We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistrot

The Bistrot
Jalan Kayu Aya 117 | (in front of Red Carpet), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
62361738308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 305 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Bistro, Eclectic, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Vintage Café, Lounge & Restaurant in Seminyak, Bali. Unique décor by Moroccan-born interior decorator, Zohra Boukhari.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a superb restaurant offering a really different menu and the decor keeps you entertained with all the quirky items to look at. The food was amazing, the staff well trained and attentive and the chef takes a real interest in knowing if you enjoyed the food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    223
    61
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Average food only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ordered the Australian ribeye as our choice of main. We requested it to be medium but it arrived at least medium-well. This is not the first time I have had bad experience with ordering steak in Bali so maybe I will really avoid having it the next time when I'm there.

The corkage was a rip-off at 150,000 rupiah so we brought our wine back to our villa. Probably will try out their breakfast stuff the next time I'm back but that's only if I have no better places to dine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“classy and very affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

was able to order classy food that I would never order or afford in Australia. great menu, decor and staff. worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Don't pick the fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The restaurant is very nice. Service is good, wiaters friendly. Our starters were excellent and my main course was as described on the menu. My wife ordered Morocan grilled snapper whach was inedible whaich was very disappointing but did not ruin the experience as all else was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved the interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went for dinner and breakfast.

The food was fantastic. Presentation could be improved.

A couple of things that could be improved...service. Every time we wanted something, it seemed to take some time to get anyones attention.

But the biggest problem, the night we had dinner was our fellow diners. Please at 10pm at night, let your young toddlers sleep, instead of scream in the restaurant and spoil everyone elses evening :-(

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistrot also viewed

 

Been to The Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.