We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pelangi Bali Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pelangi Bali Hotel to your Saves list
Pelangi Bali Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
West Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We (1 couple 1 single) (2 rooms) booked in for 3 nights but did not bother to unpack our bags. The foyer was impressive but stiffling hot. A long walk along a corridor led to our rooms. Although clean and all facilities being provided we were not impressed. The balcony was so small that you could not sit outside. It felt oppressive. When we decided to book out the staff were most helpful and even recommended other accommodation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    299
    101
    45
    25
See reviews for
122
282
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

First visit to Bali and my wife and I are very pleased with Pelangi Resort. The greeting was very nice simple and friendly. The rooms are nice spacious and clean. The Hotel is located on the beach and features a nice selection of restaurants and bars. A good stroll towards the main shopping area of Seminyak for souvenirs, restaurants and spas.

The restaurant breakfast selection had a good variety and featured some local dishes as well. The service was warm and always very helpful suggesting places to visit.

we will be staying here again when we return to Bali

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just stayed here again for the 8th time,and just as good as ever !
This hotel is excellent value for money. with clean and comfortable rooms
( not luxurious, but not luxurious prices either)
The staff are the best i have ever met , and the breakfast buffet is absolutely superb

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Have stayed at the pelangi twice & both times were enjoyable. Sure it's a little dated as people have noted but who cares.

Location is great to restuarants, nightlife, shops, spas & the 'bean bag' bars on the beach in the evenings are right at your door step but the noise does not filter through to the hotel.

Rooms are sufficient and buffet breakfast has pretty much anything you need.

The pool area can get a little busy at times & hopefully there isn't any large loud groups who 'take over' the entire pool area & pool bar. It really is unpleasant when a big group of people disrespect other guests & we witnessed people smoking in the pool & taking their glass bottles in the pool & yes they did break. Staff should really be more strict on these type of guests. In saying this I only witnessed this on one of my stays & the pool staff are friendly. The pool aea can also be very relaxing & enjoyable & is a great spot to watch the sunset.

I would return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxenford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just back from 10 days stay at the Pelangi Bali Hotel.
After reading very mixed reviews,I was a little apprehensive.
However , on arrival, we were met with a beautiful cool drink & a very refreshing cold towel while we went through the check in process,which was quick & the reception staff very informative & pleasant.
The hotel was lovely right from the first sight, upon entering the driveway on arrival,through to the lobby. Beautiful Balinese statues & water features made it all seem like an oasis after battling the Bali traffic. Also very clean, the staff very welcoming .
A wonderful man by the name of Wynum took our suitcases & us to our room,which was a deluxe twin.
The room was spacious,clean & a lovely balcony with a view over the pool.
At first I thought this will be noisy,but no, once the balcony door was shut,seemed to block out any noise.
Pelangi is in a perfect spot right on the beach with many beach restaurants & bars right outside the property. We loved the bean bags on the beach & the live music that seemed to be on every night.
The food was great & very reasonable in price & once again the staff left us wanting for nothing.
All staff were happy & loved to have a little chat & never forgot your name.
Our room was cleaned & fresh towels supplied every day along with 3 bottles of water free of charge.
Housekeeping did such a good job.
The tour desk in the lobby was also very good,always asking how we enjoyed whatever tour we had booked upon our return.
The pool was amazing as well.
Buffet breakfast was really nice,egg station had the best omelette's & a good variety of other foods.
My only little gripe,was that breakfast was not included on checkout day,as checkout time is 12pm (lunch time ) it would have been nice to have it included on the last day.
All in all, we loved our stay at the Pelangi & would absolutely stay there again & again ....

Well done Pelangi & all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Pelangi for 4 nights rooms were a little dated, need a lot of care, but the pool area and the beach makes up for it. great restaurants, bars along the beach and you must have a Massage by Ruty on the beach for around $8.00 for a full body massage. another let down was a lack of poolside service which was disappointing, and Housekeeping could be a little more thorough with replenishing amenities. I would only stay there again for the. Beach and a Magnificent Sunset.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Beach WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Pelangi for ten days returning 12th of November 2012. On arrival we were met by very friendly and professional staff. The rooms were of a good standard, clean and larger than we expected, Beautiful clean white sheets on the bed everyday. Fantastic location, little Duff, Duff bean bag bars on the beach, wonderful pool, we spent most evenings swimmiing and watching the sun go down. Eat street in Seminyak (Oberoi Street) was only a few minutes away or $1.00 by Bali Taxi. All of the staff at Pelangi were exceptional, extremely friendly and efficient. Legian (the best shopping) is a short walk along the beach or somewhat longer journey by taxi. We would definitely return to Pelangi - just wish we had found it sooner, we have been to Bali more than 20 times (lost count) and were really surprised with the standard. Well done Pelangi, see you again soon.

Room Tip: We were in the centre of the hotel on the ground floor. The room was good standard and we could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelangi Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelangi Bali Hotel

Address: Jalan Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#43 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#54 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelangi Bali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelangi hotel Bali is located in beautiful, serene Seminyak with its white sandy beaches and rolling waves are perfect for the keen surfer or those who wish to indulge in the warm sun and outstanding landscape. Not only will you experience a rich culture unlike any other, you will carry memories of people, places, sounds, smells and a fantastic getaway.Pelangi Bali Hotel also have direct access to the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pelangi Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelangi Bali Seminyak
Hotel Pelangi Bali
Pelangi Bali Hotel Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelangi Bali Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.