We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FOURTH NIGHT ON US
Ranked #1 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Another great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

This was the final location on our trip to Hong Kong & Bali (see Intercontinental Hong Kong & The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah).

The Legian is situated on a fabulous stretch of beach in Seminyak. The rooms are huge as it is an all-suite hotel. We had a bedroom with large living area, large bathroom and 2 balconies one with table & chairs the other with sunbeds as well as a small kitchen with a full size fridge (great for stocking up on cold drinks). Usual LCD TV, Bose sound system but also 2 pre-loaded iPods with around 5,000 songs on each of all different taste/genres and included headsets so you could take them with you too the pool (great idea).

The pool is a 2 tiered infinity one that overlooks the sea and was rarely busy during the week we were there. They also have plenty of sunbeds and large daybeds around the beachfront. They bring you iced water, cold towels and high factor sunscreen on arrival at the pool.

The restaurant food is very good and the lunchtime snack menu at the poolside bar usually has a good chefs special such as seared tuna or red snapper in addition to the usual snack fare. As usual the service was excellent and delivered with a smile (thanks Artini).

Location is 5 mins into shops at Seminyak where there is a great selection of boutiques & lots of bars and restaurants. We ate at La Lucciola (decent but over priced), Hu'u Bar (fantastic setting, good food and superb service) have to mention Ratna and April who looked after us fantastically. We also ate at the Queen Tandoor in Seminyak... avoid, food was mediocre and if it rains (which it did the night we were there) you are in danger of getting soaked as it pours through the roof!

The only watch-for is the building works going on next door (it looks a major project) and whilst It caused me no trouble during day round the pool, in fact the crashing waves made more noise, but when on my balcony it was intrusive (nothing the hotel can do about it, but I was not informed that it was happening)

In all a really top hotel with super service and a great location...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    84
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
183
460
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Service is great, food is wonderful, and room space is well designed. But there is only one thing that is annoys me and my husband. We stayed there for 4 nights and we see the hotel manager walks around and greets his guests. He appears to avoid the Asian guests; he skips our table (but talks around our table) and never stops by and says hi. He only stops by and greets the Europeans and Americans. It certainly made our stay less perfect and feels not welcome there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband (boyfriend then!) and I decided on The Legian because our tour agent had a very good bundle deal on this resort together with The Chedi at Tanah Gajah, and also because both are GHM run resorts. You can’t really go wrong with the GHM group and I have to say we were not disappointed!

We stayed at The Legian for 2 nights as part of the bundle offer and right from the time we checked in, we felt like we were treated as VIPs. All the staff were very well-trained and polite, and throughout our stay, most of them remembered and greeted us by our surnames. This sort of personal service is hard to maintain, even at other luxury class hotels. We were also pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us to a 1-bedroom suite (from a junior suite) as the room we booked was not ready yet.

The 1-bedroom suite was luxurious and huge, in fact, bigger than the old apartment I lived in! Although the décor in the room may not be as modern as some other resorts in seminyak, it was very comfortable and spacious, very well-appointed, had a huge bathroom and balcony and had all that you would need if you decide to stay in the room all day and not go out. There are 2 pre-loaded iPods and a BOSE iPod docking station in the bedroom and another BOSE entertainment system in the living room if you prefer to watch TV or a video.

Breakfast was great and the quality good. The spread was good and they use very fresh ingredients in their food. It also helps that the restaurant faces the sea and you get fresh sea breeze flowing through while you enjoy your food! The same restaurant also serves dinner and at night, can become a very romantic venue for candle-lit dinner. Dinner prices are definitely not cheap by Bali standards but you get good quality, fine dining cuisine for a fraction of the price back home. It’s also worth paying for the ambience as you relax and let the sound of waves wash away whatever stress you couldn’t get rid of while you slowly savour the sumptuous meal which the chef has prepared for you.

The Legian is a family friendly resort, so if you are looking for somewhere exclusive for couples only, this may not be the most ideal place. However, the resort is generally peaceful and you’ll only hear children bantering at the pool. Overall, given the level of service, F&B quality and accommodation, I would highly recommend The Legian without a doubt!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Going to Bali was a big step for my husband.... he had never really enjoyed it. But after staying at The Legian he is already planning our next visit!

Whilst the rooms may not offer the modern style of some of the surrounding private villas, they were spacious, extremely well equipped with state of the art technology, and were impeccably clean. Turn down service was a delight, creating the most romantic of settings.

The pool area was relaxing, whilst maintaining a buzz..... not boring like some of the private boutique hotels where you never seem to see other guests. Cocktails were fabulous, food was fantastic ( especially Friday night seafood by the sea), and breakfast was my favourite meal of the day.

My daughter was very well cared for by both the staff and the wonderful nanny that was arranged through the hotel. All the staff played with her, and she had a sensational time. Children are very well catered for wrt food, but there are no specific children activities provided by the hotel (the pool offers more than enough entertainment in my opinion)

No request ever seemed too great for the wonderful staff at The Legian. Everybody addressed you by name...... I don't ever recall someone not knowing who I was. Wow... how great that makes you feel.

If visiting The Legian, book direct through the hotel as I missed a few services by using a travel agent. Also, use their visa service as Bali Airport Customs was a nightmare.


The Legian, and in particular the friendly, intelligent staff surpassed all my expectations. Everybody I know who stays there had said it was fabulous, but you can only truly understand how wonderful it is by booking your next holiday there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

My husband and I just returned home from our honeymoon in Bali. We originally planned one week at the Legian and one week at the Maya Ubud. However, we ended our trip in Ubud early and went back to the Legian for the rest of our honeymoon. Without question, the Legian is the most wonderful hotel we have ever stayed in. First of all, the staff at the Legian is world class, top notch service. We cannot stop talking about how wonderful and hospitable the staff is there. The rooms are so romantic and comfortable. ( A honeymoon “baby bali” is probable!) ;) The food was delish. And the hotel offers tea time and icecream as just nice, little, free afternoon touches – but that’s what makes this hotel amazing. There are little touches here and there that take your experience over-the-top. We had spa services, which of course was fabulous. But I could not end this review if I didn’t mention the view. The pool, beach set up is what I expect to heaven to look like. To look out on the magnificent Indian ocean while taking a dip in the beautiful pool is just astonishingly relaxing and romantic. Each day we had a poolside/beachside bed with an umbrella, and the staff waits on you the whole time – with drinks and food making your relaxing day beyond enjoyable. The Legian, without question, is the most romantic place on earth.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hotel does not dissapoint! When we first arrived we were shocked about how spacious and beautiful our suite was. With a view of the ocean we thought there had been a mistake and that we were upgraded! The rooms are immaculate and the breakfast in the hotel was fabulous.
The beach location is on the nicest part of Seminyak beach, go further down past KuDeTa and it's crowded and not very pleasant at all. You can laze about comfortably on a day bed or sit on a lounge by the pool which is possibly the best pool in Bali! Hotel staff are so attentive, constantly ensuring your glass of cool water is filled, at 4pm afternoon tea is served and at any time you can go and get the best gelato complimentary!
Every detail has been thought out in this hotel even providing you with a beach bag to carry your sunscreen and book down to the beach, I cannot think of anything that they could do better or any other service they could provide.
The service was so friendly yet professional at the same time. Every encounter with every staff member was smooth, not a single mistake was made and you really got the sense that everybody who worked in the hotel were proud to be there, and that they like an extended family!
The location of the hotel was so convient for shopping and dining in Seminyak.
We will definately be going back (every year from now on hopefully) and it was worth every single cent!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Just got back from 4 nights at the Legian after spending 3 nights in Ubud.
Could not fault anything about the hotel.The room, pool, grounds, reataurant, bar, spa & above all the service were top notch.
Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.
The location is excellent, right on the beach & within walking distance (or a short cab ride) to many restaurants, bars & shops.
Had dinner at the hotel one night (Wednesday night Bali Feast - very good) & also went to Sarong, Breeze at the Samaya & Kafe Warisan which were all excellent.Security has been beefed up everywhere after the Jakarta bombings so get used to having your bag searched.
The only downside (which is not really the fault of the hotel) is that
the surf appears quite polluted (but then so were the French riviera beaches) which is kind of a shame given that the beach is what started all this.I guess lots of tourists simply go in the pool.
Aussie Phil.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 11 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. In keeping with GHM’s tradition to provide guests a culturally inviting experience, The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali – a GHM Hotel Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.