We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in Seminyak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L Hotel Seminyak

Save Saved
You added L Hotel Seminyak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
L Hotel Seminyak
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya Petitenget No 8L, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 89 hotels in Seminyak
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great boutique hotel in Seminyak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in Seminyak for a few days in December and found L to be a great accommodation. L Seminyak is a boutique hotel, true in every sense of the word, from the small size yet made up by the amazing service. I know some guests have mentioned problems with the small size; but I'm accustomed as it's pretty similar to hotels in NY. However, you do have to plan accordingly if you travel more than 2 people.

The best parts about L are truly the free shuttle around Seminyak and the wonderful service that Budiman (Hotel Manager) and team continuously extend. When you stay in Seminyak, you really want to be able to use your hotel as a base to shower or drop off your shopping bags before going for a night out. That's when the shuttle comes in handy - no need to show up at Potato Head looking like a sweaty kid! The team is also always happy to help and so very quintessentially Balinese in their friendliness - couldn't ask for a better team.

The only feedback that you should know is the bathroom doesn't have a full separator. It has an electric blind that comes to mid length (but the vanity counter sort of blocks the rest). It's great for those who go on a romantic tour, but for the rest, maybe not so much. Can be avoided by planning accordingly (we booked 2 separate rooms).

All in all, I had a lovely stay in L and if I'm ever in Seminyak again, I certainly would consider going back to L!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Manager at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear David,

Thanks for the review and good to hear that you had a good stay at L! Yes, L is very much an urban chic boutique hotel in Seminyak. Personalized service is a promise at a boutique hotel like ours and we are glad that you felt this during your stay. I will pass your compliments to our team. The shuttle service is there because we know that guests love to travel around Seminyak, be it for shopping, dining or nightlife.
Our rooms do feature sexy open bathrooms, :p , but we provide the electric blinds to facilitate friends traveling together too. It was a pleasure for me to have met you and we look forward to your next stay!

Kind regards,
Budiman Widjaja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    45
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
79
35
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Corner of Earth
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our stay could have been a disaster but to all the excellent staff of L (all of you with special mention to Sukma from front desk), you have managed to salvage it quicker than I can ever expect.

Reading many positive reviews of L I was looking forward to a good stay. From reviews the cons are minimal except for one repeated concern of size. However, it seemed that it shouldn't be a problem from the hotel's description of its room so we went ahead to book. But we turned up and was almost speechless to find that the size is a real concern for us. However, the speed of problem solving and customer service was so good I should say I've not seen any hotels going to that length to make sure their customers leave happy. I'm not only grateful but very impressed as well.

We were truly happy with all other things. Beautiful design, fabulous staff, good breakfast, good bed, transport within Seminyak, 2 aroma diffusers in the room, free mini-bar, butler with free pressing service, designer bathroom products etc. I like to look out of the window by the sink and see thatched rooftops of other properties. Really calming and Balinese at same time. We even had a very nice spa for 2 in our package. I should say if the hotel fits your need, grab its offer now.

If I have to find another con to the hotel it would be that water from the tub and sometimes shower (if you don't close tight enough) can splatter over the bedroom floor due to the room design. It felt like design took over precedence of function. But I'm happy to note that quality materials were used everywhere.
Oh and one should bear in mind the pool is their shortcoming. But not a problem if you want to spend your time at the fabulous beach clubs around.

This is really a hotel that strives to be good. If you are one that wants quality and service it would deliver. But you should be aware if it satisfies your needs since it seems to have a specific consumer target.

I have to say a big Thank You to Budiman, the hotel manager, for tending to our problems so fast. He came over to say hello when we were having our complimentary drink at the rooftop bar (nice place!). We gave a feedback when asked, not expecting anything to be done and were very surprised that it was not kept in the pocket and forgotten like every other establishment does. This is service. I have to say that during the booking process, Adeline from the Singapore office was also an excellent help.

I would give a 4 1/2 star but TA don't have that. Keeping that last star simply because it is so unfortunately, too small for our needs.

Room Tip: Go for the Luxe Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear NANAnana,

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at L Hotel Seminyak. We regret if you found the room size to not be large enough. We apologize if you experienced some inconvenience during your stay because of this. We understand that our rooms are quite compact but we do our very best to ensure that the rooms are equipped with luxurious facilities such as quality linens and pillows, iPod docks and even the Pillow Menu to make guests comfortable.
However, we are glad to hear that our service team attended to your needs instantly and Mr Budiman handled your situation effectively, together with the rest of the team. Our focus is always on guest satisfaction and we are glad that we were able to achieve this goal through our facilities, service and gastronomic options.
Was a pleasure to have you stay at L, and please contact us personally if any problems in future.

Kind regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was a wonderful experience for me and my family. The service was excellent right from being received at the airport to leaving for home. Moreover the staff were really friendly, approachable and advised us well on the good attractions of Bali. Food was absolutely delicious be it breakfast or dinner. Furthermore the transportation provided by the hotel was a big aid for us tourists who are new to Bali. All in all the rooms were charming with their well chosen decor and room service was very good. We loved our stay in the L Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear skv73,

Thank you again for writing such a positive review of your stay at L Hotel. It is very satisfying to us when we hear that our guests had a wonderful experience during their stay at , and we will make sure that our team receives your commendations as well. We would love to see you back here again, and please contact us should you ever require anything,

Kind regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5nights at L hotel. It was our first time in Bali together and we were looking for a place with a great location to go places and a comfortable place to come back to so we could rest well. We were looking for a few things then: low noise levels being that the traffic in Bali is really heavy, comfortable beds and a good shower. L hotel ticked all those requirements and more. It's their commitment to make your stay as comfortable as possible that rises through. For example, the pick up service around Seminyak. Even when your location turns out further than expected, like when one of our spa location was, the whole crew made sure we got to the place whilst ensuring our booking. Definitely be back, thank you, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Manager at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Raymond,

Thank you again for your kind comments about your stay at L Hotel Seminyak. The guest is always the center of our service and we strive to provide you with the most comfortable and memorable trip you can possibly have, and we are glad to personalize your stay when need be. Also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and had a relaxing stay, hope to see you back hear soon,

Regards,
Budiman Widjaja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. First and foremost, the staff and service is outstanding! From the moment we arrived in the airport to our last goodbye, the staff at L is exceptional. We visited Bali for a little of everything, rest, relaxation, sightseeing, beaches and shopping and this was the perfect location. Initially, we were going to stay at the resort area, but decided to stay where there was more local stuff around and we made the right decision. Everything was available in close distance. And the shuttle service was a GREAT plus for the hotel. We were able to go anywhere within Seminyak with the hotel taxi (at no extra cost!)...shopping, spas, restaurants, beaches! And when we went to Ubud for the day, the staff arranged for our scooter and had maps ready for us with directions and all! And Ekka, our butler, even drove her own scooter to show us the way to the main highway through the back roads (truly above and beyond). The hotel itself is very modern, the rooms are clean and well planned out with a open plan (so probaby more comfortable for couples). The breakfast was awesome! Fresh juice! Local foods and all kinds of eggs/pancakes/etc...really anything is made to order. This hotel and staff made our trip relaxing and easy without having to think about anything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Arti,

Thank you again for staying with us and glad to hear that you guys had such a good time at L!
Seminyak is a very vibrant area with much to do in terms of shopping, restaurants and nightlife and it is all only minutes away from the hotel so we are glad that the shuttle service came in handy to you. Good to hear that you guys managed to go to Ubud on a scooter as well; there is no better way to experience Bali!

We try to make breakfast a special meal here at L, as we know it sets you up for a great day ahead! Ekka and all our team send their regards to you, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Bali again!
Regards,

Kunal Pawa
L Hotel Seminyak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were impressed by the excellent services and truly make our stay a memorable one. The room took our breath away the moment we step in, Chic, Modern, Sexy and little touch of Balinese culture. The Hotel truly Living its L expectation which is 'L'ive 'L'ife not only that we as guest we found 'L'ove and 'L'ust through our stay. =) Thank You L!! Xx

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Azawi,

It was our pleasure to have you stay at the hotel too, and thank you for your input about your stay. You described it perfectly: Chic, Modern, Sexy and touches of Balinese culture ;)

Hope to see you here again soon,
Best Regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 7 days. The location is perfect for exploring Bali, and a peaceful haven from the bustle of seminyak. The rooms are very clean with a nice modern design. Excellent rooftop cocktail bar and good food. Great tea bags too. Very cool butler service; they organised day trips for me to see the best of the island. ABOVE ALL the staff are so genuinely friendly and they create such a welcoming, hospitable atmosphere, you will feel welcome and comfortable here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHotelSeminyak, Management at L Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear samohtm3,

Thank you so much for your nice review of L Hotel Seminyak, we are glad that our accommodation provided you with a haven from which to explore Bali. We really believe that our hotel represents the direction of Bali: representing modernity and tradition, and are happy that you felt the same way. Most happy to hear that our staff gave you the service you deserved,

Best Regards,
Adeline Quek
Resident Tastemaker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L Hotel Seminyak

Address: Jalan Raya Petitenget No 8L, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#36 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L Hotel Seminyak 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L Hotel Seminyak is a quintessential 30-Suite hotel brand with a contemporary chic decor, marrying heritage and modernity. Its unique feature is service personalization and designer led experiences, providing the discerning traveler a refreshing, intimate and engaging stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your L Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L Hotel Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L Hotel Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.