We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ize Seminyak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ize Seminyak to your Saves list
Ize Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kayu Aya No. 68, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE ANOTHER 5% WITH US!
Ranked #49 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Perfect end to our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at IZE for one night on 15 September in a Club Deluxe Suite on level 7. We sourced the deal through Wotif and paid $170 per night which included breakfast for 2, cocktails and tapas for 2, free soft drinks in the mini bar, late checkout to 12 midnight and a free airport transfer. The hotel is only 12 months old and is very modern and sleek in its appearance. It is located in the heart of eat street so surrounded by restaurants and shops. The room was a good size and included a queen bed and a small sofa. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. The staff were incredibly helpful and were warm and welcoming despite the fact we were only staying one night. Thank you Kasih for being so attentive.

Breakfast was in the restaurant at ground level and was a self service buffet which also included the ability to order eggs to your liking which were cooked on the spot. There is a large pool on level 7 which has views to the beach and is lovely at sunset. There is also a small gym and another lap pool at the lower level.

We had scooters and were able to park these in the basement at no additional cost. We enjoyed our one night at this venue and would highly recommend it to others. One thing to mention is that given it is on eat street, it could be a little noisy if you had a room at the front (we were in 705 and I could hear some street noise but not enough to keep me awake).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio E, Manager at Ize Seminyak, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Gilesy76,

Many thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

I have conveyed your compliments and appreciation to the entire IZE team and particularly to Kasih whom is very happy to read her name on Trip Advisor. We do have a wonderful team here, always attentive and caring.

Our roof top pool is indeed the favorite spot of most of our guests as it is a great place for chilling out while enjoying the beautiful Balinese sunset.

Thanks again for sharing your valuable time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

ROCIO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    136
    34
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
138
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is fairly new and its trendy and sleek design caters more towards a younger crowd than for families with kids.

Location - Located smack in the middle of the busy street in Seminyak, there are lots of shopping and food within walking distance.
Rooms - Modern yet very basic, reasonably sized. I didn't like the layout of the toilet that comes with a 2-in-1 bathtub cum shower. The shower curtain only covered half of the bathtub and there were not enough hooks in the toilet to hang our towels or clothes. There isn't a wardrobe in the room also which I believe is due to the lack of space in the room. A fully stocked minibar and good wifi connection was provided. That made up for the downside of the room.
Breakfast - Though very limited choice of selection but the quality of the food was OK and pretty standard.
Facilities - The gym was rather pathetic. It was very small with only 3-4 treadmills and machines in it
Pool - Even though I stayed at a deluxe pool room, I did not take advantage of the pool and also the rooftop pool. Pool size was pretty small. The water was freezing cold as the pool hardly gets any sunlight.

Overall I would only recommend this place if you are after a good location. This hotel is not for you if you are looking to chill and relax at the hotel and enjoy the sun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio E, Manager at Ize Seminyak, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear SuyinOoi,

Many thanks for your review regarding your stay at our property.

I am sorry to hear you didn’t like the design of our rooms. IZE Seminyak has a very modern and hip concept which we understand it might not be the preferable design for some customers. Our smallest rooms consist of 40 meter square and all of them offer an open wardrobe inside the room, I apologize you did not find it during your stay and I will bring it to the attention of our Front Office team in order to avoid some other guest missing this room feature as well.

In regards to our roof top pool, you are absolutely right as it was a consideration during the design of the resort. Although one gets a bit of sun the shape of the roof does not allow much at times making it, on the other hand, a perfect location for chilling out during the day.

Thanks again for your time to share your experience with us,

Best regards,

ROCIO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I loved this hotel. It has a very modern look to it in the lobby and in the rooms, and more than that the location is excellent for the younger crowd.

The reason I say that is because it is located close to all the bars and restaurants and Ku De Ta.

My only complaint would be that if you get a room close to the street that it is sometimes a little noisy in the middle of the night.

Other than that, the hotel and all it's facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio E, Manager at Ize Seminyak, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Whatsajunting,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay at IZE Seminyak!

We are very happy that you loved our hotel! As you mention we are located in one of the best address in Bali surrounded by many restaurants, bars, shops and beach clubs and great access to the main tourist attractions in the Island.

Thanks for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you again with us!

Best Regards,

ROCIO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Ize is a very cool, chic and stylish Hotel. The staff are fantastic, polite and extreemly helpful! Ize is close to everything in Seminyak. I highly recommend it.

They have the most refreshing 'welcome drink', offered to you on arrival.
And, you can have it anytime you like. It's addictively delicious!

Don't forget to take in the view at the top of the hotel whilst you swim in the vanishing edge pool and soak up the wonderful sunset.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are fabulous and they look straight onto your own private pool. Yes, they have tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio E, Manager at Ize Seminyak, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Chantified,

Thank you for your time to review us on tripadvisor! And thanks for highly recommending us, really appreciate it!

I am very happy to know that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. Our roof top pool is our guests’ favorite spot to chill out in the evenings while enjoying the sunset and listening to good music or reading a book.
We do have a fabulous happy young team here with a great passion for what they do, so this definitely reflects in our quality service.

Glad you enjoy the welcome drink! I also love it!

Thanks again for your compliments and we are all looking forward to have to back!

Best regards,

ROCIO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

After a disastrous start to our short getaway in Seminyak (a villa unfit to get a mention). We walked the streets for over half an hour looking for alternative accommodation and were drawn to the stand out exterior of a building that beckoned further investigation. Once entering the foyer we were immediately greeted at reception by Kasih. Her delightful personality and sincere empathy to our situation was greatly appreciated and we had no hesitation in booking our 3 remaining nights at this hotel. Our room was on the 13th floor with a small balcony and nice views with glimpses of the ocean. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with gorgeous decor and fittings. The housekeeping was faultless and being relatively new - the white bed linen towels and bathrobes were still as pristine condition. Hard to fault anything about this hotel. This hotel certainly is not child friendly and I would not recommend it for a family with young children. We spent a few hours every day at the Pool Bar on the 14th floor and I would agree with a previous comment that the water is a bit chilly, however the time we spent there the weather was overcast so little opportunity for the water to warm up. It did not stop us going in for a dip though. The location of the hotel is perfect with fabulous shops and great restaurants at your doorstep. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for upmarket accommodation at a very friendly price. Kasih you are an absolute diamond and we can't thank you enough for your welcome and customer care:) Linda & Pat (Perth)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio E, Manager at Ize Seminyak, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Linda K,

Thank you very much for your kind review and your compliments!

I am very happy to hear that we could turn around your experience in Bali to a wonderful and memorable holiday. Bali is all about the friendliness and service and we are very happy that we transmitted that to you.

I have shared your compliments with Kasih and she was really happy to hear about it. She stills remembers you and Pat. We are indeed very lucky here as we have a great team full of diamonds, always going the extra mile to make our guests feel at home.

Once again thank you very much for your time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. All the team and myself hope to welcome you back soon again!

Best regards,

ROCIO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I didn't love the decor in the main hotel areas, the lobby and pool areas lacked atmosphere so I didn't swim much and was disappointed with the gym. However, the staff were excellent, very helpful and the room was very comfortable. Location is good for other restaurants and the hotel's restaurant is decent. I loved MYKONOS the Greek restaurant down the road but found Rumours and Ultimo to be overrated. Wifi in the room was slow and business centre could do with a wire fitting to speed it up..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio E, Manager at Ize Seminyak, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Michael B,

Thank you for your feedback and review on Tripadvisor. I have passed on your compliments to our team and they were very happy to hear your comments.

The design of our hotel is indeed very unique and hip with a minimalist concept so it might not be for everyone’s eye. You will be happy to know that since your last stay we have upgraded our wifi.

Once again thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us and we appreciate your time to post it.

Best regards,

ROCIO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Pros:
- contemporary and trendy architecture and interior and graphic design is a major asset.
- location on seminyak eat street (about 15mn walk to the beach)
- large spotless rooms
- good wifi connection

Cons:
- very very noisy as right in front of a live music restaurant, which plays music very loud til late, and bad insulation as i could hear next room noise at night and housekeeping talking in the corridor in the morning.
- breakfast food was more than average and very noisy as the restaurant is right on the street.
- pool has no sun as it is protected by a canopy
- room as very poor view on 3rd floor
- a bit pricey for what you get compare to beach side nearby hotels
- staff was unfortunately not particularly friendly, neither helpful, 3 exemple: 1/ upon arrival i asked for a room as far as possible from the noise as the bar music outside was so loud, the reception gave me one of the closest room possible 303, whereas the hotel was not full at all, 2/ woke up late because i did not notice the 1h time difference upon arrival from java, and could hardly get a few bakeries, and coffee in the morning at the restaurant. Considering i was only 30mn late, and there was no one in the restaurant but me and about 5 staff around me, a simple fruit juice would have been appreciated. 3/ Same issue upon check out, i chose the hotel as it offered late check out until midnight, and the day before reception told me i had to leave at noon, which i contested and had to wait until morning so they could ask the manager, who accepted.

Overall:
eventhough i appreciated the sleek architecture and design, being an architect myself, the noise and average food are major issues. i had to switch hotel for my last night in seminyak as i could not handle it. It is too bad as based upon the reviews the manager seems to be concerned and wanting to solve issues. Unfortunately, i would not recommand the ize if you are looking for a place to rest and relax, unless you get a really good value price.

Room Tip: Avoid low 3rd floor rooms or room numbers below X10 as they are closest to the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocio E, Manager at Ize Seminyak, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Richard N,

First of all let me express our gratitude for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and to point out in details what you have liked and disliked during your stay with us. We take our guests’ feedback very serious and therefore really appreciate your feedback.

I am very sorry to hear the issues you faced during your stay with us and I truly hope that I will get the opportunity to welcome you back one day to introduce to you the improvements made since your last stay.

Once again I apologize for the inconveniences,

Best regards,

ROCIO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ize Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ize Seminyak

Address: Jalan Kayu Aya No. 68, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ize Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic, modern hotel attracting a young, sophisticated crowd keen to embrace the action in the heart of the lively and fashionable suburb of Seminyak. Stylish, cutting-edge architecture and interiors combine with just the right amount of Balinese bonhomie to create the ideal urban tropical retreat. Located in the heart of Seminyak area, where fashionable playground, scenic beach, sunset and Balinese culture, diverse and upscale shopping and entertainment can find within walking distance. IZE SEMINYAK offers vacationers to one of the world's most admired islands an amicable escape with its breakaway hospitality style that is both fun and sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ize Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ize Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ize Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.