We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Save Saved
You added The Oberoi Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Starting at $350 pernight
Ranked #4 of 94 hotels in Seminyak
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here back in the 80s when the place was surrounded by rice fields. It was beautiful then and it's beautiful now even if surrounded by the general ugliness of Legion these days.

Super comfortable, wonderful service and just my favourite place for breakfast sitting up there on the terrace watching the early morning waves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent revisit to The Oberoi, Bali.

We are delighted to know that it as you remember even though the landscape of Bali has changed over the years. We are also happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered.

We thank you for having stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.

With kind regards,
John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    108
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
115
568
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My Partner and I spent 10 days at Oberoi for New Years. The place is magnificent. Grounds are impeccable, people are super warm and friendly, our 'room' was just heavenly. Had our own little pool and ocean view.

They put on special events (e.g. Balinese dancing) and have morning yoga. If you're going to sta in the Seminyak area, I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: room with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you found the services, environment, style, and setting of The Oberoi, Bali have met with your expectations. I am happy to note that you enjoyed the activities available as well.

Thank you for staying with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family went to have lunch and take a look around the Oberoi to consider staying there on our next trip to Bali. The Security guard at the beach entrance made up our minds for us that we would not stay there. Hotel staff should be aware that first impressions are very important. She was very rude and did not want to allow us in. We were also dressed well.
We did have lunch which was very expensive - same prices at home in Australia ! Lunch was nice but here again, the staff thought themselves very superior.
Looks like we will book our two weeks again at the Bali Hyatt Sanur - stay there and you will love it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Thingamybob,

Thank you for your perspective view about your recent experience when visiting for lunch at The Oberoi, Bali. I was pleased to know that you had a nice lunch. I regret that you were made to feel unwelcome when trying to enter the resort from the beach without a reservation. You may have noticed signage on the beach side which says "Private Entrance, Residents Only". The only public entrance to The Oberoi, Bali is from the main entrance gate at the main road on Jalan Kayu Aya. For your kind information, and for the sake of TripAdvisor readers, restaurant and accommodation prices at The Oberoi, Bali are on par with hotels in the same category on the island of Bali.

The security, safety, and privacy of our guests is paramount. Access to and from the beach is exclusively reserved for guests who are residents at the resort. Please accept our sincere apologies that this policy was not clearly communicated to you by our security team when you were entering form the beach.

I consistently receive feedback about the staff with comments that they are extremely polite, professional, and accommodating. I regret that you were made to feel otherwise.

I would welcome you to return. You may contact me personally to assist with a reservation and arrangements should you be able to re-visit The Oberoi, Bali.

Sincerely,

John Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Seminyak Beach, Jalan Kayu Aya
Denpasar 80361, Bali, Indonesia
Phone : +62 361 730361 Ext. 850
Fax : +62 361 730954
Email : John.Halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This property is very special, you truly leave your worries on the doorstep and relax from the moment you arrive. It has maintained it's Balinese old world charm with the focus being on service. We were shown to a beautiful spacious room, no. 291, with a huge bed. The room is like a little garden bungalow or Lanai, and is designed in such a way that you cannot see your neighbours and you feel you are in your own private garden. The marble bathroom is gorgeous, with a glass wall revealing a tropical garden which brings the outdoors in. I took several long bubble baths reading a book in the huge bath (which is like a mini swimming pool) while leaning back on the bath pillow which was provided. Further nice touches included a daily newspaper, a room service breakfast menu that was rolled up in a container to hang outside your door and a little card telling you what tomorrow's weather will be. I did some washing and came back to my room to find it had all be placed on a drying rack on my verandah. The pool is in a great situation, overlooking the beach, with really comfortable lounge chairs and attentive service. The chairs are made up individually each day with fresh towels and a tray with cold water, refreshing wet face towels, sunblock and face spray provided. Breakfast is served in the garden restaurant and is made to order and served to you. It was delicious and plentiful, without seeing the huge amount of waste that normally occurs with those huge buffets at other hotels. Another nice touch is the complimentary daily afternoon tea served by the pool which allows you to sample some traditional sweets and cakes.The gardens are also beautiful, and as you walk around the property all the staff say hello with a smile and a traditional Balinese hand gesture. From the onset, the staff know you by name, and the manager can be seen walking round the hotel each day asking guests how they are enjoying their stay. If you want a stay in smaller, more personalised hotel, which is luxurious, while still keeping with Balinese tradition with wonderful service then this is the hotel for you. I booked in for 5 nights and my stay comes to an end tomorrow. I will be truly sorry to leave, but I know I will be back. (Karen, Sydney).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you found the services, environment, style, and setting of The Oberoi, Bali met with your expectations. I truly appreciate your recognition of the staff who are the heart and soul of this historic beachfront resort.

We would like to thank you for having stayed with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

Sincerely yours,

John Halpin
General Manager
The Oberoi, Bali
Seminyak Beach, Jalan Kayu Aya
Denpasar 80361, Bali, Indonesia
Phone : +62 361 730361 Ext. 850
Fax : +62 361 730954
Email : John.Halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We came here to celebrate our third year as a couple. We usually don't splurge but when it's time to we do. This was one of those times, glad we came, the staff was great, always there, the villa we had was awesome, dreamy, perfect and sexy/romantic, was nice to rekindle the fire while basking in luxury and enjoying epic surf.

Can't wait to come back, looking for a special, hope to find one next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff made you feel well taken care of. I am pleased to know that you found the our friendly Balinese staff, setting and style of the resort has met with your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us, and look forward to again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I had ( prior to booking and since) read a number of reviews of The Oberoi.
Can I say that nothing I read came close to describing the quality and professionalism demonstrated by all members of the staff every day.
From. The airport pickup (part of the "unforgettable experience package ) through to check out The Oberoi was truly 5 star.
The attention to detail both in the facility itself but more importantly by the staff is unrivaled.
When we arrived prior to the official time we were still escorted to our rooms (our son travelled with us) and the staff member spent quite some time explaining the feature of the room,how the lights worked etc - a very nice touch.
After unpacking we ventured to the pool area only to be greeted by an attendant who undertook a space for us both away from the smokers!
Here as in every other location within the hotel attention to detail and exceptional customer service were paramount - nothing was too much trouble and if you chose to you would never have to lift a finger as your every need, including cold water and sunscreen, are anticipated by staff.
A special treat is the cleaning of your glasses when sitting by the pool.
Breakfast is comprehensive and delicious however it might be a good idea to explain that you are able to order from the complete menu.

The room itself was delightful and there was more than enough room for both of us.
The delivery of both an Indonesian newspaper (The Jakarta Post) and a photocopied summary of our australian newspaper was a nice touch as was the choice of fruit offered each day.

Afternoon tea,with entertainment, is held every afternoon.
Can I suggest here some savory offerings?

We are coming back to Bali in February 2013 and hope to spend our 8 days with you at The Oberoi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the service from the team has met with you expectations. I am delighted that you enjoyed breakfasts served seaside at our Frangipani café and also thank you for your suggestion to explain that breakfast can be ordered from the complete menu. I will share your suggestion with our chef to offer some savoury options at afternoon tea as well.

Thank you for staying with us, and look forward to the opportunity of one day again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great service, perfect location, old school charm but note the bottled water is excessively expensive which is a shame as it causes people to look elsewhere to eat or drink

Surprisingly good pizza, well appointed and classic rooms although small

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review about your recent stay at The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed all of the services, environment, style, and setting of The Oberoi, Bali. I truly appreciate your recognition of the service delivery from our staff who are the heart and soul of this historic beachfront resort.

Thank you for your feedback regarding bottled water prices; I would like to clarify for the sake of TripAdvisor readers that complimentary mineral water is served poolside, at restaurants, and is available in all the rooms. Imported brands such as San Pellegrino and Evian incur high tariffs from Indonesian Customs and Duty tax and therefore are priced high. All Food and Beverage prices here are displayed including 11% government taxes and 10% service charge. At a glance this does raise eyebrows, however we have found that many guests unfamiliar with Bali appreciate the all-inclusive pricing along with The Oberoi’s No Tipping policy.

Thank you for staying with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.