We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi Bali to your Saves list
The Oberoi Bali
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Starting at $350 pernight
Ranked #4 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel at which we have stayed 7 times now in the last 10 years but never reviewed, sorry! When we don't visit (generally due to the timing of our main holiday) we compare everything as this is our favourite long haul destination. The people are so smiley, genuine and helpful which is one of the reasons the hotel is a true 5* The location is fantastic, so much choice restaurant / shop wise.The lobster malay curry is out of this world in the hotels restaurant. The spa is also good if you want 5* pampering. There have been some new hotels opening since we first visited which we have contemplated but rejected as on review first hand and third party they have not topped the Oberoi. We can't wait to return in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your 7th times stay with us and you found the whole experience was stunning 5* hotel. Indeed it is a joy for me to work with such a wonderful team of people here in Bali. I am happy to note that they looked after you well and all met with your expectations of a Balinese holiday.

Thank you for staying with us, and look forward to again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    117
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
140
624
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon. It was fantastic. Pure luxury.

The hotel is tucked away from any hustle & bustle with incredible landscaped gardens, lovely fountains and statues everywhere - and beautiful architecture for every room. The location is also great - a 5 minute walk from Seminyak Square with various restaurants & bars around.

Rooms were great (we stayed in a garden Lanai). We also upgraded to a villa (with our own pool) for 1 night which was truly special, worth the money and the perfect end to our honeymoon.

The communal swimming pool was lovely. The staff provide you with complimetary water, sorbet and fruit skewers every day. Complimenary afternoon tea was also nice. It was a pleasure walking around the gardens and the beach. The restaurant was incredible - probably the best meals we had in Bali. The Spa was great too - we had a couples massage which lasted over 2 hours. The manager's cocktail drinks were a nice touch once a week. The staff were probably the most polite and helpful we have had in any hotel. The rooms were cleaned and tidied thoroughly.

Overall, it's an expensive hotel but worth the money. A truly beautiful hideaway that made our stay in Bali very special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us. I am pleased to know that the services, landscape, setting, and style of The Oberoi, Bali has met with your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you to The Oberoi, Bali again one day.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The location was tops here- right next to the Ku de TA. Right on Seminyak Beach, we were poolside and you could hear the waves in the background. Rooms are well appointed,comfortable but NOT that luxurious.. The service poolside is amazing, they even wipe your sunnies for you! The villas are meant to be stunning but we stayed in a room. Food is yummy..great hotel experience. Seminyak beach can be dirty and full of vendors.. Hotel has boogie boards and a life guard on staff. The spa was relaxing tuckd away in a lanai on one side of the property. Very relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that you found the quality of our food, warm and friendly Balinese staff, setting and style of the resort has met with your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us, and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ocean view room, every morning we woke up there was the sea to greet us, plus a daily newspaper. The quality of the services provided by the staff is the best I have experienced in Bali - and the world.
The room is big, and fancy, but has a Bali feel to it which is exactly what we were looking for. The bed could've been a little softer, but that is a personal thing.

The pool is the best way to spend an afternoon. Nothing is too much trouble.
Location is amazing (next to Ku De Ta) great shopping, gorgeous Seminyak Beach.
We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to know that you found the quality warm and friendly Balinese staff service, setting and style of the resort has met with your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us, and look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.

Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They make you feel like a king. Very centrally located but still very peaceful , close to the beach, shopping , restaurants , clubs . Very helpful staff. Very nice rooms (cottages) . Clean ,modern with local touch. Excellent service. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Sea view cottages are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you found the services, environment, style, and setting of The Oberoi, Bali have met with your expectations. I am happy to note the staff made you feel 'royal'.

Thank you for staying with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Haan, Belgium
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The charming resort is located on Legian beach and it was built in 1970's. Great hospitality: outstanding service in the restauarant, at the pool or at the reception. At breakfast, the staff welcomed us personally by name from the second morning on. An a la carte breakfast is served with a choice of fresh fruits, pastries, dairy products and a variety of hot dishes. We also enjoyed the Thursday evening bbq of grilled meats and seafood with gamelan music and dance performance.

The only problem in our villa with a direct view of the ocean was the noise of the ocean waves at night; due to the pyramid structure of the roof this noise is amplified (the roof works as an audio-amplifier). Lanais farther away from the beach may be more quiet but they may be less cooler than the villas close to the beach..
We suggest the Ultimo restaurant on Jalan Kayu Aya, where we enjoyed an excellent western style dinner and we returned here another evening..

Room Tip: Lanais may be quieter than villas with the noise of the ocean waves but the villas offer more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complimentary comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and the services, environment, style and setting of The Oberoi, Bali met with your expectations and that the magic of Bali and this historic resort in Seminyak has made you say " charming resort".

Unfortunately, regret that the villa assigned to you were ocean view, where you were disturbed by noise of ocean waves at night.

Thank you for staying with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It's hard to find a place in Bali that is not for hooneymooners (and not Kuta)!, the staff is just fantastic, they called us by name the whole time, they will always make their best to pamper you and make you smile.., even the guy that polishes your sunglasses. Only downside is the bed has a big wood frame where I kept hitting becase the beds are high. Definitly recommend... There were some families (I don't like screaming kids) but the parents kept them quiet.. :))) Breakfast is great!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Bali, General Manager at The Oberoi Bali, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to The Oberoi, Bali.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the service from the team has met with you expectations. I am delighted that you enjoyed breakfasts served seaside at our Frangipani cafe.

I'm sorry you found the traditional Balinese beds challenging. I'm glad the families you encountered were well behaved.

Thank you for staying with us, and look forward to the opportunity of one day again welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Bali.


Warm regards,

John W. Halpin
General Manager
Email : john.halpin@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Bali

Address: Seminyak Beach, Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#3 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Bali Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Hotel Bali
Oberoi Hotel Seminyak
Oberoi Bali
Oberoi Seminyak
Seminyak Oberoi
The Oberoi Bali Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.