We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teatro Gastroteque

Teatro Gastroteque
Jalan Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
+62 361 8700078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 291 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $10 - $120
Cuisines: French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We had the 7 course set menu for R 850K & all dishes were 1st class with the scallop, lobster & duck the standouts. If you a little tired of spicy Asian & would like more French/Spanish influence then you should try this .If you like Arzak in San Sebastian or Estelle in Melbourne you will like Teatro.I had wines by glass with 3 reds from California ,Spain & Italy all good & R 13-15. It could do with a few more. must book ahead as it is small.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Brett,
Greetings from Teatro Gastroteque, Seminyak, Bali.
It is our pleasure getting your great comments about the food, wine and pricing that would be a good reference for our future guest.
Look forward to welcoming you back dining with us during your next trip to Bali.

Best Regards,

Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    34
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in seminyak for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Been in Bali for 10 days now and samples some of the best it has to offer! Teatro has by far been the best, from crazy good food to fantastic staff, a must visit :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Andre,
Greetings from Teatro Gastroteque Seminyak, Bali.
We would like to thank you for the positive comments.
Look forward to welcoming you back dining with us soon.

Best Regards,

Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Trendy, Chic, Relaxed and with Fabulous food as well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'd heard so much about this restaurant from friends that I decided to pay a visit and see what all the commotion was about. What a surprise. A very fashionable high class little restaurant. It can seat only about 20 people so making a reservation is really a must. The menu is a mix of set tasting menus - about seven in all ranging from 5 to 7 courses and a one page A la carte menu however there is an extensive choice of dishes from which to choose from. I had the scallop starter which was divine - several of my friends had the tuna belly and were in awe at its presentation and taste. Angus Tenderloin steak to follow for me - one of the best steaks I have had. Friends had Wagybeef and others had the rabbit or lamb curry - each dish worthy of writing home about. A beautiful selection of breads was also offered as well as hors d'oeuvres of cassava, (singkong), crunchy crackers with chilli sauce - simply delicious and fried quails eggs on bruschetta - wonderful. Pineapple sorbet arrived between the appetizer and main courses. All of these dishes were beautifully presented - real works of art. Prices are very reasonable for this standard of food and presentation. Appetizers are around Rp85K each and mains range from Rp350K to Rp695K for the Wagyu beef. Desserts are delicious and beautifully presented again. Any issues, well yes, and Teatro Gastroteque is not alone in this. While the wine selection is very good, they only had a few bottles of the white wine we chose for starters so we had to make alternative selections after our first choice had finished. Another little niggle was that I and several of my friends love cheese as an alternative to desserts but cheese is not offered on the menu. Hopefully this will be resolved soon. Back to the plus points - staff are simply excellent, so friendly, welcoming and attentive. The menus are changed every 6 weeks or so and a new selection of delightful culinary treats is on offer to tempt. For that special occasion or to simpltreat yourself of your partner or friends Teatro Gastroteque should be VERY high up on your list of places to try. Simply superb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Joe Kennedy,
We are delighted knowing you enjoyed the dinner with us by expressing your dining experience in detail that would become a positive reference for our future diners.
Look forward to having you dining with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Teatro, and were not disappointed. We loved the menu variety, but choose the regional degustation. The wine menu is superb, suitably matched to the food and some very special wines by the glass were offered. We enjoyed the pace of the food, each dish always expertly explained by the staff. We did not want the taste sensations to end. Our palettes were cleansed after the seafoods with a fantastic sorbet ready for the change of pace with lamb. What a fantastic little surprise to encounter Teatro in Seminyak. The kitchen is housed at the front, elevated off the foot path behind glass. It's a performance of culinary talent worth watching as you saunter past. Innovative and enticing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
We were very delighted serving you during your wedding anniversary dinner with us at Teatro recently. It is such a great pleasure knowing you did enjoy your dinner and the presentation of our boutique restaurant that we would maintain at it's best level.
Look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Amazing dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had dinner on our honey moon. They served their special dinner menu. Foods are absolutely amazing, delicious and very well presented. Service is excellent. Restaurant ambiance and atmosphere are romantic, cozy and elegant. I can say this restaurant gave the best dinning experience we've ever had. We highly recommend this restaurant if you visit Bali.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teatro_Bali, General Manager at Teatro Gastroteque, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs. Uca86,
We would like to thank you for your recent visit and were proud serving you with our best culinary experience during your honeymoon dinner with us.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Hardiaz Wibawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teatro Gastroteque also viewed

 

Been to Teatro Gastroteque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teatro Gastroteque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.