We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“haven of peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Bali to your Saves list
The Oberoi Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Villa offer - Room only
Ranked #3 of 116 Hotels in Seminyak
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“haven of peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The only hotel you can stay on the long beach between Kuta and Seminyak! it is haven of peace from the hustle on that side of the island. Without the OBEROI, it would not ne worthwhile visiting Bali again! beautifully appointed rooms, very well kept gardens, feeling of space, excellent service. Private beach and beautiful pool, albeit a bit small and all loungers taken around the pool, but we prefer to be a bit aside from that. there are loungers on a sandy spot overlooking the beach. Excellent service there too, they bring mineral water, some snack and sherbet. They even come to clean your sunglasses! were upgraded to a pool villa, magnificent. Also the kitchen, excellent! No need to go outside and eat badly! we love Oberoi

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
20/8/14.

Dear FlorestanStrasbourg,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay here and that The Oberoi, Bali has given you good reason to visit the island of the gods. I was happy to read that the pool team found a place for you to enjoy the view of the crashing surf on Seminyak Beach and that the service and cuisine have met with your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, bali once again.

Warm regards,

John Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Seminyak Beach, Jalan Kayu Aya
Denpasar 80361, Bali, Indonesia
Email : John.Halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    126
    47
    14
    5
See reviews for
162
686
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lluxury, unparalleled service, unique experience in an hotel with great hospitality tradition and culture. Great location combined with elegant rooms and exquisite food. I stayed three nights and we enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
20/8/14.

Dear jfjlawai,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor .

I am delighted to know that the service, accommodation, cuisine, location and ambience have been enjoyed by you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali again in the near future.

Warm regards,

John Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Seminyak Beach, Jalan Kayu Aya
Denpasar 80361, Bali, Indonesia
Email : John.Halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband and I just stayed at the Oberoi for 4 nights during our recent honeymoon in Bali. This place is absolutely gorgeous. We stayed in a Luxury Lanai room with partial ocean view. Not the largest room in the world, but very comfortable and the bathroom was wonderful...I'm not usually a bath-person, but I used the tub almost every night because it was so enticing. As others have said, the design of the bed frame is a bit odd and isn't easy to get in and out of, but I got used to it and slept fine. One of the best reasons to stay at the Oberoi is the location. You are so close to restaurants (literally next door to the famous Ku De Ta) and shopping. And the Oberoi resort has a fantastic strip of beach...it is absolutely pristine and wasn't at all crowded. We also really enjoyed the pool and the staff was very good about taking drink/food orders poolside. We had a beautiful meal at Kura Kura our first night, and the buffet was very nice experience (although we must take away a few points for the roast pork being undercooked...everything else was delicious). The gamelan/dancing entertainment was FABULOUS - the best by far when compared to the other resorts we stayed at during our trip. And the breakfasts were also the best...so sumptuous and yummy! Overall, we had a wonderful stay at The Oberoi. Thank you so much for making our honeymoon spectacular!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our Luxury Lanai Room (w. partial ocean view); it has a beautiful bathroom but it's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
20/8/14.

Dear Allison W,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and congratulations on your recent wedding.

We are honoured that you have chosen to stay at The Oberoi, Bali as part of your honeymoon itinerary. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your honeymoon and the service, accommodation, location and cuisine has been enjoyed by you. I am delighted that you enjoyed the breakfasts, dinner at our Kura Kura Restaurant and the Balinese Dancing performance with buffet. I am sorry to read that you found the whole Roast suckling pig was undercooked. It is normal to have some of the meat on the whole suckling pig to be on the pinkish side, especially closest to the bone.

We hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi Bali once again.

Very best,

John Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Seminyak Beach, Jalan Kayu Aya
Denpasar 80361, Bali, Indonesia
Email : John.Halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is excellent in terms of service, location and atmosphere. My wife and I stayed there recently on our honeymoon, we had an amazing time the staff were so friendly and made us feel really special on our Honeymoon. The food both at the pool bar and in the a la carte restaurant was perfect. The location of the hotel was great for bars and restaurants like Ku de Ta which is right next door.

Room Tip: Choose a villa over a room. You get your own private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
20/8/14.

Dear IanMcDo,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and congratulations on your recent wedding.

We are honoured that you have chosen to stay at The Oberoi, Bali as part of your honeymoon itinerary. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your honeymoon and the service, cuisine and locale has been enjoyed by you.

We hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi Bali once again.

Very best,

John Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Seminyak Beach, Jalan Kayu Aya
Denpasar 80361, Bali, Indonesia
Email : John.Halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Such a beautiful + charming hotel. The grounds, buildings and pool area were just paradise, and we loved being able to walk straight out onto the beach with those amazing waves.
Staff were hugely attentive, and although drinks and food were clearly going to be more expensive in such an awesome setting, it was thoroughly worth it. The food was also delicious, room was lovely. A great introduction to Bali!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
20/8/14.

Dear Mary C,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi, Bali once again,

Very best,

John Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Seminyak Beach, Jalan Kayu Aya
Denpasar 80361, Bali, Indonesia
Email : John.Halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights during a visit to Bali, and it was amazing. They provided everything we could want. The room was amazing. The hotel was convenient to going out in Seminyak, where there was a variety of great restaurants and shopping. The beach in front of the hotel was kept clean and the water was lovely for swimming. It was a very quiet stretch of beach as far as swimming was concerned, I expect because it is a large hotel and the people walking past didn't have a reason to stop at this particular beach. We walked along the beach past another hotel and that was busy as it was so close to a pub on the beach and a few tourist facilities.

The dinner and dancing were a treat for us.
The morning and afternoon tea, provided some nourishment when we were relaxing by the pool/beach.
The service was superb, and the shower before our late flight was a welcome relief after checking out of our room.

Room Tip: we stayed in a luxury villa, that had it's own little personal compound but did have a walk to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
20/8/14.

Dear rickelles,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed the accommodation, location and cuisine. I am happy that you appreciated the natural setting of the beachfront in front of The Oberoi in comparison with other nearby ocean facing resorts. All beaches in Indonesia are public property. Our "green Team" and Landscape crew do take pride and exert much effort to keep the area clean and look after the indigenous plants to protect the beach head and maintain a natural habitat. Indeed as you mention, many people passing by do not even know they are passing by The Oberoi.

We hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi Bali once again.

Very best,

John Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Seminyak Beach, Jalan Kayu Aya
Denpasar 80361, Bali, Indonesia
Email : John.Halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were not staying at the Oberoi, but wish we were, but I had booked dinner and dancing and it was a night to remember. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was a Buffett and it was spectacular, fresh prawns, lamb, suckling pig and a selection of Indonesian delights. The dancing was fascinating and we were seated right at the edge of the amphitheatre, perfect spot.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
20/8/14.

Dear africanladyScotland,

Thank you for visiting The Oberoi, Bali for the dinner with authentic Balinese dance performance.

Thank you as well for your posting on the TripAdvisor web site. I am delighted that you have enjoyed the service and cuisine and that the evening was a memorable experience for you.

We hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi, Bali once again.

Sincere regards,

John Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Seminyak Beach, Jalan Kayu Aya
Denpasar 80361, Bali, Indonesia
Email : John.Halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.