We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 11 night stay at Pelangi hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelangi Bali Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pelangi Bali Hotel to your Saves list
Pelangi Bali Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 104 Hotels in Seminyak
Cairns
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our 11 night stay at Pelangi hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We Stayed at the Pelangi Hotel from 20 February. I did lots of research online and chose the Pelangi for three reasons.
1. Absolute Beachfront position
2. Affordable
3. Seminyak (Hopefully quieter)

I disregarded all the bad reviews and I am glad that I did. I gave The Pelangi an excellent rating because it delivered exactly what we were looking for. I really doubt you can beat the Pelangi for price when you consider that it has one of the best positions on the beach and is absolute beachfront. If we still had young children I would probably have chosen a resort but the Pelangi is great for us as a couple. I can't understand why people say the superior room is too small. It was plenty big enough for us and we didn't spend much time in it anyway. If the curtains are open you can see into the rooms opposite but I'm wondering why you would go to Bali if you are going to spend the day in your room! They do have satellite TV channels and the aircon was excellent. The room and the linen were spotless and cleaned very well everyday. We never heard a sound at night during the whole 10 days.. the walls are solid concrete not thin as someone else suggested. There was plenty of choice for breakfast...not 5 star but still good. The Pelangi has the most beautiful sparkling pool and a great swim up cocktail bar. The staff are all really lovely and friendly. We enjoyed the little restaurants on the beach and being able to sit on the bean bags and listen to live music at night. We managed to walk everywhere from the Pelangi. We walked to Kuta and back more than once but there is a complimentary shuttle to Kuta. People talk about the hotel being down a dark alley but that is an exaggeration. It took us 2 minutes to walk to the road with all the restaurants and I always felt safe even when walking by myself. It takes about 10 minutes until you reach legian along the beachfront. We did not eat at the Pelangi so can't comment on the meals. To be truthful we did not find the decor very appealing and found it much more fun to try all the little restaurants in town. There are so many lovely, reasonable little restaurants within a few minutes walk. Lucky Day was one of our favourite... food is superb...especially the Nasi Rames and the black rice pudding. I was worried with my choice of hotel before I stayed because of some of the reviews but we will stay there again. My only problem which would not prevent me from staying again, is that there is not enough shade. Ideally I would like more trees but it would be difficult because the hotel is on a long thin plot. The Spa is good if you want to pay for it... a completely different experience from the massages on the beach. I recommend Rusty if you need a beach massage. We used the security boxes in the lobby and had no problems at all. You would probably be better to change your money either at the hotel or there is a good moneychanger next to the Bingtang supermarket. We tried one down in Seminyak Road with a high rate and we somehow managed to lose USD60. Obviously very clever magicians! If you want more luxury for the same price I am sure you could get it in Nusa Dua but we love the area and the easy accessibility to everything. We look forward to our next stay at the Pelangi.

Room Tip: We had room 205 which was nearer the lobby. If you want to be nearer the pool you need to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    288
    93
    42
    25
See reviews for
116
272
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Pelangi is situated in a lovely spot in Seminyak, nice walk to Legian along the beach, and far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be relaxing.
Wouldn't recommend eating there but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Is typical of the old rooms in Bali but that is part of the Bali charm.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Ok we read all the reviews.. and we got here on Wed nite 29th feb,, still here till the 10th March,, we are in the standed room,, so no balcona, but we dont spend much time there anyway,, after staying at the Aston last time in Nusa dua,, its a big change,, just the one pool.. very closed in walks going to to the front or back,, breakfast is pretty much like most hotels not fantastic,, not shocking. are finding some great places to eat & will pass them on soon. the room we are in 113 as like the other standed rooms.. is ok size a/c is very good,, but we like to have a fan going to move the air around and they dont have celing fans and you cant get a ground standing one off them. No bigger,, staff are loverly. Keep in mind this is a older hotel and is one of the oldest if not the oldest in this area,, before the others went up. Have had a couple of snacks here but was not that good,, so we eat out.. One place we found which is great is the Italian place about a 5/7min walk. go out to beach turn left go up to first main st walk past the rd works,, and its on your right on the corner,, yum yum,, also the supper place at the Antaran hotel,, its a fancy hotel and you do pay a bit more,, but you can just go up for tappers & a cocktail ect,, the veiw is fantastic.. and worth a trip too,..anyway this Hotel is not really set up for kids,, not that we have any but there is not that much for them to do compared to the modern Hotels.. Hope this helps anyone coming here..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week in November
We found the room was damp/dark and we could not open our curtains/blinds because we literally could like straight into someone elses room and visa versa.
Pool was nice
Restaurant was ok.
Room was disgraceful
We stayed at the Nikko Resort in Nusa Dua which cost the same as this hotel and the quality and difference was ridiculous.
I would give the Nikko 5 stars
This 2 Stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for my honeymoon. I booked the superior type and it took a 3 minute walk to get to our room from the front desk. There’s nothing special about the room, also it’s very dark. The wall is thin, we can hear other guests talk, so we can’t sleep until they stop talking, about 3am. However, staffs were very helpful and friendly, breakfast was good, room was clean, and the beach located right behind the restaurant. Reasonable price consider to the location, service, and good breakfast

Room Tip: take deluxe and above type
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, South side
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel Pelangi pronounced (purr lang ghee) is very good and I'd stay there again tomorrow. Your taxi/driver, (we had a hotel transfer arranged and I think it is included in the room cost) will park at the top of a driveway and here you will get out and be taken to the reception which is just inside and to the right. There is also a bar here too but we never had a drink here. The hotel is built in two wings running from the road to the beach and is narrow.
Our room, 306 was down the hallway on the right. It was at the very far end and is the last room on this wing. It over looks the pool from a small balcony outside the front door. and from here you can just see the restaurant where you will have your breakfast.
Inside our room was a little lounge setting and to the right was the king bed. to the right is a small room which has a cupboard, dressing table and a place for your suitcase. The safe is in the cupboard. Ours was a deluxe room by the way. The is a mini bar and TV with lots of channels plus a sliding door that leads to a small balcony. Straight across you can see the other wing which looks to have larger rooms than the one we had.

The room was cleaned each day but at differing times. The air con was on all the time and is nice and cold. The bathroom was HUGE. and has a toilet, shower, separate bath and sink. So if there were two of you one could shower in the bath and one could use the shower. The water was a little hit and miss in regard to temp and pressure. But still very good.

Leaving our room you walk back toward reception but take a flight of stairs down and once at the ground you walk to the right which will take you to the very nice and quite large pool. The restaurant is just around to the right. You will have tickets to hand over to get your meal which is buffet style, There is a chose of different Indonesian style foods plus bacon, sausages and other items. They have a staple set of food that did does not change but then change a few of the items to give you a range.
There is fresh fruit, coffee, toast and really quite a lot to eat. As you stand facing the ocean which you can get to through a gate just past the pool and down a couple of steps, is the egg station, any style you like and cooked very well.

If you walk out of the hotel through this back gate you are on a path that runs along the beach. At the moment (2012) there are small warungs and bars here but I believe they are to be moved and they should not have been built so close to the water.
Walking to the left takes you to Cocoon and then on to Melasti Street and then on to Kuta.

To leave your hotel you walk out of your room past reception, down a flight of stairs, past security and your on the small road out the front of the hotel to the right is a dead end but to the left it is only a short walk to Jalan Dhyana Pura, Once you get here, left takes you to the beach and to the right take you shopping our to a lot of restaurants. The is also a very good money changer on the right hand side inside a small but well stocked supermarket.

Selamat sukses
Andrew

Room Tip: We had room 306 and it was very large and on the right wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed with my husband and 5 year old son for 4 nights. Weidn't expect much because we had read all the reviews and our hopes weren't up. We were quite positively surprised, the room was ok, clean, of course smelled a little bit of mould but we exactly weren't much in that room. The bed was big and comfy, the AC worked well. At first when we arrived they gave us the room with 2 beds and when we asked extra bed for our son they said they'll charge 60USd per day for it. We said that we don't pay that kind of money and asked for a room with a king bed, we thought that we'll sleep together in one bed for one night and then change the hotel. For our surprise the room with the king bed they gave us, had already extra bed in it and we didn't have pay for it. The breakfast in the restaurant was ok but once we ordered some salads for lunch and they were terrible. We ate on the beach at the warung Chirinquito at the right side from the hotel beach exit.They had excellent food and we even managed to talk them to sell us a bottle of local wine for 150000 (it was 240 inthe menu). The local wine appared to be quite good :) We didn't go much outside of the hotel by foot, we had our own driver who picked us up from the hotel and we drove around to the temples and markets etc. During our stay in the end of Jan.2012 the beach was extremely dirty, compared to this, the beach in Sanur was like paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed at 138 (downstairs) and were satisfied, quite near the pool, and there is no opposite room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelangi Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelangi Bali Hotel

Address: Jalan Camplung Tanduk, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#41 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#47 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#49 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelangi Bali Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelangi hotel Bali is located in beautiful, serene Seminyak with its white sandy beaches and rolling waves are perfect for the keen surfer or those who wish to indulge in the warm sun and outstanding landscape. Not only will you experience a rich culture unlike any other, you will carry memories of people, places, sounds, smells and a fantastic getaway.Pelangi Bali Hotel also have direct access to the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelangi Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelangi Bali Seminyak
Hotel Pelangi Bali
Pelangi Bali Hotel Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelangi Bali Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.