We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kunti 118X, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 Nights FREE!
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A most wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and i just got back from spending 8 nights in a one bedroom villa. It took my breath away when we discovered what was behind the huge wooden doors. A tropical paradise, absolutely gorgeous gardens surounding the wonderful pool and the outdoor kitchen / meals and day bed area are a fabulous. Inside, the cool airconditioned room was a welcome relief after the high humidity upon arrival.
We had a chef come and cook breakfast for us in our villa each morning. The food was lovely and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Reception are very helpful and have all the answers for you. They'll book trips and taxis for you whenever you need, however the location of this villa is so close to the shops and restaurants and a million taxis go past you all day, just hail one at any time. What would normally cost around AUD20 in Melbourne will cost you about $1.50 in Bali, and they don't mind short trips.
We just happened to be at the airport, leaving, when the 5 suspected terrorist were shot and killed. Despite this, I felt completely safe the whole time and i still would not hesitate to go back again. I would perhaps just stay clear of the bars where most of the young people hang out. Its the "yobbo's" that upset the locals. Anyway, had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this villa. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We specified a room away from road because my husband is a light sleeper, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear DawnB,

We are so pleased to hear how much your enjoyed your recent stay with us. Glad that you loved your villa. The privacy the lush gardens and high walls provide is what helps makes it fantastic and there is nothing like plunging into your own pool or escaping to your air-conditioned bedroom on a hot day!
We are very lucky to have such a wonderful caring team from Security at the front to our Food and Beverage and Guest Services team. Nothing is ever too much trouble for any member front or back of house and it is fantastic that you experienced this.
You are right in saying that all our villas are good – the locations maybe different yet each villa is just wonderful – your own private oasis!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and a big thank you for recommending us. We offer great benefits to return guests as a thank you for your loyalty so do check our website when you are next ready to book a holiday with us.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    138
    29
    6
    9
See reviews for
284
286
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach Downunder
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Words cannot describe what a fantastic place this is, the people, the location, the price, the spa, the food - EVERYTHING

My husband and I stayed here for 10 days at the end of February and cannot recommend it enough.

Definitely get reception to book you a car for the day and they will take you to some of the lovely temples and beaches in the area at a very modest price for the day.

Everything was within walking distance and we felt completely safe in the streets at night.

The Deli over the road is fantastic and sells everything that you will require for your hols or have forgotten to bring with you

DEFINITELY GOING BACK......................

Room Tip: Just tell the reception why you are there and what it is you want from your holiday, they are only t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Scotaus,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a fantastic holiday. We love the way you have summed up your stay “Absolutely Awesome” – we know that we have done our job when this is how you feel.

Glad you got to experience Prana Spa – there are so many wonderful treatments available its worth visiting more than once. Our restaurant and in villa dining is renowned for serving great food and our in villa BBQ’s are so much more than just a BBQ – a chef to cook and a waiter to serve plus decorations - such a wonderful way to experience Bali!

Great that you got out and about – as much as we love Seminyak it is wonderful to explore with your own driver on a half or full day tour. It is amazing the sites you can see just around the corner.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next holidaying in Bali - please refer to our website for some great return guest and loyalty benefits for direct bookings.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

i stay 8 nights in one room villa, is very nice but the quality of the room is not as expected

Room Tip: in original villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Yasser85

Thank you for your comments -we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our villas are lovely and the pictures and descriptions on our website show exactly how each style of villa looks. Our one bedroom villas are perfect for a couple offering privacy, a deep water swimming pool yet with all the conveniences of a full service hotel.

We look forward to you returning again to The Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This just happened 30 minutes ago, so I had to write about it right away. Yesterday my wife and I had a "Dumb & Dumber" moment exchanging money at a dodgy money exchange near The Villas. The Exchangers offered a high rate, but gave us a lot of small bills, pulled some tricks and we didn't notice until late afternoon that we were jobbed. Embarrassing. I thought I was smart enough to avoid these things. AARGH! Total buzz kill on our honeymoon. The next day we told the front desk about our incident. Our purpose was to ask the reception to warn others. They didn't seem surprised about it, but instead of offering to warn others they said calmly, WE'LL GET YOU A DRIVER AND SECURITY AND SEE IF WE CAN GET YOUR MONEY BACK! "Huh? Yeah, right." I thought. Next thing I know, a driver (good English) and a heavy (a security guy who knows guys?) took us back to the exchangers and 30 minutes later we got ALL our money back. We were elated. Upon return to our room the driver told us if we have any problems, even outside the hotel, to let the front desk know. We were overjoyed.
Our villa: is clean and cleaned often. Each villa offers a stereo system with i-pod jack and speakers around the villa for great sound. The kitchen is nice to store snacks or to cook/make your own dinner. The decor is just right, not over the top artsy, but enough to be hip. Walls around the villa are high enough for privacy.
The area: is about 1km from the beach. There are three different locations for The Villas. Each one has a decent supermarket within walking distance. Shopping and restaurants are also close by (Mannekepis, Queen Tandori, Warung Ocha, RIO, etc.)
Service: Excellent with the our recent history. To call up the front desk for a driver to take you to Prana Spa or to the other The Villas locations was no problem. Everyone is all smiles most of the time. Were greeted by everyone warmly. Had breakfast in our villa and the server and chef were able to do a little small talk and laugh at my dumb jokes.
Cons: are few, but we were offered a free pass to a gym, but it is a good 10/15 minutes away, so we didn't use it. The specials offered at Prana don't carry at Chill. The beach is a good distance away. The prices for tours and other options seem a bit high, but we made other arrangements.
Finally, I asked the front desk to look at other rooms (the 2 & 3-bedroom villas) because I want to come back here with my friends. Outstanding. Amazing. Can't express how happy we are to stay here. Bravo!

Room Tip: Stayed in 36 which is way in the back. When asking for privacy, they might stick you in the far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear CrAIGnEggS

What fantastic news! Glad our team could help and that really sums up why we all do what we do at The Villas – we will go the extra mile (or km) to make sure you leave us and Bali with a positive memory. We continue to add extra touches to the Villas such as the new stereos with Ipod and usb connections, magnifying LED bathroom mirrors and extra bathroom cupboard space so we are glad you found these useful.

Your right our location is great – close to everything, yet peaceful and serene once you close your villa door.

We are glad you were able to experience Prana Spa – it’s amazing. Chill reflexology and acupressure is so reasonably priced and has become popular with locals and holiday makers alike. It is definatley worth trying!

We really look forward to welcoming you back to The Villas and don’t forget we offer terrific benefits to our return guests so have a look at our website and join our Loyalty program for when you next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was our second stay at The Villas. On both occasions we opted for a private villa in the sunset complex. Just perfect everytime. The rooms were wonderfully airconditioned and completely mosquito free! This is very rare in Bali. The bathroom was the perfect size and the conditon was excellent. The swimming pool was lovely and clean and well maintained, as were the surrounding garden beds. All of it was just fantastic! If you are looking for somewhere private, this is the place where you can simply relax, let go and enjoy the comforts of having your own personal tropical paradise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Simon S

Thank you for coming back to our great villas and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again. We pride ourselves on our beautiful lush gardens and we work hard to keep the nastie's at bay. Our team strives to keep everything in top order and are delighted to know that this was noticed. You have summed it up perfectly – when staying here at the villas - it is your own personal tropical paradise! We look forward to seeing you again for your 3rd stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This place is just perfect. I loved Seminyak and all the cool furniture shops and art. These villas are so so so lovely. It was the perfect romantic getaway. If you stay here then you have to check out the spa - OUT OF THIS WORLD.

Also its just opposite Bali deli which is a great place to go for lunch or stock up on snacks for your villa.

As a surprise my other half arranged a special evening in our villa....we came back to the villa and the whole place has been decorated in rose petals...there were 2 dancers and a Balineese band and a chef and a waitor! Bit of a shock to see all these people in our villa to say the least! Unforgettable magical experience :)))))

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Dear Clare S,

Thank you for your comments and how romantic of your other half to arrange a special dinner in your villa! Our team go out of their way to ensure that you have a memorable time and this was obviously achieved. Prana Spa is amazing and not like any other spa - we are glad you had the opportunity to experience it. We look forward to seeing you again and maybe surprising your other half with something wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed here or 7 nights early February. First impressions were fab! It was our first trip to Bali so we were rather apprehensive as we don't usually pick anywhere busy and chaotic. We were met at the airport by an extremely welcoming member of staff who directed us to the private car. Was an excellent drive to The Villas as he took the back roads so we were not stuck in the horrendous traffic around Denpasar and Kuta. Only took around 25 minutes. We were met at reception with a lovely glass of chilled juice each, and within minutes taken to our villa. We were in The Sunset Villas which is ot near the main reception so had to go by car to this seperate complex. It is down a couple of very narrow alleyways and was quite a shock at first. Being our first time here it took us a couple of days to get used to walking down the back alleys, especially in the dark. Also the Bluebird taxi's had trouble finding it sometimes, so make sure you always give them the business card which is in your villa compendium. It is approximately a 20-25 minute walk to The Prana Restaurant and Spa from here, you have to walk around the block along the main streets, there is no short cut. The villas are newer than the originals and are absolutely stunning and so private. The area is also very quiet and you can hear non of the chaos from the busy roads. You can actually holiday here without leaving your villa and if you want to visit the restaurant, spa or Chill Refloxology you can order a driver to shuttle you there. We did this once to get back to our villa as it were too hot and tired to walk back, we had been out exploring the area (got lost) and came across The Villas and Prana Spa so thought yay hop into reception and ask for a driver to take us back. We had our breakfasts cooked in our villa every morning, this was such a treat (favourite part of the day)and you are not made to feel pretentious or snobby as we thought might have been. The staff were so friendly and genuinely wanted to please you and make your stay perfect in every way. The pool was fantastic, gorgeous temperature, gardens well kept. Didn't have a problem with mozzies as they de fog every week and spray at turn down every night. It is a short taxi ride to the fab restaurants around about about. We loved Nirvana and La Lucciola best. We are still not too sure about Bali, it is ever so busy, and we went at the quiet time of year. There is alot of poverty around, but it is a developing country so we did expect this. The infastructure needs a big overhaul especially regarding refuse collection. You can miss all this by hiring a driver for the day and going south to Ulawatu or up into the mountains, we didn't have time to do a lot of sight seeing as it was more a R & R holiday but now know where we want to see next time we are there. One word of advise do not fill in any questionaires whilst out and about, they are time share touts and harass you for days after by phoning your villa to try and get you to go out with them for the day.
To round it off I don't think you would find a nicer place to stay in Seminyak, the team at The Villas are to be commended for their attention to detail and service. We would not hesitate to recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: If you are not too keen on walking down the narrow back alleyways request to stay at The Original Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillasBali, Manager at The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Sonbeth

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your first holiday to Bali and that we were able to be a part of this experience from the beginning at the airport to your departure. Your heading ‘A little oasis’ is so well said – in the middle of Seminyak, part of Bali and the safety and security of your own private oasis. We also appreciate your comments and advice given to future travellers. Here at The Villas we aim to provide as much information for our guests such as cards for Taxis, maps of the area and a comprehensive compendium to answer and assist with many questions about beautiful Bali and The Villas. Yes your perfect holiday can be completely serviced in your villa or within The Villas, Prana Spa and Chill Refleology. Thank you for saying such kind words about our team - you are so right they love doing what they do and as part of our large Villas family they also want to include you.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends in the future and for your next visit, please refer to our website for some great return guest and loyalty benefits for direct bookings.

The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa

Address: Jalan Kunti 118X, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive accommodation offers privacy and luxury with all the conveniences of a full service hotel. Every one, two or three bedroom Villa has its own private swimming pool. We're located in the heart of Seminyak, one of Bali's trendiest areas; walking distance to dozens of fabulous restaurants and shops, yet once within The Villas grounds that has 24 hour security, it is extremely quiet and private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villas Bali Hotel And Spa
The Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
Hotel Bali
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.