We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, but, very memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Gastroteque

Teatro Gastroteque
Jalan Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 8700078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 319 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $120
Cuisines: French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Different, but, very memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A little apprehensive at first as the menu choices appear inflexible on the tasting menu and I don't eat red meat. This wasn't a problem however as the duck course was changed.
The food was amazing and the staff explained every course in detail. 5 courses were more like 8 with the extra's.
It was expensive, but, for a special night out it was worth it and a definite culinary experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear LynnRLondon,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We take great pride in our menu engineering and the quality of our food, but it is with comments such as yours that allow us to improve the overall guest experience. We are glad to know that the chefs could cater your special preferences.

We do hope your return visit and we greatly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    44
    18
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been home a couple of weeks and still talk about our meal here. It was fabulous, we had the five course menu and could not have eaten another thing. Service was wonderful, not the least bit stuffy as a Restraunt of this calibre would be in Melbourne. We will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Michelle H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at our restaurant recently.

Your nice comments warm our heart, and it is a true joy to hear such recognition to our passion for food and service, and most importantly we were able to create a memorable experience for you.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Bali.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“World class dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What an amazing evening of sensational dining
We selected the 5 course gastroteque served over 3 hours with beautiful wines and amazing table service from Meyer and her trainee
In total we had 9 courses including there appertif's
I cannot remember eating food better presented and flavour before
Well done to a energetic large group of chef's and support staff
We will be back next time in Bali

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Lynpj,

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful comments about our restaurant on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that your dinner with us is your best dining experience so far. Rest assured that your compliments will be shared with Meira and the rest of the team to motivate them in striving even harder to perform better every time.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon when you are back in Bali.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This dining experience was the highlight of my week long trip to Bali everything was perfect from the presentation to the taste and the awesome service, would I return for a wine matching experience you bet

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear OutdoorAdventures_70,

Thank you for the short, but positive review of our hotel. We do our best each day to earn comments like this, and we will continue to do so.

We hope to see you again soon for another wine matching experience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience... But”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Dined here last night. It certainly lived up to all expectations and the hype. The food was amazing as was the service. However an hour plus power outage sort of ruined the experience a little. Appreciate it's not the restaurants fault but assumed they would have had a generator or portable fans as the air com was out also.

Whilst the wait staff were very apologetic there seemed to be a reluctance to offer any further drinks. After 60 plus minutes the power came back on and everything resumed.

A shame the issue occurred as it would have received better scores. The experience was slightly tainted (again very good food).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, Owner at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Ncter,

We wanted to thank you for taking the time to provide such constructive details regarding your dinner at our restaurant. We were sorry to hear about your recent experience and that you felt it was not well prepared and well anticipated.

We agree with you that the power outage and no air conditioning during dinner in a restaurant could be upsetting. We will take steps immediately to make sure that we could anticipate any technical issue from now onwards.

We appreciate your comments, and we want you to know that we value you as our guest and look forward to your next visit at our restaurant.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Gastroteque also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Gastroteque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Gastroteque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.