We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Sarang - Luxury + style close to Potatohead

Seminyak
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michael H
Macmasters Beach, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our family's 5 day stay at Sarang Villa was simply perfect. Susan's efficient communication and organisation, as well as the quality of the staff, ensured a spoiling holiday for us all. In a quiet, secure location, the villa is near Sarong restaurant, and is within a short walking distance of many of Seminyak's attractions. Having a driver available for longer outings or night pick-ups was a definite bonus. The villa itself is clean, well-appointed and has very comfortable bedding. Three bathrooms is another plus. The sunny pool area was popular and is a definite highlight. We took the offer of having a chef cook us dinner and enjoyed a delicious feast at a very reasonable cost. Breakfasts were also good value and offered a variety of choice. All this, and a free poolside massage as well! Excellent service and value - highly recommended!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The outside living/pool area and the wonderful staff
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Suzi K
1 review
“Fantastic stay with excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Villa Sarang for just over a week this August. From the moment we were picked up at the airport by Gusti our driver, we were so well looked after by the caring team of staff.
The villa was beautiful, spacious and clean. We had the lounge turned into a 3rd bedroom, with a huge bed. All in all a great stay, and we'll be back. Thankyou!!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Janette M
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We visited with family for our father's 80th birthday. We were met by our driver Gede with flowers and a huge smile at the airport and within 40 minutes we arrived at our villa. The narrow, uneven entrance road to the villa masks what you are about to see ... An exceptionally well kept villa with beautiful gardens, lovely pool, and the lounge and both bedrooms directly open up on to the gardens and pool area which is very relaxing. Our housekeeper, Asih, was simply amazing - she prepared breakfast and carried out the general housekeeping duties with real professionalism and discretion. When we wanted to go out our driver Gede, was on hand to take us - this was a real luxury.

The location of the villa could not be better as it is near to restaurants, bars and shops.

In summary, our stay could not have been better and totally exceeded our expectations.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Being in a very private villa run by a very professional team yet close to all amenities.
Liked least: Traffic can be busy in Seminyak
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
EmR95
1 review
“Great villa, amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A group of 7 of us (in our early 20s) stayed at this villa recently and could not have been more satisfied with the value we received for an incredibly reasonable price. The rooms are nice, with a good air con and flat screen television to watch movies in the evening. The housekeeper, Assih, went above and beyond and kept everything neat and tidy and cooked up some delicious breakfasts for us. Having a driver on hand is incredibly convenient and Gusti was always happy to take us around. The filtered water provided saved us making lots of trips to circle K for bottles. Overall the villa was great, it's in a great location just a short walk from some great restaurants, spas and even a gym. Definitely would return!

5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
GS13579
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot, great location, almost perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I stayed at Villa Sarang with my girlfriend for a month over Feb/March 2014. We had a superb time staying here, and would highly recommend it. Here are the positives and negatives for a bit more info:

Positives
- Location - I think the location is the best thing. It is walking distance to lots of the best restaurants on the island including Sarong which is just 50metres walk! We particularly enjoyed going to Potato Head beach club, which is a short walk, which is a superb place to spend the day. Coming back to the villa after a day at the beach and slipping into the pool before heading out for dinner nearby really is a pretty great way to spend the day!
- Staff - they are excellent. Food (breakfast) was great, place was kept in great shape and cleaned every day. Clothes washed, really everything was perfect. Security guard was such a great guy and very helpful on the odd occasion something went wrong was super helpful. It felt like an unnecessary luxury to have him though and I kinda wanted to invite him in to sleep in one of the spare beds! Having a driver was a great luxury though not necessary that much for us as we hired a scooter and preferred mostly to do our own thing.
- Nice size - having a few extra rooms was great as some friends came to stay. It's a perfect location for a few friends going away together, or a small family (2-3 kids and parents)
- Susan - when we had any problems they were super super fast to respond, and when we had a slight noise problem for a few nights (see below) were offered an alternative place to stay, which was more than we expected. We didn't move in the end, but it was a kind offer.

Drawbacks:
- TV/movie room - we were there for a month so got to the point where we wanted to stay in and watch movies some nights. The movie room wasn't terribly comfortable, it was fine, just not as comfy for sitting for long periods of time as I'd have liked
- Noise from nearby - I think we got unlucky but for about 5 nights out of the entire 30 nights, there was a lot of noise from a nearby club. It kept us awake but I think that was partly due to jetlag as well. Susan was very quick to offer us a move to another of her villa's, but we stuck it out and most nights for the rest of the month weren't a problem anyway.

Overall, a superb place to stay for a short holiday, or a longer stay. I'd recommend it highly and if I'm ever back in Bali will definitely try and stay again, or would try another of Susan's villas since she looks after her guests so well.

Thanks Susan!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and Friendliness of service and owner
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cecilia H
1 review
“Enjoyed the comforts and charms during our stay at Villa Sarang.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This hideaway is a great place to unwind yourself amidst a lush garden and swimming pool.
Breakfast service provided by the staff is excellent.
The driver guide and vehicle provided is good holiday package for our convenience to explore Bali.
The security in this Villa is excellent.
The Villa is within walking distance of some good restaurants.
Areas for improvement: 1 - the squeaky mattress in one of the rooms needs to be changed;
2 - the air-conditioning unit in the same room is running inefficient and is unable to cool the room.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Adrian L
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Great Little Villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My family and I stayed here during my first trip to Bali. It was also my first time staying in a villa rather than a hotel or apartment, and it was indeed a very pleasant experience. At this villa, you get a good location, lots of space, privacy and excellent staff.

The villa itself looks very presentable, with a bright and spacious design; both modern and homey. It is clean and well equipped with all the necessary facilities. Of particular note is the inclusion of good mosquito repellents and nice soap in the bathrooms. There is a small swimming pool in the midst of a pretty and well-kept garden, complete with deck chairs and a shaded bed for relaxation.

What really sets Villa Sarang apart from hotels and apartments are the staff. There is the driver, Gusti, a very nice young man who is always ready to take you anywhere anytime and knows all the good places, Asih the housekeeper, a delightful young lady who cleans and tidies the place and makes breakfast, and Sindhu, the manager who, although we do not see him much, gives guests a good proper introduction to the place. It was truly a pleasure to enjoy the service of such great staff. They were all very good at what their jobs, and always do their best to make their guests feel like royalty. With their friendliness, kindness and great humility, they really are fit to serve kings.

We stayed in Bali for 4 nights and it really did feel like a short trip. My stay at Villa Sarang do I remember most fondly, though, and if we were to come to Bali once more in the future, we will most definitely want to stay here again. To whoever who is coming to Bali, be it for business, pleasure or both, I recommend to you, Villa Sarang, for a comfortable stay, where you are put into the able and tender hands of wonderful people.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The staff
Liked least: The Wi-fi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$180
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Susan L
Speaks English, Japanese, Italian, German
Listed since : Apr 2011
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 14 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing