We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard one to review. Great if you only want to be on Seminyak to shop and be close to all the fabulous restaurants.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L Hotel Seminyak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added L Hotel Seminyak to your Saves list
L Hotel Seminyak
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Petitenget No 8L, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% rate and 25% SPA
Ranked #38 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hard one to review. Great if you only want to be on Seminyak to shop and be close to all the fabulous restaurants.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pros:
Best pancakes ever!! the ex-pat chef is ex Sarong and Mummasan and knows his stuff.
Fabulous personal service from the very first moment - they are the most proactive staff I have experienced in over 30 trips to Bali. Very professional staff.
Extraordinarily comfortable beds, beautiful products in room, loads of extras.
Great rooftop bar.
Free taxi service around Seminyak which was always available.

Cons:
The pool area doesn't work. If you are looking for a place to hang out and read a book, this isn't your place. I understood when booking that this hotel was more a city style hotel but underestimated how inadequate the pool was. The pool area is inside and in the dining area so you have no sun and are surrounded by people eating their breakfast RIGHT by you. Great if you are an exhibitionist I suppose:).

As an architect, I thought they should swap the foyer and dining area so that the restaurant is at the front of the hotel. Create more energy for the dining area which is a bit flat and then the pool area would be more a bar area. The front area is a dead space.

Noisy location - remember your ear plugs.

DVD selection really poor - especially in a country awash with cheap DVD copies.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Spreadthelove,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We apologize for any inconvenience caused regarding the swimming pool. To share with you, we are looking at a possible solution and we will update everyone as soon as we can on any new developments there. The noise is not much of an issue anymore, and we have made our DVD selection more interesting too. Just to clarify, we do not use pirated DVDs in our DVD list.

Happy to hear that you enjoyed the food. Chef Rutger did indeed work in Sarong and Mama San previously, and it lends to his diverse experience and menu creations. We are also very pleased to hear that our service teams met your expectations and we will certainly make them aware of this.

Best regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    80
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
135
46
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you do choose to stay at the L Seminyak, go with the right expectations and the experience will be amazing. Recognise that it's an urban hotel and will not be the resort/villa experience you may have come to associate with Bali.

Yes, the hotel is not by the beach, nor within walking distance. And there's only a small pool within the hotel that can be covered in 15 strokes (I counted).

BUT.. and it's a big but, the amazing staff more than make up for the traditional areas it lacks.

The hotel is small (just 30 rooms) and hence, the staff seem to know every guest intimately. Guests are greeted by their names, the staff are always smiling, and they always inquire about your day, your activities and truly believe in making it a personal experience. A butler (or butleress?) serves each floor 24 hours a day, so if you have any requests, go to them.

What I found invaluable is the free shuttle that the hotel provides in and around the Seminyak area. Guests are given a handphone when you leave the hotel (do ask for it if they forget to pass it to you) so that you can call for a pick up when you need it.

I also tried out the L Spa which is located next door. Great experience, the masseuse was experienced and I basically passed out under her tender kneading. For the ladies - the beautifying package (RP 790,000) is value for money - you get a scrub, a massage and a hair or facial treatment.

While the pool is small and may be a little awkward to use as it's located next to the restaurant that doubles up as the breakfast area, I had no problem using it as it was always empty! I suppose the combination of visiting in low season and other guests choosing to head out meant i basically had a private pool. If I do have a recommendation, the staff can serve complimentary water and fruit ala other resorts. That would certainly bump up the experience by quite a few notches.

My fiance and I also ate at the rooftop restaurant - teppanyaki at Kitano. If you've not experienced a teppanyaki show before, do try this out. The chef Agus has worked in the US before in teppanyaki joints and honed his craft there. So expect tricks, fire, great knife work and lots of showmanship. And the food's good too!

If you do choose to stay at the L Seminyak, go with the right expectations and the experience will be amazing.

Yes, the hotel is not by the beach, nor within walking distance. And there's only a small pool within the hotel that can be covered in 15 strokes (I counted).

BUT.. and it's a big but, the amazing staff more than make up for the traditional areas it lacks in.

The hotel is small (just 30 rooms) and hence, the staff seem to know every guest intimately. Guests are greeted by their names, the staff are always smiling, and they always inquire about your day, your activities and truly believe in making it a personal experience.

What I found invaluable is the free shuttle that the hotel provides in and around the Seminyak area. Guests are given a handphone when you leave the hotel (do ask for it if they forget to pass it to you) so that you can call for a pick up when you need it.

I also tried out the L Spa which is located next door. Great experience, the masseuse was experienced and I basically passed out under her tender kneading. For the ladies - the beautifying package (RP 790,000) is value for money - you get a scrub, a massage and a hair or facial treatment.

While the pool was small and may be a little awkward to use as it's located next to the restaurant that doubles up as the breakfast area, I had no problem using it as it was empty! I suppose the combination of low season and other guests choosing to head out meant i basically had a private pool.

If I do have a word of advice - skip the beach experience offered by the hotel. L Hotel Seminyak rents a spot on a beach about 10 minutes away by car. And by rent, I meant they rent a spot to set up a couple of umbrellas and deck chairs. There's an attendant Mary on hand who offers massages (not great) and tries to sell you a whole bunch of stuff. A small shack has also been set up if you need food or drinks. The beach is not pretty, there's overgrown weeds everywhere. Well, if you really like it rustic and raw, this is the spot for you. If you want a nice beach, I suggest heading to Potato Head beach club (lovely, lovely place) or Ku De Ta.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the rice paddy fields and not the road. Wake up to the sway green stalks and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Manager at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Joanne,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at L Hotel Seminyak. We are glad the service offered to you by our teams made your stay at the hotel memorable. Also happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool and spa. We will look at solutions to make our pool larger to cater to other guests.

The shuttle service and mobile phone service are two of the nice touches that we have found many of our guests enjoy so we are happy to continue to offer such services. And you tried “Kung-Fu Chef” Agus at Kitano! A must-try for all our guests and glad you included that in your experience. We will look into your comments about the beach and how we can make it more convenient for our guests,

Thanks again,
Budiman Widjaja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This loverly new property is a gem in Seminyak. The Butlers are amazing are certainly go above and beyond the call of duty. (They were even calling around to try and find a battery for my camera!).
The rooms are a little small and some may not like the open air bathrooms and the toilet stuck in the closet is a little claustrophobic, but it is the style of this modern boutique property.
Beds are comfy, the Khiels toiletries a loverly touch as are the free drinks in the mini bar.
Transport around Seminyak also fab.
My only complaint was the transfers to and from the hotel. To the hotel there was a mix-up with the times and we landed up just getting a cab (however they refunded us). Getting back to the airport, the hotel transport was busy and they arranged another driver. the trip took 3 hours and we almost missed our flight!
All in all great stay with super friendly staff in a loverly property.
PS- DO NOT waste your time with the spa, we a few treatments and all were shocking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Manager at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Leigh,

Thank you again for sharing your experience at L Hotel with other readers. We firstly apologize for the overlook of the correct timing of the transfers to and from the hotel, and for this we are deeply apologetic.

Your comments on the butler service is highly appreciated and we will make sure our service teams are complimented on the good service they provided you with.

We are surprised to hear your comments regarding the spa, as usually our hotel guests are very satisfied with the treatments but we will definitely look in to your comments regarding your experience at the spa.

Look forward to hearing from you again, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Asia.

Best regards,
Budiman Widjaja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed an 8 night stay during January. It was a time of quite unfortunate strong winds and extended rain storms, although the wonderful staff at L went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our first Bali experience. From the very friendly yet professional Butlers to the room service, front desk and restaurant staff everyone was so delighted to share advice and hear about your experiences in Bali.
Room
Small in size yet luxurious and a welcome oasis after day trips, beach trips or shopping in Seminyak or Kuta. Great shower and wonderful daily cleaning service from staff. (Wonderful towel sculptures :) )
Food & drink
Absolutely wonderful breakfast with lots of tasty options! Sandwiches among other options for lunch, and many choices for dinner. It would be great to have a few more western items on the menu as when we were unwell we sought refuge in steamed rice :). Very luxurious setting to eat upstairs or downstairs. Drinks were great, especially sunset cocktails with lovely views from the roof.
Beach & pool
The hotels pool and beach are not quite a sun tanner or loungers dream but are still enjoyable. A better option is to use the free private shuttle, and visit potato head beach club.
Staff
Wonderfully cheerful and helpful, lots of smiles and always keen to help in anyway and assure your experience is a good one. Our butler prepared a fantastic itinerary for us with all we wanted and was much cheaper than booking from Aus. The security were also great and we always felt very safe.
Noise
There have been a few reviews touching on noise so I thought fit to comment on our experience. We stayed on level 2 and faced the street. We heard minimal street noise and certainly weren't disturbed by it. We sometimes heard someone in the hall, more than likely other customers leaving or arriving to their rooms and sometimes other rooms being cleaned after breakfast. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest asking for a room facing the rice fields on level 2 or 3.
The L Hotel prides itself on personalised treatment and this was very evident. In our exploration of the island we did not meet a more friendly or accommodating group of professionals.
We will be back to Bali again and without a doubt we will be staying at the L hotel again. Terima Kaish Banyak L Hotel and all it's wonderful staff! :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Manager at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear John,

It brings a big smile to all our faces when we read reviews like yours and we thank you for sharing this with everyone. Certainly, our service teams have to take the biggest commends from this review and I am sure they are equally happy to hear your kind comments.

Noted about your request for more Western menu items, in fact we have just revamped both of our restaurants’ menu and it is waiting for you to sample!

We are also working quick to find a solution on our swimming pool requirements and will update you for sure.

Thank you again John for choosing us for your honeymoon and it will be our pleasure to have you return to L Hotel again,

Regards
Budiman Widjaja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had had high hopes when coming here as the photos on their website looked really nice and it had good reviews on trip advisor, but we really didn't enjoy our stay here and were quite happy to leave and go to a villa.
We stayed two nights here and had the two worst nights sleep all holiday as the rooms were far from soundproof and we were put in a room right by the hotels amenities cupboards and you could constantly hear staff scuffing their feet up and down the hall and opening and closing cupboards. We only managed to get to sleep between midnight and 6am because of this.
My partner attempted to use the "free" pressing service for a few pieces of clothing which we gave to the hotel in the morning on our first day, we still hadn't received the items the next day when we were checking out so we asked a butler on our floor when going to breakfast if they could please have them ready by our 9:30 check out time, when we went to check out we were told they would be another 10 mins which we were fine with so waited in the lobby. We then got told my partner had not specified the pressing service form properly so they had been dry cleaned and we had to pay for the dry cleaning. When we questioned the bill receptionist told us it would be free of charge. 15 mins later the chief butler comes down and informs use filled the clothing form out wrong and we still had to pay with a 25% discount going back on what the receptionist told us. On top of this after waiting 15 mins he then asks us if we are in a rush as the clothes will be another half an hour, again a complete contradiction on what we were told by the receptionist. Meanwhile our driver was waiting and we had a tour booked and I really just wanted to get the hell out of there so I was quite blunt that yes we were in a rush and our clothes were delivered 5 mins later very crinkled and poorly pressed which is all we wanted in the first place. I know it seems like a small problem but it is little things like this which leave a bad impression and although the staff were very friendly and the rooftop bar cool (cocktails are good and the complimentary canapés were excellent) I would not pay the same price for such a terrible sleep and awkward service. Much better value for at lots of hotels nearby.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Manager at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Mr Reuben,

Firstly, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay at the hotel. We obviously understand the importance of a good night’s sleep, especially when one is on holiday. We are looking to insulate our doors with rubber in order to block out the noise from the corridors to make it peaceful in the room. Room 305 in which you stayed is a Legian Suite as you requested and we previously have never had complaints regarding noise from guests living in those suites, but once again it is unacceptable that you had a poor stay at the hotel and we will rectify this immediately.

Regarding your pressing requirements, it was as you mentioned, many failures in communication for which we are deeply regretful. We should have asked you clearly at the time whether you required just pressing or drycleaning and we will make it clearer to our guests in future, and we have instructed our team to do the same.

We have contacted you via your partner’s email for more details. Please reply to me at budiman@thelhotels.com, if you need to discuss anything more personally.

Regards,
Budiman Widjaja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I read the reviews carefully before I booked the L and it exceeded my expectations of a Boutique Hotel Stay! The sounds of a cool rooftop bar, luxurious pillow-top bed and great breakfasts lured me to book our short stay.

For the first two days of my Bali adventure, I just wanted to pamper my hubby for his Birthday in chic Seminyak area. (we stayed at 3 proprieties about the island total) The service... from the great airport pickup with cold towels and waters! The surprise dessert on my hubbys bday, kiehl's bath products, iPod doc so we could play our own tunes, and some of the most excellent breakfasts I've ever had, top it off with a shuttle whenever we needed it... all called by a Butler or if they were not around, by the lovely front desk ladies, this was service above and beyond.

I agree with some posts that the room design is more about awesome looks more than function (example- the mirror is on the side walls where it looks good there but you kind of have to turn sideways to put makeup on- not a big deal! Just LOL! ;) The free mini fridge items, water and a free Happy Hour drink each day on the roof was so convenient and this hotel was a great place to start the day's and evenings adventures.
The bar was great too, I was surprised it was not busier as they had excellent X-mas special cocktails!
Tip: The shuttle will take you to Ku-Te-Ka which is a close popular Beach Club if you need to get to the beach, it takes 3 mins. Just because you are not on the beach does not mean you are far!

Thank you L Hotel for the love! We felt very welcomed and pampered, we hope to visit again someday!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Chelsy & Cyndi,

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review of your stay at L Hotel Seminyak. We are well and truly glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and we fulfilled the promise of boutique luxury. Xmas drinks were a hit at Luna Rooftop Bar and we are happy you tried them!

Once again, our service teams are very grateful for your kind compliments and we look forward to seeing you here again soon,

Regards
Kunal Pawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

First let's get the negatives out of the way:
- this hotel is not within walking distance of a beach. (There is a beach front owned by the hotel to which a free shuttle will take you and drop you off. This is the same beach front as W hotel guest would have access to.)
- the two pools available to guest are small and not for lounging around. (Don't stay here if that's what your vacation is about.)

Positives
- Service was very good throughout. Butler and front desk staff booked everything (tours, drivers and dinner reservations) we asked for in a very prompt and helpful manner.
The managers were hands on with the guests too and very enthusiastic to help may our stay enjoyable.
Food service was a little slow by our standards, but it was a holiday, so really, who cares. Just have a little laugh and re-order whatever was forgotten/misunderstood.
- Greeting - we were picked up from the airport (optional shuttle) with cold water and iced towels. Then we were greeted with fresh vegetable juices on arrival. We were taken to our air conditioned rooms and had our bags waiting there for us.
- Shuttle - once at the hotel, you effectively have a shuttle service at any time anywhere in Seminyak. You need this this because of the hotel location, but it really is done so well. They were more often than not early and waiting for us at pickup, and we never had to wait too long for drop off. This was a real plus!
- The hotel itself is very nicely done. It is as everyone has said boutique luxury. The rooms are very smartly constructed and look/feel bigger than they are.
- Happy hour - almost every night we all went up to the rooftop and had a complimentary drink and canape. The rooftop has a really nice and the atmosphere ans id a good place to watch the sunset. Also, the chef, friendly as the rest of the staff, was always willing to accommodate any request we had when dining there.

We traveled in a group ranging from 28 to late 60's and everyone was relatively pleased with the stay. I would suggest this hotel providing you are willing to actively seek out a holiday, because even though the hotel is very nice and i can't speak highly enough of the staff, you would have a really disappointing time if you thought of staying there all day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Manager at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Yoddi1,

Thanks for taking the time to write an honest review of your stay at the hotel. We understand your concerns regarding the pool and the beach, and please note that both of these concerns are being addressed by our management and we will work hard to find the best solutions for our guests.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed all of our services especially the shuttle service which does seem to be everyone’s favourite touch! Our service teams are again very grateful for your compliments.

Was a pleasure having your family here, and we look forward to you guys staying soon again.

Regards
Budiman Widjaja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L Hotel Seminyak

Address: Jalan Raya Petitenget No 8L, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#31 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#35 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L Hotel Seminyak 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L Hotel Seminyak is a quintessential 30-Suite hotel brand with a contemporary chic decor, marrying heritage and modernity. Its unique feature is service personalization and designer led experiences, providing the discerning traveler a refreshing, intimate and engaging stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your L Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L Hotel Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L Hotel Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.