We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Che cos'e' questo!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zibiru Restaurant

Zibiru Restaurant
Jalan Drupadi 7, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 822-3663-1302
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 289 Restaurants in Seminyak
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Since opening its doors in August of 2012, Zibiru has garnered a strong loyal following with its made-from-scratch regional Italian cuisine. The restaurant has a bit of everything for everyone, from food enthusiasts to wine lovers, soul and jazz music fans to romantics looking for intimate dining and low conversation. It is a unique meeting point for the five senses, providing a little oasis from the noise and activity in Seminyak. Adorned with authentic details exuding old Bali charm, the restaurant revives the romance of the past with its whitewashed facade, hand-carved wooden interiors and handmade furnishings. The restaurant offers three different dining experiences-al fresco in the garden amidst lush tropical flora, under the stars of the rooftop lounge or in the haven of its non-smoking interior. The menu showcases the best offerings from the field and market-fish arrives fresh daily, bread is homemade on location, pastas are handcrafted from scratch. Organic heirloom vegetables are harvested from Zibiru's own environmentally positive farm in the mountains of Bali. Zibiru offers a chance to taste the splendor of Italy's various regions all under one roof. Live jazz every Wednesday and Saturday.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Che cos'e' questo!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Last night I followed the recommendation of one of my friends and had dinner at Kebun Zibiru Restaurant. I have to say, those guys did such good work. The rooftop terrace is breezy, lights are soft, and the music is perfect for this type of dinner. The food was totally balanced with the space of zhe restaurant. The owner presented us with appetizers to share, giving to us an opportunity to try a little bit of everything. Everyone enjoyed it. Most of the appetizers was with fish and you could feel the freshness of the ingredients.

I had linguini with a kind of anchovy water (recommended by the owners). I was a little skeptical but it was spectacular. Even my friend's tagliatelle with truffle was super, and the gnocchi is to die for. Amarone della Valpollicella. One of my favorite wines and at a really good price. Good friends, nice space, exciting food. At the end I even met the chef/owner who appears a little rude but after a few words was actually quite friendly. Highly recommended.

P.S. Ask for Chef's Specials.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    73
    15
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“True Italian, great rooftop, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I go to this place at least once a week because it's great value - the food is very good, handmade pasta and fresh sauces that taste like the real Italian food I miss. There is a pretty rooftop (unusual for Seminyak) where you can have a quiet candlelight meal. I'm a vegetarian and the staff is always very flexible and understanding - they go out of their way to provide me with veggie options. The atmosphere is casual and relaxed and they are open until late! Love Zibiru.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simple but Gorgeous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Really lovely venue, cosy feel and friendly staff, very quiet on a Tuesday night but think it probably gets busy at the weekends. Italian fare, I heard that the pasta is handmade fresh so I tried the swordfish ravioli with a light tomato/eggplant sauce, it was nice but didn't seem super fresh or amazing. The eggplant parmigiana starter was best and tuna tartare was nice too, my friends snapper main was beautifully presented but a little over cooked.
Great selection of teas, I tried the Zibiru special and it was great, lemongrass/ginger/cinnamon/rosella in a lovely pot & teacup with a big cinnamon stick.
Nice place to meet friends or a date for dinner, good value (very reasonably priced), we sat outside and the weather was perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Buon appetito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were staying close by and as others have commented "stumbled" upon Kebun Zibiru.
Nice space. Light, airy, lots of white timber. Courtyard area as well. Roof top terrace lovely for a drink & dinner. Small though. Great pasta. Wine reasonably priced for Bali. A few final finishing touches from the boys & I think they have the making of a terrific Italian away from Eat Street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've been there with my friends on January 2013 and I ve been totally astonished!
It' not so common and easy to find a good italian restaurant in Bali, but here is not simply good it's like to feel truly in Italy, the best Italy!
The place has an incredible atmosphere and it fits for every type of occasion. The owners Luigi and Simone are so polite and very helpful to every request.
The plates are great, original and simply delightful, simply for every taste! The choice of wine is wide and well-chosen.
I couldn't imagine better place with better value for money.
Absolutely suggested!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zibiru Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zibiru Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zibiru Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.