We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing / Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Gastroteque

Teatro Gastroteque
Jalan Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 8700078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 253 restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $10 - $120
Cuisines: French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing / Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Absolutely great ! I would disagree with one of the below review, this is worth a Michelin Star for sure, and I have been to many. Definitely beating Mozaic in Ubud where we went last week. wish them the best success. A new little gem in Seminyak.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    173
    27
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty, modern techniques, not cheap.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wanted to discover this new restaurant during our holiday. Teatro offers sofisticated food, prepared and served the Michelin way. Did not take the set menu , but à la carte. All food very nice prepared and very nice plates. Explanation of the food by waiters was difficult to understand. The top was the desert and especially the soufflé waaaw, what a taste!!!
This is, rather small restaurant, tables close to each other. Currently extending the restaurant to change the outside tables next to the busy street to interior seating.
Nice to see kitchen, but better visible from outside than inside.
Chef came to table, but little bit shy.
Price for 3 courses + bottle of wine + coffee ( for three people) : 3,1 million IDR
Only "strange" thing : between starter and main , Banana sorbet with rhum was served. Very strong in taste, influencing rest of the meal for the three of us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had just had a beer watching sunset and took a stroll and happened across Teatro, we where impressed by the view of the pristine kitchen from outside so took a look at the menu, all looked interesting so in we went, wow! We eat in some classy places are home in the UK, this place isn't Michelin Star but it certainly isn't far away! Flavours, textures and wonderful imagination, thank you guys best meal of our month travelling around Asia - Visit this placed, you don't have to order an expensive set menu, we ordered a starter and main and left suitably stuffed - loved it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“As good as any top class restaurant in any capital city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I had an amazing meal at Teatro. We choose the 5 course set and were not disappointed. The space itself is small, yet beautifully decorated. So much so that we are trying to have Chef Mandif show us his suppliers so that we can buy the same chairs!
All the amuse bouche were a taste sensation as were all the courses that followed afterwards. The wine list was also very reasonably priced. This was by no means a cheap meal however it was absolutely top quality and worth every penny. You should definitely go, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Bali Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had an amazing dinner at Teatro which we found purely by chance. I would recommend anyone visiting Seminyak Bali to try this restaurant. Presentation was incredible with food to match. The taste combinations were truly excellent. And the service was beyond expectation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Gastroteque also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Gastroteque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Gastroteque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.