We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel by the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Bali to your Saves list
The Oberoi Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Starting at $350 pernight
Ranked #5 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel by the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you intend to stay in Seminyak, THERE IS NO BETTER HOTEL.

The Oberoi Bali is located on Seminyak beach, walking distance to Potato head and Kudeta. The staff were extremely well trained, and knew us by name for the time we spent there. There was a buggy that brought us from the lobby to our room anytime we wanted, 24/7.

The rooms were spacious and private. The hotel plot is HUGE, we hardly saw anyone during our stay except at the pool. Every inch of grass was perfectly trimmed and the landscaping was excellent. Its the destination hotel for kicking back and feeling relaxed.

The pool and sunbeds by the beach were attended by staff with HAWKLIKE vision and attentiveness, we were always asked if we needed mosquito sprays, water, towels, fruits.

I must stress that i have stayed in many other hotels in Bali, and MOSQUITOES are always a problem, but at this hotel i didn't get a single bit in 4 days. AMAZING.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Kelvin Tan84,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you have found The Oberoi suited your desire to relax .

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    117
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
138
623
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Located in the centre of Seminyak, Bali - right on the beach, The Oberoi hotel is still the best. When holidaying in tropical paradise you don't want to have to traverse corridors and lifts to get to the pool, beach, restaurant, etc as is the case with high rise hotels. All facilities at The Oberoi are on the ground. Set in magnificent gardens with water features, fish ponds, and everything that tropical gardens can provide. The friendly efficient staff will always make your stay memorable. Breakfast at the Frangipani cafe set beside the beach is a wonderful experience. We have stayed many times and we will be staying many times more hopefully.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
21/7/14

Dear Peter Alice 2014,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that garden setting, pool, service, ambience and food have been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

a safe heaven in seminyak, away from the chaotic street of kayu aya. oberoi is a solid, old style reserve for guests. unparallaled service and distinctive architecture (you can forget all those gigantic multi floor 5 star monsters). beautifull location, few step from kudeta and yet far enough to enjoy the precious value of silence. great cuisine, yes you'll pay some extra for all this beauty but it worth any single penny. and that pool, i love that pool and all the services they provide around the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Enrico,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

OMG the Oberoi is fantastic. Spent 6 nights in a beach front villa in June. The villa was perfect, with a view of the ocean and the beautiful gardens, plus our own private walled garden with a double sun bed, umbrella and plenty of pillows
But the best thing about the Oberoi has to be the staff. They are fantastic. As a same sex couple, we are always a bit apprehensive about how we will be received but this was simply not an issue. All the staff are friendly and so helpful and welcoming. This hotel must be doing something right as an employer to have such good staff who seem to like working there. I can see why guests keep coming back. Hopefully, we will return soon too.

Room Tip: Go for a villa with ocean view - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Cate C,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the staff made you fell welcomed and comfortable. Thank you for recognising the team of The Oberoi, Bali. We are very fortunate indeed to have such dedicated, sincere people working here.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Oberoi Bali is phenomenal. A total paradise. My wife and I stayed there for 5 nights and it was heavenly. My wife has a disability and the staff were so kind and gracious. The property is absolutely beautiful and the food superb. The view of the surf during the day and sunset at night was breathtaking. The massages at the spa was totally relaxing. You will not be disappointed staying here. We had a phenomenal time and if we are fortunate to be able to go back to Bali will not hesitate to return. Unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ian I,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed the cuisine and ambience here.

Thank you for staying with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Oberio Bali is very special for me. I first saw the Oberio Bali in 1976, on my first visit to Bali when I was a poor nursing student, wandering up the beach from Legion whilst staying in a family owned losman/pension.

I always hoped that one day, I might be able to afford to stay at the Oberio. We did this first in March 2011. The Oberoi Bali is very special for several reasons - traditional Balinese compound design and a most wonderful gardens. Dale my partner is a botanist at the Sydeny Royal Botanic Gardens and where ever we travel always visit local gardens and inspired by plants and garden design. The Oberio Bali gardens are inspiring and a delight to just move through.

The service at the Oberoi is exemplary and the staff are discrete, polite and always welcoming. The Oberoi is a refuge from the noise and masses in Seminyak (don't even mention Kuta). Being right on the beach is also special.

When in Bali (I think this was about my 10 trip) I always try and stay at special and significant hotels. In Ubud, I prefer to stay at the Hotel Tjampuhan, from the 1930's an artist's home again set in most beautiful gardens beside the Sungai Wos and Campuan Rivers. Room numbers are small, so the feel is very individualised and personal.

In Sanur, we like to stay at Tandjung Sari, again traditional Balinese villas, set in gardens again dating back to the early 1960s. The furniture is again traditional.

Each time in Bali, I like to engage a driver and make a trip into the countryside/padi fields and mountains to see the villagers and breathe in the stunning scenery. This time we took the central mountain drive to Bedugal, Lake Bratan and the Botanic Gardens. Again, a stunning day with a great tour guide.

My only suggestion would be include more cultural experiences on site for the hotel guests. I would like to participate in Balinese cooking courses -I did the course at Casa Luna, Ubud many years ago and it introduced me to the connection between culture and food, the significance of rice and vegetables. Maybe also batik demonstrations, etc.

Again, I must iterate that the Oberio Bali is like a "home" when visiting Bali. We could ask for nothing more.

My partner and I love to travel and value staying in accommodation that is traditional, respectful and supports the local community and culture, showcases the local arts and crafts, is aware of the local ecology and environment and of high quality. I believe the Oberoi Bali achieves all these objectives and one that you and your staff should be very proud. Thank you for making our stay so special (again) and we look forward to our next visit (to our home in Bali).

Regards Greg and Dale
Sydney Australia

Room Tip: All rooms are individual villas, very private set in tropical gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Greg R,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the location, food and beverage, and service delivery from our warm Balinese staff has been enjoyed by you.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali once again.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We decided to stay at The Oberoi Bali for 2 nights after reading extensive reviews on good it was. The price was quite high in view that in Seminyak, you can rent a Villa for about the same what a Lanai room costs at The Oberoi. We were however pleasantly surprised as the Lanai room at The Oberoi is somewhat like a Villa with its own private outdoor terrace and the bathroom came with a lovely sunken bath and lovely bath amenities. We were upgraded to a Lanai room overlooking the beach and it was beautiful.
What sets The Oberoi apart from other places at Seminyak that we had stayed in is their level of personalized service. All the staff were delightful and go out of the way to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast was superb - the choices extensive and all the food were delicious. Finally, you can't beat this location. Right in the middle of shopping, entertainment and on the beach. I will say it was worth every penny! Thank you, The Oberoi Bali.

Room Tip: The Lanai room overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jhornsby,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay here.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali once again.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.