We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Save Saved
You added The Oberoi Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Starting at $350 pernight
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Seminyak
1 review
“Luxury with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Oberoi not knowing what to expect, except that it had a really good reputation. Our 3 day stay in the Lenai garden room surpassed all expectations. The standout factor that makes the oberoi worth it aside from its luxurious surroundings is the commitment to deliver outstanding service by all the staff. We were always greeted with a smile wherever we went.
From the minute we got outside the airport to when we checked out and left we received truly personalized and warm service.

The room was amazing, with a very comfortable bed and magnificent bathroom with a sunken tub. It really was all the little touches that made all the difference such as free refreshments by the pool, complementary afternoon tea, musical and dance programs, room serviced twice a day and attentive service. There really was no excuse to leave the resort.

If you are looking for a relaxing seaside resort, you can't go past the Oberoi. It has a true Balinese feel, centrally located and excellent food! We loved it and will definitely be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you found the services, environment, style, and setting of The Oberoi, Bali met with your expectations. I truly appreciate your recognition of the staff who are the heart and soul of this historic beachfront resort.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    695
    107
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
111
558
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our overall experience at Oberoi was very satisfying. The service was good at the check in and out it was good by the pool and at the breakfast. But when we got our breakfast in room it was all wrong. Something confused them I guess, so they just decided to double on everything meanwhile I did not even order any eggs and I hate to see waisted food. They had thought through all the possible little things u might need during your stay tho from poolside flip flops to bug spray to spf face lotion to an in-room teapot to a Bose speakers...etc. We had a standard room with a garden view. It was spotless charming but also a bit dated. Here is the thing with Oberoi it's right on the beach it is in a perfect location with a great service, but older grounds. The hotel territory is huge, but it needs to be renovated. When you are laying out by the dated pool that clearly is in need of a makeover you do not feel like you are in the 5 star resort. I would recommend it, but no for someone who is looking for a luxury stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Helen34438,

Thank you for your review from your perspective on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed level of service delivered in most areas of the resort. I do regret there seemed to be some confusion with your room service breakfast order one day. I will look into this area and try to find out what happened. The majority of feedback in this are is quite positive so I do apologise about this isolated incident.

The Oberoi, Bali is set upon 6 hectares of beachfront land. The property is historic. There are certainly many newer hotels on the island. The Oberoi, Bali remains a fine example of Balinese architecture and one of our goals is to preserve the historical and cultural integrity of the property, and continue to deliver five star service, accommodation, cuisine, and an authentic Balinese experience. Your comments and suggestions will help us move closer towards this goal. I regret that in your opinion the experience wasn't luxurious enough.

Thank you again for sharing your views and opinions on your experience.

Regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Oberoi is a grand hotel set on a beautiful property. The pool are resembles a temple pool and is lovely. If you have young children though, the pool is quite deep, and there is no wading area that children can play. The beach in front is fantastic and has great surf making body boarding easy even fro younger children. The rooms seemed a little dated for the price, but clearly at one point were lovely. they are very private, with most rooms having a private lanai.

Room Tip: The resort is very spread out, so try to get a room closer to the pool area if you do not like to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed the Balinese style of the resort and our beachfront location. Upgrades at The Oberoi, Bali occur regularly, and always with a mindful eye to the historic integrity of the property and the rich culture of Bali.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you and your family to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Oberoi Bali is clearly a very superior Hotel with well maintained beautiful surrounds and lovely well appointed rooms. we stayed 6 nights in a private villa with a large pool. It was very private with high walls and lovely outdoor and indoor areas. Service was constant, but if you wanted privacy and left the sign on the gate, then no-one bothered you.

The main pool is large enough given the limited rooms in the place and the beach is clean and patrolled. Water was clear and waves were big enough.

We had breakfast included in our deal, and we ate at the restaurant each morning, either outside or inside depending on the weather. Good food choices, good service and beautiful surroundings.

Lots of wildlife with large lizards, we had one living in our roof, small squirrels and many birds. All added to the experience.

Hotel is close, 5 minute walk to some very good restaurants and bars, and lots of shopping opportunities. Be careful of money changers, as we got ripped off twice, and I thought I was very being very careful!

In summary, Oberoi is a great place to stay and so it should be, as it is very expensive. We had one dinner, and it was wonderful cuisine, but spoiled by the cost of wine. We had the same wine at Kunis in Seminyak at $48, and exactly same vintage was $117 at Oberoi. So live it up at the Hotel, but eat elsewhere, at Kunis, Kaisan, Ultimo, Trattoria, all good and ok prices.

Room Tip: Bougainvillea Villa number 204 was a lovely room, with a large pool, friendly lizard in the roof and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed the style, atmosphere, ambience and service at of The Oberoi, Bali. I am also glad to know you appreciated the array of wildlife that we are fortunate enough to share 6 hectares of beachfront gardens with here. As more projects have spring up here in Seminyak, The Oberoi has turned into an oasis for Bali's displaced wildlife (as well as you, our guests) seeking respite from the busy life of cosmopolitan Seminyak and Petitenget.

Wine prices in Indonesia are indeed steep as the government controlled beverage industry is subject to exorbitant taxation. Our prices are published inclusive of 21% tax and service charge as mandated by the government. Prices at local restaurants are not subject to include service charge nor do they display prices inclusive of tax and service. We regularly conduct surveys to compare pour food and beverage prices with other hotels and restaurants here in Bali and I can confirm our prices are on a par with similar rated hotels on the island.

Once again thank you for sharing your valuable TripAdvisor review and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Oberoi Bali Seminyak is situated on the beach with beautiful gardens and private accommodation. A lovely place to stay for relaxing either for a holiday or a business trip. Staff offer friendly and helpful service. Nothing is too much trouble!!
The best location in Seminyak.

Room Tip: Rooms are all well positioned for privacy. Some rooms are a long way from pool and amenities. Need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that the services, landscape, setting, and style of The Oberoi, Bali has met with your expectations.

The six hectares of beachfront gardens which The Oberoi setting commands does offer an array of rooms, immersed within the gardens or closer to the pool and restaurants. It is truly a matter of personal preference. We have guests from all over the world. Some prefer to be closer to the main swimming pool, restaurant and lobby, while others prefer to be situated away from these venues.

Wine prices in Indonesia are indeed steep as the government controlled beverage industry is subject to exorbitant taxation. We try our best to work within these high tariffs to have a nice balanced selection of wines from around the world. Regular surveys are conducted to make sure that our prices are in line with other hotels here in Bali.


Once again thank you for sharing your valuable Trip Advisor comment and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at the Oberoi for three days and loved it. We had a really great experience with the staff who were all very helpful and smiling (even the garders smiled as we walked past(!)). The rooms are spacious and en suite to large beautifully laid out bathrooms.

We stayed in the pool villa and loved our privacy, but best of all was the spa - it is one of the best massages I have ever had and I came back for more a few times.

It is not a brand new hip hotel, but you feel it's well maintained and comes with many years of experience in service. Of course you're paying to stay in a place like this, but it's one of those places that when you receive the bill you feel it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that the services, landscape, setting, style, and massage treatments at The Oberoi, Bali have met with your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you and your family to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised upon checking in to the Oberoi in Seminyak. Tranquility in the mist of heat, crowds and urban noise. Prompt attention upon arrival, luggage attended efficiently, greeted with Balinese hospitality. Beautiful location, easy access to shopping, beach, restaurants. Daily free shuttle to various downtown areas. Good pool, afternoon tea, gym. Breakfast on terrace very pleasant, opt for room service and you won't be disappointed. Great staff, comfortable room with ocean view, overall, we would return to resort or other Oberoi properties.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view and close to pool so you won't have to walk so far if you forget something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were "pleasantly surprised". I am pleased to know that the location, style, services, and Balinese hospitality at The Oberoi, Bali have met with your expectations.

I am please to read that the team have not disappointed you. Please do let me know when you are planning to visit any of our other properties. I would be delighted to connect you to any of our other properties when you are planning your trip.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you and your family to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#7 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.