We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gatra Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Gatra Villas to your Saves list
The Gatra Villas
Jalan Batu Belig, North Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Awesome villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in March this year and my wife and son and I had an absolutely amazing time. Such a beautiful villa. Staff are really fantastic, too. Everything was just perfect - the rooms were tidy and very spacious (aircon worked well also), the indoor/outdoor bathrooms were inviting and well appointed (nice big shower heads, nice big bathtub), the living area was a great place to hang out and watch some TV, or crank the stereo and kick back with a few drinks. (Ceiling fan blew a gasket one day and was repaired in a matter of hours.) Pool was a treat - very clean, and we used it night and day. Upstairs bale/chill area was fabulous, too. The breakfasts (3 different choices) were simple but attractively presented and, most importantly, extremely tasty. The staff do a really great job whipping them up each morning.

As I said, the staff were exceptional. Particularly Yani (it's actually Yansori in full) who was super-helpful and friendly, always smiling and keen to make our stay as enjoyable as it could possibly be. (And not that I tend to focus or care about these things myself, Yani also spoke the most perfect English. Self-taught, too, making it all the more incredible.) Nothing was too much trouble, and Yani went out of his way a few times to help us with some excellent contacts. We actually enjoyed his company so much, we even invited him to dinner on his night off. In 25-odd trips to Bali, I can't recall us ever doing that previously. Not to take anything away from the other staff who were lovely, too. Including the friendly security guard who works overnight.

Location was excellent - Jalan Batubelig has a much better vibe than the faux hipster snootiness that pervades most of Seminyak. We had fab restaurants nearby - Bow Restaurant was a few doors down, there's a quality Korean BBQ place very close-by, the tasty La Rustica Cucina was a few minutes in one direction, with the AMAZING Silver Apple a 5-minute walk the other way. And of course the consistently sensational Casa Taco is just around the corner in Jalan Petitenget. Heaps of fantastic choices.

We really had the most wonderful time at Gatra Villas and will readily come back to stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatra88, Manager at The Gatra Villas, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Google Translation
Terima Kasih Kepala Desa! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had such a wonderful time that I have to share this retreat with anyone planning a trip to Bali! The service is just right, warm but not intrusive. The place is peaceful, tastefully decorated and the private pool is a big bonus. I went there with my company and now I want to go back with my family. Go there if you want a little piece of heaven on earth :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great place to stay and chill out. Pool was fantastic and massage services provided were also excellent. All the staffs were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very yummy!
A pleasant surprise when I came back from my day tour to find my room nicely decorated. Later that evening, the staffs came knocking at our door with 6 pretty little cakes to help celebrate my birthday!
Thank you Gatra team! You guys are awesome!!!
I would definitely recommend this place to everyone! Looking forward to stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

The best part of gatra was the personal service we received. The staff was very kind and entertaining, always looking out for the needs of the customer. I stayed there with my two boys and they loved the pool attached to the villas. A totally relaxing environment to energize ones batteries. Definitely will stay there again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The gatra is one of the best places to stay in Bali. Having been to Bali many times, we have stayed in hotel properties. We were a group of 9 and really had a ball! The rooms are beautiful, private pools, amazing view from the gazebo. Most of all, the staff and service were fab! A big thankyou to Juliana - your staff are fantastic! Wayne, Wayang, and most of all YANI!

See you again very soon :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A very homey place to lay down through out the day! First day in here has been heaven. It's clean, luxury, private, and almost every person that I talked to were really nice and warm. I don't see why I'm not liking it, this is a very recommended place and I will be back again for sure!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is my second time to stay at The Gatra. I love it because it's so private and you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable. The staff are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The villa is very tastefully decorated. As soon as you enter the main door, you have your own private oasis. From the double bedrooms, the open air bathrooms, the outdoor living area/kitchen, the upstairs pavilion perfect for an afternoon nap in the breeze, or a massage which can be arranged by the staff, and of course your own pool. Also, The Gatra is in a very convenient location, very near lovely restaurants. I highly recommend staying at the wonderful establishment.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gatra Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gatra Villas

Address: Jalan Batu Belig, North Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Gatra Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gatra Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gatra Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.