We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-designed interior, large room, outdoor bathroom, near to Seminyak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grey Boutique Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Grey Boutique Inn to your Saves list
The Grey Boutique Inn
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Jalan Dewi Sri, Access - The Grand Kuta Residence Lane no 8x, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 79 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well-designed interior, large room, outdoor bathroom, near to Seminyak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stay there for a night for transit and it was lovely. Spacious room, well-designed interior, outdoor bathroom and really near Seminyak. Away from the bustling street and yet near by car. I would say it's a hidden gem of Semiyak at a really great price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel was beautifully designed. We really enjoy our stay in this greyish minimalist hotel. The bed and pillow was really comfortable, the open-air bathroom was wonderful, with a nice clean towel. Yes, there were some mosquitoes at night, but if you always remember to close the bathroom door you can still sleep like a baby. They also provide a hairdryer, small refrigerator and safe deposit box. The staff was really helpful, you can ask them for direction or even a nice local place to eat.
The hotel is not on a walking distance to major tourist attraction though, so it would be better if you rent a car. But still the location is quite good (5 minutes to Legian-Seminyak). I would definitely stay here the next time I visit Bali.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

with minimalist style, the grey is a really nice, cozy, and homey hotel...very clean, with a little touch of modern art here and there...and the staffs are very helpful...lucky we got the promo room rate... :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here one night; had a wedding to attend Saturday and got in super late on Friday night, so we didn't want to blow a small fortune on a glitzy place that we wouldn't even get to enjoy till Sunday! we saved the glitzy place for Saturday night! So we decided to go with The Grey per the recommendations of the bridal party. With the rate that we got, we couldn't pass it up! And honestly, it looked very funky from the website.

For starters, with places like this, if you go in with the proper expectations then everything usually works out A-OK. I wasn't expecting to be on the beach, I wasn't expecting a full service hotel with a restaurant or anything like that, I was simply expecting a clean and comfortable place to crash for the night which is exactly what we got.

Staff was friendly, the facilities are basic but with a hint of modernity and "artsy-ness." Check-in was easy, they provide some bottled water with a straw upon checking in. You won't get some fancy concoction with a flower in it but you will get something to quench your thirst at least!

Room was very very basic; tiled floor, polished concrete walls. Bed was reasonably comfortable, pillows were OK. Room was VERY clean. Flatscreen TV with Satellite - awesome. Large sink and mini-fridge, check. So that was good. And a functioning aircon that didn't smell, also good!

The bathroom on the other hand is a fun story to tell. First-floor bathrooms are outside, this is a trend in Bali I have noticed over the years at comparable places. Nothing wrong with it. It can be romantic! Bathroom was clean, however, the shower area tiles when wet can be a bit of a slip-and-slide, they get EXTREMELY slippery so be careful so that you don't fall and break something. I almost took a few spills.

Water pressure of the shower was ok, nothing great. But the soap provided put us off. Yes, I am going to complain about the soap...of all things. It left a bit of a oily film that no matter how many times we rinsed it just never really seemed like we could get the 'slick' off ourselves. We wound up hitting up a mini-mart around the corner and getting some soap.

Other minor annoyances were the fact there wasn't any mosquito repellent device in the room, usually its nice to have that electrical thing to keep them away, and from my experience most places in Bali do have something in the room to do this regardless of price point. Needless to say I did get a couple of bites but nothing awful.

All-in-all, this was a good place. I will return. The price is right, and if you land late at night in Bali and don't want to fork out a lot of money for a resort for that night, then this place does the trick just perfectly to hold you over. I would even stay for more than one night. If you did stay longer, you could easily hit up Ku De Ta or Potato Head to chill for the day - you don't need a glitzy resort to do that. The Grey does have a pool but nothing large enough to enjoy in my opinion - a nice plunge pool is more or less all you get.

I look forward to returning here again someday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grey Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey Boutique Inn

Address: Jalan Dewi Sri, Access - The Grand Kuta Residence Lane no 8x, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grey Boutique Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grey Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grey Boutique Inn Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grey Boutique Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.