We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Indulgence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Save Saved
You added The Oberoi Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Starting at $350 pernight
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Seminyak
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Pure Indulgence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have just had the best experience in Bali. Staying at the Oberoi was one of the most enjoyable and relaxing times that we have ever had. We had great weather, the staff were excellent and so obliguing. The food was great, cocktails were great....everything great. You know you've had a good time when you absolutely dread leaving. We are already thinking of how/when we can get back..........:)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Catherine P,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    111
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
125
586
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights at the Oberoi Bali and had the best time ever! The hotel is located in a big parc and directly on the beach and still it is in the middle of Seminyak. We enjoyed every thing. The room was spacious and although it is not brand new, it is very well kept.
The food was delicious, and during the whole day, their were small attentions. The service is perfect and everyone is well trained, polite, smiling and always with a personal touch.
The six days went by like 6 seconds and we had a perfect time.
If we had to find one potential improvement, I could say that the acoustic isolation between the rooms is not the perfect as the rooms are connected by a door.
If you like quietness and although being very central, this is the perfect place to stay. It is also important to know that although it is a 5* hotel, it is very relaxed and easy-going.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear JulienCH,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We note your comment regarding the soundproofing in our connecting rooms. Your feedback is seriously considered, to help improving the overall experience.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed every moment at this resort. I research carefully and this resort lived up to all expectations. Nothing not to like. The staff are exceptional, from airport pick up to departure we enjoyed every moment. Will return! Stayed garden villa near pool, good position.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Kgeorgie,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

A beautiful, tranquil haven of a hotel. We had a wonderful week in Bali and staying at the Oberoi was a treat. After exploring the beautiful island, it was a pleasure to come back to the serenity of The Oberoi. The rooms are immaculate and large. The staff are some of the best we have ever come across. They were attentive without being pushy and most of them remembered our names. Every meal we had was delicious. We were a little disappointed with the beach at Seminyak and have marked the hotel down on this as it was not very appealing to sit on the beach as it was quite dirty. Although all the beaches in Bali are public, we felt that more could have been done to keep it clean in front of the hotel with some nice beds.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear nollo,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry that the beach was not up to your expectation. While keeping in mind that Seminyak beach is public beach, we have tried our best to educate people walking on the beach by providing rubbish baskets and signs. Thank you for highlighting this for me.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

From the moment you arrive at the Oberoi it is perfection.

Greeted with a beautiful jasmine lei and a cocktail and escorted to your villa by the charming staff you instantly feel at home.

From the stunning ornate and airy rooms to the exquisite breakfast and the peaceful pool the oberoi experience would be hard to match.

Ten out of ten.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Sammie C,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Excellent Balinese setting. Staff were friendly and often helpful. Rooms were clean and most inviting. The daily exotic fruit selection was a definite bonus.
A buffet breakfast option would definitely have been preferred, but this was not offered and was a little disappointing. On the first day I ordered the Indonesian breakfast which was probably the best noodle I ever tasted, but on the second day when I ordered the same breakfast, I was extremely disappointed as the noodles were dry and had a strong stale prawn smell and was not palatable. The egg was crusty and this put me off.

The beach seemed to have an algae problem and due to the strong current we were not able to swim on any of the 5 days that we stayed. Even though this is not really the fault of the hotel, there were dogs all over the beach and owners who refused to pick up after their dogs which we found disgusting.

Dinner was lovely and again credit goes to the staff. More Indonesian dishes would have been preferred though.

The spa treatments were excellent, but the facilities were quiet disappointing with the absence of a jacuzzi, plunge pool and steam room. A definite need for these facilities in a top notch hotel.

An overall enjoyable stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Nirvana111,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali detailing your experience here. I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay at The Oberoi, Bali.

I am sorry that your were disappointed by the lack of a buffet breakfast. In this tropical climate and outdoor dining venue, it would be difficult and dangerous to serve items exposed to open air from the hours of 7-11 each day. This is the reason why breakfast is al a carte. I am truly apologetic to know that the noodles (Bakmi Goreng) you ordered on the second day were not as good as you had encountered the day before. I will share your feedback and investigate this with our Executive Chef and culinary team. I thank you for bringing this to our attention and assure you that remedial training will be conducted to avoid any such occurrence from being repeated.

I am also sorry that the waves were quite strong during your stay, and that there were times when algae bloom had oocurred. This natural phenomenon occurs when ocean currents shift and sea temperatures change. All beaches in Indonesia are public venues. The Oberoi employs a full time clean up crew at the beach in front of our resort and we have placed rubbish bins and educational signage in English and Bahasa Indoensia requesting dog owners to pick up after their pets. The Oberoi, Bali is also very active in our own in-house turtle conservation programme. Olive Ridley sea turtles lay their eggs all along the beachfront here between the months of mMay and October. So far this year we've had over 1000 eggs from 9 clutches. I assure you that The Oberoi, Bali is at the forefront of educating and maintaining the beach to the very best of our ability.

I note your kind suggestion to have more Indonesian dishes in our menus, as well as providing a Jacuzzi, plunge room and steam room in our Spa area. Your feedback and suggestions are highly appreciated. All guest feedback is seriously considered to shape the services and facilities we offer, while helping to improve the overall experience.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With kind regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

It was our first time in Bali so my partner and I thought that we should splurge a little. Staying at The Oberoi was definitely the best decision we've made in this trip. If the natural, unpretentious hotel is what you would prefer then this one is a safe bet. Villas were surrounded by a beautifully landscaped garden with a path that leads you to a spa, an Indonesian open amphitheater, the pool, two restaurants (one fine dining) and the beach.

Their rooms were very comfortable, Balinese inspired. It was refreshed twice a day. Bathrooms are clean and spacious with a generous selection of toiletries you wouldn't usually see in other hotels. They had a separate tub and shower, his and hers sinks. They also had a good selection of complimentary tea and coffee, TWG for tea and different kinds of Indonesian coffee. These were replenished everyday.

Food was quite pricey, but what good hotel does not overcharge, no? Definitely worth it though because they had a wide selection of food and drinks and they were all very tasty. I actually asked for a cake to be waiting in our room as we arrived as it was my partner's birthday. They provided a gorgeous chocolate cake and a beautiful Balinese flower wreath free of charge.

There was a generous amount of sun beds by the pool where only a stone's throw away was the Seminyak beach. The hotel provided daily activities and shows for adults and children. We went during a non-peak season so this was probably not the best time to spend by the ocean. The waves looked unmerciful. I've had my fair share of beautiful white beaches. Although this was not the best I've seen, I would feel a bit guilty to say anything negative in this review for the great service this hotel has provided.

The service was definitely where you would feel all your money went to. It felt like a home away from home. This I should say was the most notable part of the experience. Their staff from front desk, to kitchen to gardeners were very warm. We found out later that this is a common trait of Balinese people. Bali is a beautiful island and the best way to spend it is pick a good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool would be better as you would find that the garden villas will be quite a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear IsabelleGee,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali detailing your experience when staying with us.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the beach waves were quite strong during your stay.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

With warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.