We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Gastroteque

Teatro Gastroteque
Jalan Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 8700078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 273 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $10 - $120
Cuisines: French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had just had a beer watching sunset and took a stroll and happened across Teatro, we where impressed by the view of the pristine kitchen from outside so took a look at the menu, all looked interesting so in we went, wow! We eat in some classy places are home in the UK, this place isn't Michelin Star but it certainly isn't far away! Flavours, textures and wonderful imagination, thank you guys best meal of our month travelling around Asia - Visit this placed, you don't have to order an expensive set menu, we ordered a starter and main and left suitably stuffed - loved it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    190
    30
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“As good as any top class restaurant in any capital city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I had an amazing meal at Teatro. We choose the 5 course set and were not disappointed. The space itself is small, yet beautifully decorated. So much so that we are trying to have Chef Mandif show us his suppliers so that we can buy the same chairs!
All the amuse bouche were a taste sensation as were all the courses that followed afterwards. The wine list was also very reasonably priced. This was by no means a cheap meal however it was absolutely top quality and worth every penny. You should definitely go, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Bali Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had an amazing dinner at Teatro which we found purely by chance. I would recommend anyone visiting Seminyak Bali to try this restaurant. Presentation was incredible with food to match. The taste combinations were truly excellent. And the service was beyond expectation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fine dining experience in Seminyak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We discovered Teatro while out walking in Seminyak and decided we would dine there on our last night in Bali. We were not disappointed it exceeded all our expectations. The food was absolutely amazing the delicate flavours and professional and imaginative presentation were outstanding. While we were deciding what to have we were presented 3 appetisers...We had the 4 course menu, every mouthful was a flavour delight. One of our party has food allergies, this was accommodated with ease. In fact we would have all liked to have been served her dishes as well! From the tuna to the Peking duck to the coconut dessert and everything in between we could not fault it. The wine list is extensive and the staff were attentive but not intrusive. Well done Teatro! Yes it is expensive by Bali standards but certainly worth every rupiah!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Teatro would deserve a "Michelin star"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Thanks to Leo from Best Western Kuta Beach, we heard about Teatro Gastroteque and booked it for our first dinner in Bali : all the experience was wonderful ! We choosed the 5 course menu (around 65€ per person, without wine) but even before we started, we enjoyed lovely & tasty appetizers. All the dishes were excellent, specially the "foie gras" (and we are French so we know "foie gras" very well !) Service staff were very kindly, and we will never forget how Dika, the restaurant manager, took care of us. In the discussion, we mentionned that we were on honeymoon and so at the end of the dinner we received a special desert with a "congratulation" message ! ;-). Don't hesitate, Teatro is THE restaurant you need to discover in Bali !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Gastroteque also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Gastroteque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Gastroteque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.