We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing- a must for anyone who appreciates good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistrot

The Bistrot
Jalan Kayu Aya 117 | (in front of Red Carpet), Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
62361738308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 250 restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Eclectic, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Vintage Café, Lounge & Restaurant in Seminyak, Bali. Unique décor by Moroccan-born interior decorator, Zohra Boukhari.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing- a must for anyone who appreciates good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had the most amazing dining experience at this wonderful place. The drinks, food and service were great. I ordered the fillet minion and I can honestly say it is the best I have ever eaten in Bali.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    286
    134
    42
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

After walking past this restaurant several times and thinking how magnificent it looked we decided to have dinner. The place is beautiful, loved the decor.
Shame about the service, it took a long time for our order to be taken, then our drinks to come, (worst bloody mary ive had in a while) then our food took an exceptionally long time to come, I was bored and ready to leave waiting for it.
Finally it came and it was extremely bland and not much of it.
Over priced for what it was too
Such a shame. It looked so promising

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Bistrot was simply amazing. The food was delicious, the service was amazing and the atmosphere was incredible. The fit out of the Bistrot is gorgeous - we had such a fantastic night! I got to meet the famous Stephanie, she was absolutely lovely and made sure that everything was seen to. 10/10! Best eat I have had in Bali to date. Thank you for an incredible night.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Restaurant look really nice and the food is heavenly. There is something for everybody. Service is outstanding and very kind.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not Bad...but could do a lot better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After seeing the cool ads in various Mags alerting to Bistrot opening, I was excited to finally get to try it with a group of friends last night. The decor is amazing, the room has a great feel to it, arriving early and leaving relatively late we got to see the space in daylight with not many people and at night time when it was packed, the room holds up very nicely. Service was OK, Stephanie was very friendly, and waitresses were happy and engaged but seemed to lack some basic table service skills (removing plates, filling wine glasses etc.) Major letdown was definitely the food..I had such high hopes and it simply didnt cut it. We ordered a number of different Tapas sharing dishes and i found all of them to be quite bland and uninspiring, even though reading them on the menu, they sounded delicious. The scallop dish was simply a disgrace 4 tiny tiny scallops placed along the edge of the plate with a pile of salad and procuitto in the middle, garlic prawns were overcooked, fois gras was nice but again not much of it (and brioche served was stone cold)
Off site parking is handy but overall there are some things they need to address in order to survive in "Eat Street" in Bali as the competition is tough...I wish them well as Bistrot has the potential of being something really special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistrot also viewed

 
Seminyak, Bali

Been to The Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.