We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasurable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistrot

The Bistrot
Jalan Kayu Aya 117 | (in front of Red Carpet), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
62361738308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 283 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Eclectic, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vintage Café, Lounge & Restaurant in Seminyak, Bali. Unique décor by Moroccan-born interior decorator, Zohra Boukhari.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasurable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable ambience, lovely decor and delicious food topped with great service. We will certainly return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    157
    50
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice design, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away on a corner of Oberoi but worth a visit. The design and fitout is really interesting - as you look around there are lots of great little touches that show a real attention to detail. The food is mostly French influenced and good quality at reasonable prices.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We wasn't happy with the price and food here, all of us left food which is unusual but the staff were friendly and did try to change some food, but sadly even the replaced food wasn't all good either. Apart from that the decor in the restaurant was very nice. Very disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“One of our favourite meals on Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was yet another rainy day during our holiday on Bali, and we ended up at Bistrot. I loved the interior - very French / industrial / cozy, which isn't exactly local at all considering the actual location, but the (obviously) western owners made a really good effort.
The menu was a mix between Belgian/French classics and various pan-Asian favourites. We both took a local steak with sauce, and we must give compliments to the chef; it was just like having a good quality steak back in Europe. Maybe even better than some places we know of. As dessert we shared a mango tarte tartin with speculoos ice cream (speculoos or speculaas is a typical Dutch/Belgian type spiced biscuit), this was AMAZING. Indeed with caps. It's not often that we'd consider ordering another round. We didn't in the end as we were both quite full, but it was worth it.
If you're looking for something traditional, quite obviously not the place to be, but if you just want some pretty good food, I'd recommend booking this one evening when you're on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“a happy stumble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stumbled upon the Bistrot because I was in desperate need for a bathroom. It was a happy coincidence that the food, wine, and service were spectacular. The decor was tasteful and hip. Love the raku pottery sinks in the bathroom! Our meal was one of the more expensive of our trip, but we were happy to pay for the quality and good service. The coconut gelato was the perfect end to our meal of tapas. Highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistrot also viewed

Seminyak, Bali
Seminyak, Bali
 

Been to The Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.