We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Gastroteque

Teatro Gastroteque
Jalan Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 8700078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 289 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $10 - $120
Cuisines: French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Southwest, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The food was delicious more art than cuisine. If you have cash to burn go for it. We were glad we tried it and enjoyed the dishes but the price is very high so we would not go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Oceanmum,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate your decision and we thank you for your compliment for our food. If in the future you decide to come back please do let us know, feel free to email us at Daniel@teatrobali.com.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    34
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Different, but, very memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A little apprehensive at first as the menu choices appear inflexible on the tasting menu and I don't eat red meat. This wasn't a problem however as the duck course was changed.
The food was amazing and the staff explained every course in detail. 5 courses were more like 8 with the extra's.
It was expensive, but, for a special night out it was worth it and a definite culinary experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear LynnRLondon,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We take great pride in our menu engineering and the quality of our food, but it is with comments such as yours that allow us to improve the overall guest experience. We are glad to know that the chefs could cater your special preferences.

We do hope your return visit and we greatly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been home a couple of weeks and still talk about our meal here. It was fabulous, we had the five course menu and could not have eaten another thing. Service was wonderful, not the least bit stuffy as a Restraunt of this calibre would be in Melbourne. We will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Michelle H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at our restaurant recently.

Your nice comments warm our heart, and it is a true joy to hear such recognition to our passion for food and service, and most importantly we were able to create a memorable experience for you.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Bali.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“World class dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What an amazing evening of sensational dining
We selected the 5 course gastroteque served over 3 hours with beautiful wines and amazing table service from Meyer and her trainee
In total we had 9 courses including there appertif's
I cannot remember eating food better presented and flavour before
Well done to a energetic large group of chef's and support staff
We will be back next time in Bali

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Lynpj,

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful comments about our restaurant on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that your dinner with us is your best dining experience so far. Rest assured that your compliments will be shared with Meira and the rest of the team to motivate them in striving even harder to perform better every time.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon when you are back in Bali.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This dining experience was the highlight of my week long trip to Bali everything was perfect from the presentation to the taste and the awesome service, would I return for a wine matching experience you bet

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear OutdoorAdventures_70,

Thank you for the short, but positive review of our hotel. We do our best each day to earn comments like this, and we will continue to do so.

We hope to see you again soon for another wine matching experience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Gastroteque also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Gastroteque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Gastroteque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.