We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Gastroteque

Teatro Gastroteque
Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
6285101700078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 412 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $120
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Teatro Gastroteque is a boutique fine dining restaurant, located in the epicentrum of Bali's best dining destination, Seminyak. We offer something completely novel - a sophisticated Asian twist on the French cuisine. We source the best produce available in the market, and use most of local ingredients to deliver an authentic flavour yet alluring with bold presentation, highlighting quality ingredients. The name of Teatro Gastroteque literally means "Theatre" where our culinary team performs their passion and love of gastronomy, and to be presented to you in such immaculate and impeccable way by our butlers. We are passionate to give the best dining experience to our guests, for that reason, details and fundamental techniques are the foundation to pursue our goal, we call it "Infinity journey to find a perfection". Complete your unforgettable evening with us, and savour the luxury you deserve.
Southwest, WA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The food was delicious more art than cuisine. If you have cash to burn go for it. We were glad we tried it and enjoyed the dishes but the price is very high so we would not go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oceanmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Oceanmum,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate your decision and we thank you for your compliment for our food. If in the future you decide to come back please do let us know, feel free to email us at Daniel@teatrobali.com.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Different, but, very memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A little apprehensive at first as the menu choices appear inflexible on the tasting menu and I don't eat red meat. This wasn't a problem however as the duck course was changed.
The food was amazing and the staff explained every course in detail. 5 courses were more like 8 with the extra's.
It was expensive, but, for a special night out it was worth it and a definite culinary experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnWColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear LynnRLondon,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We take great pride in our menu engineering and the quality of our food, but it is with comments such as yours that allow us to improve the overall guest experience. We are glad to know that the chefs could cater your special preferences.

We do hope your return visit and we greatly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been home a couple of weeks and still talk about our meal here. It was fabulous, we had the five course menu and could not have eaten another thing. Service was wonderful, not the least bit stuffy as a Restraunt of this calibre would be in Melbourne. We will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Michelle H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at our restaurant recently.

Your nice comments warm our heart, and it is a true joy to hear such recognition to our passion for food and service, and most importantly we were able to create a memorable experience for you.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Bali.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“World class dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing evening of sensational dining
We selected the 5 course gastroteque served over 3 hours with beautiful wines and amazing table service from Meyer and her trainee
In total we had 9 courses including there appertif's
I cannot remember eating food better presented and flavour before
Well done to a energetic large group of chef's and support staff
We will be back next time in Bali

Helpful?
Thank Lynpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Lynpj,

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful comments about our restaurant on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that your dinner with us is your best dining experience so far. Rest assured that your compliments will be shared with Meira and the rest of the team to motivate them in striving even harder to perform better every time.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon when you are back in Bali.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This dining experience was the highlight of my week long trip to Bali everything was perfect from the presentation to the taste and the awesome service, would I return for a wine matching experience you bet

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorAdventures_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear OutdoorAdventures_70,

Thank you for the short, but positive review of our hotel. We do our best each day to earn comments like this, and we will continue to do so.

We hope to see you again soon for another wine matching experience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Gastroteque also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Gastroteque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing