We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem worth looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kreol Kitchen

Kreol Kitchen
Jl Drupadi II 56 | opposite the Harris Hotel Seminyak Project, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 62361738514
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 305 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kreol Kitchen provides a chilled relaxing space in the middle of Seminyak Bali with a back ledge overlooking the rice fields. With everything home made including their own flavored soda's you won't find any commercial soft drinks in this establishment. The open kitchen lends itself to amazing cooking smells that hit you immediately as you walk into the open space of the cafe. It's eclectic decor is a mish mash of 1970's and 1980's LP vinyl covers... vintage tuppaware... 1950's tea pots and silver trays and more. The space in Kreol Kitchen kind of reminds me of an aunt's house where memories were shared over home made biscuits and quirky teacups !!
Canggu, Indonesia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A hidden gem worth looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

What a great little eatery. Inspired by Melbourne's cafes, this is a great place to have a casual breakfast or lunch. The owner has put her heart and soul into all dishes and prices are very reasonable. No wonder this is so high on Seminyak's restaurant list. A definite visit for anyone in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    40
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“over rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Too simple to be No.2.
Breakfast was just ok until I find a hair in my husband plate!
I understand that we are in Bali and Hygiene standards are different than Australia but for a top rated restaurant, it is not acceptable. Service staff are very friendly but the lack of hygiene spoiled the experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annick L, Owner at Kreol Kitchen, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello, This is Annick the owner of K.K. First of all thank you for your honesty with the review. I am very disappointed that this was not brought to my immediate attention so I could have followed up on it. Our staff follow a strict Food and Safety regulation code of conduct but I will certainly take note of your negative experience. Thank you again and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Funky, Fabulous and Fresh - GREAT food, drinks, atmosphere and service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited here based on Tripadvisor ranking of this being the number 2 place to eat in Seminyak - it should be number one!!

Only 6 months in the running its earned a reputation it deserves - we went originally for coffee (which was first and only coffee we had in Bali) some of their delicious homemade treats (my caramel pop was to die for) and starting to sound famous, homemade cordials (again, beautiful flavours of vanilla bean and local flower essence). Everything is at normal portion sizes you'd expect in Australia but at Bali prices.

The owner was extremely friendly and chatted away but also left us to our own company, the place was very clean, great mix of design in the place plus it also looks out over a little rice paddy field with a refreshing breeze.

We ended up going back for lunch - testing the dim sims claiming to be like those famous from South Melbourne Markets, they were pretty spot on! I had the corn and coriander fritters topped with smashed avocado and my partner destroyed the spinach and ricotta cannelloni, made with handmade pasta (yes, she rolled the pasta herself from scratch and you can taste the difference!) All was delicious and made fresh to order - plus we were given a small little dip while we waited - and all meals are only between $1-7AUD.

Total delight and we will be going back - highly recommended and cant pick a bad thing about it, even has space undercover from the hot sun for your scooter if you hire one!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fab and funky cafe in Seminyak - well worth going!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wonderful cafe.......good for breakfast or lunch. Great cakes and cookies also......owned and run by an expat Aussie girl. Everything is delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice staffs and nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I found this cute little lovely restaurant through Tripadvisor and decided to visit this No.2 restaurant in Seminyak.

Anick, the owner of the restaurant is very friendly, warm and lovely, she welcomed us once we arrived in the restaurant and helped us to get the order done. We chatted a little bit, she is such a nice person who really gave us a good impression of this place.

The food was relatively cheap and it's very delicious, very simple but tasty! worth trying!

I will come back again :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kreol Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Kreol Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kreol Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.