We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxymoron” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Harmony Seminyak

Save Saved
You added The Harmony Seminyak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Harmony Seminyak
Jl. Drupadi 234, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 75 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oxymoron”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I wouldn't usually bother writing a negative review but had such bad service in response to our lack of basic needs I am moved to share. We arrived and thought the place looked nice enough but on trying to wash my hands in the bathroom found the drainpipe was not connected to the sink but was lying on the floor below it. 'Engineer' arrived and sellotaped the pipe to the sink, not so effective. He came back at my request to reception and spent about an hour in the bathroom but was unable to resolve the dribbly problem (very hungry and late at this point). No offer of compensating us for our 'Superior' room or time wasted in there on our only night in Seminyak and a talk with the manager the next day just led to frustration. Bad smell from blocked pipes and unappetising buffet breakfast completed our short stay. I'm not an unreasonable person but heard others complaining and one lady refusing to pay so have to assume I wasn't the only one having this experience. It may have been quiet at one point but is now right next to a construction site the size of a football field. Boo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    16
    8
    11
See reviews for
2
26
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the harmony hotel in late October 2012. It was a great place to start the holiday!
5 Bonuses
- lovely staff who will go out of their way to help if you ask them nicely.
- the rooms are lovely and the building is fairly new. We booked the delux room and it was just the right size.
- the pool gets lots of sun and it's kept very clean.
- the location is right in the middle on central main roads of seminyak. It's an easy walk to any restaurant or massage place. The major roads are about 5-10 mins depending which way you go.
- short 5 min stroll to the beach.

Some downfalls
- the rooms need a tiny bit more love and maintenance. E.g. the lock on our door was slowly breaking in quite an obvious way. The drains in the bathroom could also really do with a clean inside them.
- the breakfast is not the best. No egg options.

In summary, we both really enjoyed our stay at the harmony hotel and I'd recommend it to any budget traveler! I might even be back again one day.

Thank you harmony hotel :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Actually a nice and cheap place to stay, but right now there is a huge construction all around the harmony. DONT GO THERE NOW.
Maybe in 6 months again when the work is over. The bad thing is that the construction is active day and night! No sleep included. Sad to write that since the place has been a good one in the past!
They also did not accept the cancelation due the construction and charged one night to us (no flexibility).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been to Bali before and always stayed at 3 or 4 star hotels, however this time I had to do it on a budget and wanted to try seminyak. I was very happy with the harmony hotel, which was great value for money. The room was clean and comfortable with air con and a fridge. It's a small hotel with only 20 rooms and so it's cosy and the staff very helpful. Food was better than I expected and there was free wifi as well as free use of computers in the restaurant. Only a few minutes walk to the beach and plenty of restaurants, spas and shopping just around the corner. This street is undergoing development with a massive hotel going up next door and one down the street, so I believe it will be a much busier and popular spot in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

we were recommended to stay in hotel Harmony by a friend who lives in bali because, the hotel looks clean with a nice swimming pool and it's close to the beach.
the first 2 days everything seems fine. Although we were dissappointed with the breakfast they served.
the last 4 days in Bali we decided to stay in a bigger room with double bed. it was one of the mistake we made. The room may be bigger but the towels was dirty, keeps having electricity problem. On n off, in an hour the light goes off 10 times. i kept asking to do something about it but they keep saying they will send maintenance over to fix it. no body came by the way but some how we dont have electricity problem anymore. The next morning at 6.45am the electricity went off AGAIN. This time the electricity is completely dead. When i asked, they said. the maintenance will come at 9. i was upset and angry because why do we have to wait 2 hours? why didnt they move us in different room if there is problem with the electricity.

Lets just keep it short.
Why we don't recommend you tp stay in this hotel.
1. there's a construction beside the hotel, very noisy.
2. Dirty towels
3. the room maybe clean but if you look under the bed, you be surprised with how thick the dust is. Funny that they ahve 3 staffto clean one room and yet the room and towel is not clean.
4. The staff may be friendly but they are not helpful.
5. breakfast is cold n bad
6. bad communication between staff, they don't inform each other about room problem, customer complain etc so you have to explain it again n again n again.
7. In the evening we order early morning taxi to the airport. At 6.20am we went to check out no one is there nor the taxi. i called the taxi my self and find out no one order a taxi for us. We were close for being late because soon as we arrive, we chek in n have to go straight to the plane.

They need to have a new management.........

I have the feeling because we use travel agent price they treat us differently. i will never forget one particular staff, pitty i dont know her name. she was friendly but i think it was a fake one because every time we have a problem she promised she will fix it but she never did. i blame her for not ordering our airport taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Harmony Hotel (on Jalan Drupadi in Seminyak) seems very new and the room was huge and perfect for 2 nights. Air-con was brilliant, TV was a good size and the reception was perfect. The decor was nice and the pool was a good size and plenty of chairs sunbake on.

The were charging about RP600,000 for their top of the line room which was pretty amazing. The hotel is almost on the corner of Jalan Dyana Pura and Jalan Drupadi and I was happy with this as it is away from the noisy bars that are half-way down Jalan Dyana Pura. There are a few Harmony Hotels, so make sure you get the correct one.

It's only about 10mins walk to the beach and 5-10mins walk to cafes, bars and shops. Dyana Pura is a cheaper street that Jalan Laksmana, so it's better to shop here first to get an idea of prices before going to Laksmana and shopping in the high end botiques.

The only dissapointing thing was the red chairs in the dining room. They have quality looking furniture everywhere else, but the dining room had some red chairs that just looked bad - but they were comfortable, so not a big deal and you only see it in the morning. You can always serve up your buffet breakfast and go and sit by the pool.

Without a doubt, I would stay at Harmony again - but there is a building site next door, so I would be checking if this has started as that could make Harmony a noisy place to be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in Sept. Deluxe rooms are way small but for an extra $5 you can go the superior room which is huge (although a little vacant).! Air con was great. Pool was ok and not that busy, nice and relaxing. Harmony is close to the beach and all the restaurants you could want. Staff are friendly and helpful enough! Avoid the breakfast, you can get heaps better in the local area, there was ants all over the buffet and the girls/staff doing the breakfast were totally uniterested and just looked around bored. Wifi was a bit dodgy but worked eventually. Overall the place is a bit shabby but good value for the money you pay!

Room Tip: upgrade to a superior room for an extrra $5, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harmony Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harmony Seminyak

Address: Jl. Drupadi 234, Seminyak, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Harmony Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harmony Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harmony Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.