theme in each, someone has obvisouly put in a lot of effort into the decorating anf it was well worth it.
Each room has a large cupboard and desk with a large mirror. One room even has a huge full length mirror which was handy for getting ready.
Each room also has its own bathroom, all with semi outdoor showers (the roof is missing) however the rest of the bathroom is covered with a roof. 2 Rooms consist of a huge queen bed, and there are 2 singles in the third bedroom. All rooms are privately accessed by the porch that surrounds the rooms pool and living area, so you can lock them from inside or out and be private.
The rooms do get bugs in them such as mosquitos, however apply some aeroguard and you'll be fine. The villas are quite "outdoorsy" although they lock up etc, so dont expect the same sealed room as a hotel.

LIVING AREA:
The living area was huge and open air, which is actually really nice. There are blinds , but only 3 out of 4 walls, so be prepared with bug spray. In saying this though, I didnt find the bugs to be too much of an issue.
There is a lounge, and a one seater plus ottoman, so easting for about 4. Anymore than this though and you wont really fit around the tele. The kitchen is long and sufficient, although the microwave didnt work which was a disappointment. It also comes with filtered water, hot and cold, so that was helpful.
The dining room is large and the kitchen is stocked to be able to cook, although there are not enough bowls, perhaps they get easily broken. I would recommend to the manager to replace.

POOL/GARDEN:
The pool is off the L shaped building of 3 rooms and living area. It is small but sufficient and quite warm. Its cleaned regularly though, as is the villa. We brought some pool toys and fit four of them in there, so that was fun.
There are also 4 beanbags, plus 2 chairs. So plenty to sit and sunbake on.
There is a small grassed area, plus decking, with all day sun. Perfect for sunbaking all day.

STAFF:
The cleaners we had came everyday and did a great job. Sometimes they were there for a little too long, which is not necessary when you have a private villa and want some privacy. I would recommend to the management that they come for an hour only, or every second day.
They were very kind though and sorted out laundry quickly and cheaply.
The Manager Ani was lovely and cheerful, you could call her if anything went wrong, like the power going out, which happened alot. It is Bali though, so power is not great. And they are working on upgrading it.

EVERYTHING ELSE:
Wifi was supplied for free- awesome! One of the best draw cards of the place.
The walk to the villa was down a small lane, it was hard for our transfer to find, but once you know where it is easy to find again.

The villa is also SO close to Oberoi shopping strip, best spot for shopping and dining in Seminyak.

All in all Blanca Villa was an awesome spot, comfortable, and I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blanca Villa Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanca Villa Bali

Address: Jl. Oberoi Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blanca Villa Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanca Villa Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blanca Villa Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.