We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Bali to your Saves list
The Oberoi Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Starting at $350 pernight
Ranked #5 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Oberoi is absolutely wonderful. It was the original Luxury hotel in Seminyak, so it is older but that is half the charm as its set on acres of beachfront land and the villas and lanais are all one level. It is so old world that the moment you get there you are relaxed. The rooms are spacious and modern with. the g best beds and pillows.

They have a shuttle service to Legian several times a day but really you hardly need to leave the hotel. The breakfast is al'carte which is a nice change from the usual Buffett. We had room service one night so we could stay and watch the tennis finals and it was delicious and very reasonable

The service around the pool is great, they put a towel over the hot cover on the sunbed then tuck it all in, place your beach towel at end of sunbed then give you a tray with cold towels cold water bottles, suncream, and water spray . They come around the pool with fresh fruit on a stick and ice cream . There is an afternoon tea every day and lots of other entertainment going all the time.

The staff are truly. Amazing , typical of Oberoi staff, so friendly , always a smile and hello and nothing ever to much trouble for them

We loved it.

Room Tip: 233 would be nice to stay in as still private but has ocean view from verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our in-house cuisine at breakfast and room servcie. Thank you for mentioning the staff as they are indeed the heart and soul of this lovely historic beachfront resort.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    117
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
139
624
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here in mid January and did so reluctantly as I knew this was one of the older resorts, however any sign of age was made up by the superb commitment in every aspect from every staff member to go out of their way to ensure nothing was a problem, I travel quite extensively several times a year and i was genuinely surprised and impressed by the level of service, I hope this is passed on to the staff. Between our Party we booked for 5 nights an Ocean View Villa with pool and as well a Garden Villa with pool and 2 Garden Lenai's .The private pools were large in contrast to other places I have been to with private pools, the outside cabana was large and the whole compound has high walls that ensures total privacy. the room was large and very comfortable, the smaller Lenai rooms were also very comfortable. We ate in the main restaurant several times during our stay and found the food very good and the menu extensive, and it goes without saying that the service was excellent. The beach outside the resort is the best in the area, and is often patrolled by security to keep hawkers away, it is also the cleanest, when we walked along the beach we walked past several other 5 star resorts and noticed how dirty the beach was in front of them also the large amount of erosion, I guess the advantage of the Oberoi being older is that it is established with extensive landscaping. i'm trying to find something negative to say and I must admit i'm struggling, perhaps it would be that we were so comfortable there that we didn't venture out as much as we should have.

Room Tip: if you are a couple and willing to pay the extra money the Pool Villas are definitely an option you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you found the services, environment, style, and setting of The Oberoi, Bali met with your expectations. I truly appreciate your recognition of the staff who are the heart and soul of this historic beachfront resort.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Oberoi not knowing what to expect, except that it had a really good reputation. Our 3 day stay in the Lenai garden room surpassed all expectations. The standout factor that makes the oberoi worth it aside from its luxurious surroundings is the commitment to deliver outstanding service by all the staff. We were always greeted with a smile wherever we went.
From the minute we got outside the airport to when we checked out and left we received truly personalized and warm service.

The room was amazing, with a very comfortable bed and magnificent bathroom with a sunken tub. It really was all the little touches that made all the difference such as free refreshments by the pool, complementary afternoon tea, musical and dance programs, room serviced twice a day and attentive service. There really was no excuse to leave the resort.

If you are looking for a relaxing seaside resort, you can't go past the Oberoi. It has a true Balinese feel, centrally located and excellent food! We loved it and will definitely be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you found the services, environment, style, and setting of The Oberoi, Bali met with your expectations. I truly appreciate your recognition of the staff who are the heart and soul of this historic beachfront resort.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our overall experience at Oberoi was very satisfying. The service was good at the check in and out it was good by the pool and at the breakfast. But when we got our breakfast in room it was all wrong. Something confused them I guess, so they just decided to double on everything meanwhile I did not even order any eggs and I hate to see waisted food. They had thought through all the possible little things u might need during your stay tho from poolside flip flops to bug spray to spf face lotion to an in-room teapot to a Bose speakers...etc. We had a standard room with a garden view. It was spotless charming but also a bit dated. Here is the thing with Oberoi it's right on the beach it is in a perfect location with a great service, but older grounds. The hotel territory is huge, but it needs to be renovated. When you are laying out by the dated pool that clearly is in need of a makeover you do not feel like you are in the 5 star resort. I would recommend it, but no for someone who is looking for a luxury stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Helen34438,

Thank you for your review from your perspective on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed level of service delivered in most areas of the resort. I do regret there seemed to be some confusion with your room service breakfast order one day. I will look into this area and try to find out what happened. The majority of feedback in this are is quite positive so I do apologise about this isolated incident.

The Oberoi, Bali is set upon 6 hectares of beachfront land. The property is historic. There are certainly many newer hotels on the island. The Oberoi, Bali remains a fine example of Balinese architecture and one of our goals is to preserve the historical and cultural integrity of the property, and continue to deliver five star service, accommodation, cuisine, and an authentic Balinese experience. Your comments and suggestions will help us move closer towards this goal. I regret that in your opinion the experience wasn't luxurious enough.

Thank you again for sharing your views and opinions on your experience.

Regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Oberoi is a grand hotel set on a beautiful property. The pool are resembles a temple pool and is lovely. If you have young children though, the pool is quite deep, and there is no wading area that children can play. The beach in front is fantastic and has great surf making body boarding easy even fro younger children. The rooms seemed a little dated for the price, but clearly at one point were lovely. they are very private, with most rooms having a private lanai.

Room Tip: The resort is very spread out, so try to get a room closer to the pool area if you do not like to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed the Balinese style of the resort and our beachfront location. Upgrades at The Oberoi, Bali occur regularly, and always with a mindful eye to the historic integrity of the property and the rich culture of Bali.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you and your family to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Oberoi Bali is clearly a very superior Hotel with well maintained beautiful surrounds and lovely well appointed rooms. we stayed 6 nights in a private villa with a large pool. It was very private with high walls and lovely outdoor and indoor areas. Service was constant, but if you wanted privacy and left the sign on the gate, then no-one bothered you.

The main pool is large enough given the limited rooms in the place and the beach is clean and patrolled. Water was clear and waves were big enough.

We had breakfast included in our deal, and we ate at the restaurant each morning, either outside or inside depending on the weather. Good food choices, good service and beautiful surroundings.

Lots of wildlife with large lizards, we had one living in our roof, small squirrels and many birds. All added to the experience.

Hotel is close, 5 minute walk to some very good restaurants and bars, and lots of shopping opportunities. Be careful of money changers, as we got ripped off twice, and I thought I was very being very careful!

In summary, Oberoi is a great place to stay and so it should be, as it is very expensive. We had one dinner, and it was wonderful cuisine, but spoiled by the cost of wine. We had the same wine at Kunis in Seminyak at $48, and exactly same vintage was $117 at Oberoi. So live it up at the Hotel, but eat elsewhere, at Kunis, Kaisan, Ultimo, Trattoria, all good and ok prices.

Room Tip: Bougainvillea Villa number 204 was a lovely room, with a large pool, friendly lizard in the roof and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed the style, atmosphere, ambience and service at of The Oberoi, Bali. I am also glad to know you appreciated the array of wildlife that we are fortunate enough to share 6 hectares of beachfront gardens with here. As more projects have spring up here in Seminyak, The Oberoi has turned into an oasis for Bali's displaced wildlife (as well as you, our guests) seeking respite from the busy life of cosmopolitan Seminyak and Petitenget.

Wine prices in Indonesia are indeed steep as the government controlled beverage industry is subject to exorbitant taxation. Our prices are published inclusive of 21% tax and service charge as mandated by the government. Prices at local restaurants are not subject to include service charge nor do they display prices inclusive of tax and service. We regularly conduct surveys to compare pour food and beverage prices with other hotels and restaurants here in Bali and I can confirm our prices are on a par with similar rated hotels on the island.

Once again thank you for sharing your valuable TripAdvisor review and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Oberoi Bali Seminyak is situated on the beach with beautiful gardens and private accommodation. A lovely place to stay for relaxing either for a holiday or a business trip. Staff offer friendly and helpful service. Nothing is too much trouble!!
The best location in Seminyak.

Room Tip: Rooms are all well positioned for privacy. Some rooms are a long way from pool and amenities. Need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that the services, landscape, setting, and style of The Oberoi, Bali has met with your expectations.

The six hectares of beachfront gardens which The Oberoi setting commands does offer an array of rooms, immersed within the gardens or closer to the pool and restaurants. It is truly a matter of personal preference. We have guests from all over the world. Some prefer to be closer to the main swimming pool, restaurant and lobby, while others prefer to be situated away from these venues.

Wine prices in Indonesia are indeed steep as the government controlled beverage industry is subject to exorbitant taxation. We try our best to work within these high tariffs to have a nice balanced selection of wines from around the world. Regular surveys are conducted to make sure that our prices are in line with other hotels here in Bali.


Once again thank you for sharing your valuable Trip Advisor comment and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.