We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Save Saved
You added The Oberoi Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Starting at $350 pernight
Ranked #4 of 94 hotels in Seminyak
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My new husband and I stayed at The Oberoi for 10 nights as part of our honeymoon. We were blown away by The Oberoi, its setting and the staff. The hotel was immaculate and the staff tended to your every need and always greeted you with a smile. Our room was beyond our expectations with a spacious room and seating area, our own front and rear terrace complete with gazebo and sunbeds and the bathroom was gorgeous with a fantastic sunken bath. On arrival we received a Congratulations cake and personalised card from the Manager, what lovely little touches to make you feel special!

The Kura Kura restaurant and Frangipani café in the hotel served fantastic food but we did also enjoy eating out. Within a short 5/10 minute walk there was the brilliant Café Bali and The Junction which served typical Balinese food as well as well known home comforts! The Oberoi served afternoon tea every day in the Amphitheatre, we enjoyed gorgeous homemade cakes whilst enjoying the Balinese entertainment the hotel put on.

The Oberoi is complete luxury and I would go back at the drop of a hat!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor after your honeymoon visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay. I am extremely privileged to work with such a wonderful team of people here in Bali. I am happy to note that they looked after you well and left you with fond memories.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the cuisine in Kura-Kura and Frangipani Cafe as well as the afternoon tea and Activities at our Amphitheatre each day.

Thank you for staying with us, and look forward to the opportunity of one day welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    108
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
115
568
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Oberoi for 4 nights in November and it exceded our expectations in every way.The attention to detail was exceptional. From the gardeners meticulously managing the beautiful gardens to the house keepers putting the finishing touches in the rooms were magnificent. Everybody always greated you with a warm smile and even remembered your name!
The rooms were large enough with a great shower and high quality soaps, and the air-conditioner worked very well; which was required.
The restaurant and bar were superb; overlooking the ocean with exceptional service.
The beach was very warm to swim in with life guards present - as the surf was quite rough at times. However, the pool was very large and inviting to swim in. The service at the pool was exceptional with the free iced water, snacks, sunscreen and towel service. Nothing was missed.

The spa is a must! The service and standards were exceptional with a great variety of treatments.
Overall attention to detail was superb. If you are looking for quality then the Oberoi is the place.
We will return!

Room Tip: For privacy and good access to the beach, room 246 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review about your recent stay at The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed all of the services, environment, style, and setting of The Oberoi, Bali. I truly appreciate your recognition of the service delivery from our staff who are the heart and soul of this historic beachfront resort.

Thank you for staying with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was the last of the three hotels we stayed in during our trip to Bali (others being Maya Ubud and Tembok Rai Spa Resort) and it was the best one - the room we were in (half a villa) was gorgeous and the bathroom even more amazing - it was nearly the size of the bedroom with a bath and shower which opened up into the garden (enclosed for privacy!) as well as two sinks as well.

Every morning we were given a 4 page summary of British news to read outside our door and fruit every afternoon - we could choose which fruit to have and there was such a mix of interesting local and tropical fruits. Although a la carte, we were able to mix and match choices in the extensive breakfast menu (which we were not able to do in Tembok) and there was a variety of vegetarian dishes for room service as well as in the restaurants. One evening we ordered pizza for room service and were amazed at the quality and also the price (considering the hotel). In addition on the morning we had to check out we had breakfast delivered to our room early and it was the exact order we asked for, made perfectly.

The swimming pool was not an infinity pool but still nice enough and sunblock was provided to guests which was a good touch. One thing that really touched me was that all the staff knew us by name and addressed us by this whenever we met or walked past. Like the Maya Ubud, there was afternoon tea every day at 4pm with interesting cakes and local sweet dishes being served.

Overall the best hotel to end our trip to Bali and if we were to come again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that you found the quality of our food, warm and friendly Balinese staff, setting and style of the resort has met with your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us, and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel oozes charm elegance. We enjoyed a beautiful tasting and presented meal. Generous servings and complimentary tasting topped the night. Wine was expensive but probably no more than we would pay for a restaurant in Australia. Staff were attentive and the atmosphere was relaxed. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed the atmosphere of The Oberoi, and your dinner at our Kura-Kura Restaurant.

Wine prices in Indonesia are indeed steep as the government controlled beverage industry is subject to exorbitant taxation. We try our best to work within these high tariffs to have a nice balanced selection of wines from around the world.

Once again thank you for sharing your valuable TripAdvisor comment and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

In the somewhat noisy and flawed Kuta area THE Oberoi is a perfect hideaway. THE layout and gardens are stunning. Staff is very helpfull and food in the gourmet restaurant is excellent.
Wine is expensive though. The swimmingpool and beach acces are very handsome.
Staff takes questions very serious and help is immediate and elegant. The most stunning feature of the oberoi is the attention to detail. Almost nothing is left unattended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the setting and situation to be stunning. I am pleased to know that our staff, and the cuisine have met with your approval.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you to The Oberoi, Bali again one day.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I thought this hotel was amazing. We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and the location and staff made for an excellent time.

Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom and a porch. On arrival we had a honeymoon cake waiting for us and a rose petal heart on the bed. Also as part of our stay they arranged a free honeymoon evening meal at the Kura Kura restaurant. All of this just added to the experience.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It is right on the beach, which means you can sit by the pool, but also have lifeguard marshalled access to the surf on the beach (we borrowed free body boards form the hotel). Also it is just a few minutes into the centre of Seminyak and all the delights that are there.

The hotel staff really couldn’t do enough for us and we were always greeted with a friendly smile from every member of staff. The breakfast was fantastic and the choice enabled something was there for everyone. I recommend the mixed berry compote followed by eggs benedict. Our evening meal at the Kura Kura restaurant was amazing and the chef even visited our table to make sure everything was ok with the food. The crab starter and barramundi main course were exquisite.

Our honeymoon consisted of staying at 3 hotels in Thailand, Cambodia and Bali. All the hotels were fantastic but this one was definitely the pick of the bunch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am pleased to know that The Oberoi, Bali has played a role in creating long lasting honeymoon memories.

Thank you for staying with us, and look forward to to one day perhaps welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali for an anniversary celebration.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our holiday in Bali and must say it is one of the loveliest hotels we have ever visited. The setting is beautiful, on the beach and set in amazing gardens, maintained to an extremely high standard by the team of gardeners. The service was outstanding - nothing was too much trouble, the word "no" did not seem to be in the vocabulary! Our ocean view villa was beautifully appointed, with a luxurious sunken bath, complete with candles. We dined at the restaurant and the food was exquisite - really, nothing at all to find fault with! This is an expensive resort, but well worth the outlay. We look forward to returning there.

Room Tip: we had an ocean view room which was amazing, but I'm sure wherever you were on this delightful p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that the services, landscape, setting, and style of The Oberoi, Bali has met with your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you and your family to The Oberoi, Bali in the near future.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#5 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#8 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.