We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Gastroteque

Teatro Gastroteque
Jalan Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 8700078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 289 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $10 - $120
Cuisines: French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rome
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been at Teatro Gastroteque last night.
I have to say that I am not a big fan of degustations.

we took the 5 courses meal with a nice bottle of marques de riscal red.
every dish was prepared and presented with absolute incredible accuracy.

my favourite was the trout, incredible.
I will be back soon and congratulation to the chefs

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Stak,
Greetings from Teatro Gastroteque, Seminyak, Bali.
We would like to thank you for dining with us recently and extending positive compliments on the food you had.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    34
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The food is absolutely delicious. You get a choice of The discovery menu which is great for the big eaters, 7 course, 5 and 4 course degustation selections but could also choose your own food if you so wished. The food was creative, well presented and full of flavours. The wine selection was very good from top end down to more affordable wines. This restaurant is a must, the chef is amazing and the staff back up his great skills with wonderful service. Will definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mrs. Liz,
Greetings from Teatro Gastroteque, Seminyak, Bali.
We would like to thank you on your recent dining with us that you enjoyed much.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another little gem in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to Teatro on the basis of most of the reviews and we were very interested to see if the experience was even close to one of the not so good review. To our delight we can honestly say we didn't recognise the restaurant from this review........ no names mentioned but if you are reading this I am sure you will know who we are talking about.

On arrival it wasn't very busy but soon filled up. We had the 5 course tasting menu and explained we didn't eat Foie Gras which wasn't a problem the waiter said he would replace it with more Duck.

All the course were superb, there were a few to us that stood out more than the rest. the Tuna roll was sublime the flavours were very fresh and clean. The design and presentation was just like a Michelin star restaurant at home. The other course that we are still talking about was the lobster ravioli...... oh my lord I just don't know how to describe how yummy this was. we then had a little coconut little desert, I don't even like coconut but the presentation and taste was just magical. I could go all but I think you are now getting the picture.

We ordered our wine and for Bali there wine list is very good and not too expensive, not big French fans we were very happy with our Aussie selection.

The service was impeccable, we didn't even realise they were filling our glasses or changed our food, so discrete.

If there is one area for improvement, even though it far from ruined the night, our first selection of wine wasn't available. It may have been an idea to advise what wines are not available before you scroll through the extensive wine list. Keep in mind you are in Bali and wine can be a challenge at the best of times.

We will definitely be going back and we hope our next experience is as good as this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Cliffandjo,
Greetings from Teatro Gatroteque, Seminyak, Bali.
We would like to thank you for recent dining with us that presented such memorable moment for you. We have taken note on your advise about wine list that should be checked prior to service.
Look forward to serving you again in your next visit to Bali.

Best Regards
Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
562 reviews 562 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“Best fine dining in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

There are some excellent dining experiences to be had in Seminyak and you will see from our other reviews we have had some. We visited Teatro on our last night of a 10 day stay. It has set the bar, our personal best. While it wouldn't have suited a large group of diners, for 2-4 people it is perfect. When visiting Seminyak in Nov 2012 we walked past the restaurant while it was being fitted out. Our first reason for this visit was to see how it had evolved, our second was the high standards being described in reviews. Everything exceeded expectations. The welcome is warm and it is the only restaurant to date that has provided wash cloths on arrival for cleaning hands or cooling body. Cocktails provided a great choice and delivered a value mojito. For a small, probably 30 seat, restaurant, the wine list is extensive with plenty of regional choice. Again limited by the glass options but what is listed is quality. Now for the food, OMG. There is a full tasting selection with wine pairing option if you are up to the challenge plus choice of 4, 5 or 7 course degustations. We chose individual dishes across entree, main and dessert. Prior to entree, we enjoyed 3 complimentary stunning appetisers plus a wonderful amuse bouche. Throughout the evening at different stages of the meal, 3 different freshly baked breads and accompanying butter, dip or oil. The palate cleansing mango with lemongrass foam was outstanding. Back to the breads for a moment. It is one of few occasions I can recall a dinner partner salivating so much over a bread roll (and twice). Entrees, wagyu beef tongue and tuna toro, brilliant. Peking duck and poached lobster mains equally satisfying with our only suggestion being to lessen the amount of jus with the duck. Dessert choice is limited to 4 options and finished off the evening superbly but they had one last chef surprise, a complimentary sample plate of three delicious morsels including chocolate we will dream about. Staff were wonderful throughout, the service spaced appropriately, food delightful, lovely decor, this was a most memorable dinner. It will continue to get accolades.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs Emanpee,
Greetings from Teatro Gastroteque, Seminyak, Bali.
We would like to thank you on the great comments about your recent dining experience with us. It has given us a higher confident in presenting much more delicious menu with high quality wines in the future.
Look forward to serving you again next time.

Best Regards,

Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurants experience would be the best in the world. Presentation is WoW, young professional waiters eager to please and showcase their skills. Modern Western Asian fusion.
A must visit to experience this for yourself. Spoil yourself and try. Theatrical Gastroteque means Theatre - a place where the culinary team show their finest creations

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Gastroteque also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Gastroteque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Gastroteque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.