We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Gastroteque

Teatro Gastroteque
Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
6285101700078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $120
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Teatro Gastroteque is a boutique fine dining restaurant, located in the epicentrum of Bali's best dining destination, Seminyak. We offer something completely novel - a sophisticated Asian twist on the French cuisine. We source the best produce available in the market, and use most of local ingredients to deliver an authentic flavour yet alluring with bold presentation, highlighting quality ingredients. The name of Teatro Gastroteque literally means "Theatre" where our culinary team performs their passion and love of gastronomy, and to be presented to you in such immaculate and impeccable way by our butlers. We are passionate to give the best dining experience to our guests, for that reason, details and fundamental techniques are the foundation to pursue our goal, we call it "Infinity journey to find a perfection". Complete your unforgettable evening with us, and savour the luxury you deserve.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The food is absolutely delicious. You get a choice of The discovery menu which is great for the big eaters, 7 course, 5 and 4 course degustation selections but could also choose your own food if you so wished. The food was creative, well presented and full of flavours. The wine selection was very good from top end down to more affordable wines. This restaurant is a must, the chef is amazing and the staff back up his great skills with wonderful service. Will definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mrs. Liz,
Greetings from Teatro Gastroteque, Seminyak, Bali.
We would like to thank you on your recent dining with us that you enjoyed much.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    51
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another little gem in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to Teatro on the basis of most of the reviews and we were very interested to see if the experience was even close to one of the not so good review. To our delight we can honestly say we didn't recognise the restaurant from this review........ no names mentioned but if you are reading this I am sure you will know who we are talking about.

On arrival it wasn't very busy but soon filled up. We had the 5 course tasting menu and explained we didn't eat Foie Gras which wasn't a problem the waiter said he would replace it with more Duck.

All the course were superb, there were a few to us that stood out more than the rest. the Tuna roll was sublime the flavours were very fresh and clean. The design and presentation was just like a Michelin star restaurant at home. The other course that we are still talking about was the lobster ravioli...... oh my lord I just don't know how to describe how yummy this was. we then had a little coconut little desert, I don't even like coconut but the presentation and taste was just magical. I could go all but I think you are now getting the picture.

We ordered our wine and for Bali there wine list is very good and not too expensive, not big French fans we were very happy with our Aussie selection.

The service was impeccable, we didn't even realise they were filling our glasses or changed our food, so discrete.

If there is one area for improvement, even though it far from ruined the night, our first selection of wine wasn't available. It may have been an idea to advise what wines are not available before you scroll through the extensive wine list. Keep in mind you are in Bali and wine can be a challenge at the best of times.

We will definitely be going back and we hope our next experience is as good as this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Cliffandjo,
Greetings from Teatro Gatroteque, Seminyak, Bali.
We would like to thank you for recent dining with us that presented such memorable moment for you. We have taken note on your advise about wine list that should be checked prior to service.
Look forward to serving you again in your next visit to Bali.

Best Regards
Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
895 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Best fine dining in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

There are some excellent dining experiences to be had in Seminyak and you will see from our other reviews we have had some. We visited Teatro on our last night of a 10 day stay. It has set the bar, our personal best. While it wouldn't have suited a large group of diners, for 2-4 people it is perfect. When visiting Seminyak in Nov 2012 we walked past the restaurant while it was being fitted out. Our first reason for this visit was to see how it had evolved, our second was the high standards being described in reviews. Everything exceeded expectations. The welcome is warm and it is the only restaurant to date that has provided wash cloths on arrival for cleaning hands or cooling body. Cocktails provided a great choice and delivered a value mojito. For a small, probably 30 seat, restaurant, the wine list is extensive with plenty of regional choice. Again limited by the glass options but what is listed is quality. Now for the food, OMG. There is a full tasting selection with wine pairing option if you are up to the challenge plus choice of 4, 5 or 7 course degustations. We chose individual dishes across entree, main and dessert. Prior to entree, we enjoyed 3 complimentary stunning appetisers plus a wonderful amuse bouche. Throughout the evening at different stages of the meal, 3 different freshly baked breads and accompanying butter, dip or oil. The palate cleansing mango with lemongrass foam was outstanding. Back to the breads for a moment. It is one of few occasions I can recall a dinner partner salivating so much over a bread roll (and twice). Entrees, wagyu beef tongue and tuna toro, brilliant. Peking duck and poached lobster mains equally satisfying with our only suggestion being to lessen the amount of jus with the duck. Dessert choice is limited to 4 options and finished off the evening superbly but they had one last chef surprise, a complimentary sample plate of three delicious morsels including chocolate we will dream about. Staff were wonderful throughout, the service spaced appropriately, food delightful, lovely decor, this was a most memorable dinner. It will continue to get accolades.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs Emanpee,
Greetings from Teatro Gastroteque, Seminyak, Bali.
We would like to thank you on the great comments about your recent dining experience with us. It has given us a higher confident in presenting much more delicious menu with high quality wines in the future.
Look forward to serving you again next time.

Best Regards,

Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurants experience would be the best in the world. Presentation is WoW, young professional waiters eager to please and showcase their skills. Modern Western Asian fusion.
A must visit to experience this for yourself. Spoil yourself and try. Theatrical Gastroteque means Theatre - a place where the culinary team show their finest creations

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Will he get his Michelin star?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been to many michelin star restaurants, I am sure Teatro will get his star. Young chef Mandif and his staff are doing everything the right way, good food, excellent service a pretty good wine list, ambience of restaurant etc. To my personal taste the overall experience wasn't my favorite, but I have to admit is wonderful to see the young chef commitment to make his restaurant excel

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Gastroteque also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Gastroteque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Gastroteque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.