We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly exceptional hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Luxury Indulgence
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Seminyak
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A truly exceptional hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Having read a number of very positive reviews about this hotel we arrived with a concern that the reality might fall short of expectation. This concern was very quickly allayed. From the moment we arrived we were treated as honoured guests. Each and every member of staff couldn't have been more attentive, helpful or pleasant. Every staff member addressed us by name from the moment we arrived acknowledging us at every turn and taking care to ensure all our needs we're met. The suite we occupied was also truly outstanding with regional furnishings of exceptional standard and a double balcony overlooking the pools, beach and open sea. The catering was also of the highest standard with a good choice of local and European dishes. The local town was sufficient in scale to provide interest albeit with limited choices for eating and entertainment. We did however visit Tanah Lot, one of the most important temples on the island, the Elephant Lodge where we fed, rode and dined with the elephants and took a tour hour whitewater rafting trip, all of which are highly recommended. You certainly won't be disappointed should you decide to visit this exceptional hotel! Kevin, the General Manager and his welcoming staff will, I'm sure, ensure you have a truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Dinotherock,

It is wonderful to learn that you felt honored and welcome from the very first moment when you arrived all the way through to your departure. I am particularly happy to read that the team was able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed the design and décor of our suites as well the choice of food in the outlets.

The entire team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali for another memorable stay in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    80
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
172
415
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Returned to the legian in August for a family holiday.This was our 6th stay at the legian and we were not disappointed.
it is like returning home
we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and we were very happy with our beautiful suite and the hotel. the service is outstanding from beginning till end-and we were sad to leave.
we enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning which consisted of fresh fruits yoghurts and the like, followed by eggs of our choice-waffles pancakes pastries-all bought to us at the table,fresh juices and excellent coffee-overlooking the gorgeous pool and beach .We then sat by the stunning pool/beach not moving till sunset.We ate lunch everyday at the pool restaurant which has wide variety of food to choose from with excellent service. water , face washers and face spray provided continuously throughout the day plus little treats like sorbets, and afternoon tea is served from 4 pm .
the staff around the pool provide excellent service turning chairs,refreshing towels when you get up to have a swim, and refilling your water.
although this is a pricey hotel its well worth the price. the service, the position of the hotel close to shopping and all the popular restaurants, and the beach.
Thankyou Kevin and your amazing staff for looking after us so well-we cant wait to return.

Room Tip: all the rooms look out to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear MelbourneNicole,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for staying with us again and writing a review on your most recent visit. We are delighted to read your compliments towards the level of service, food offerings, amenities as well as the location of The Legian being ocean front and in the heart of Seminyak.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to The Legian Bali very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. We spent a week here as part of our honeymoon. The suit was huge and the location was perfect – within easy walking distance of the shops and bars but far enough away to not be disturbed by them. All the staff and the GM were very friendly and the service was excellent.
If I had one criticism it would be that it is promoted as being family friendly but there is no kids club. Our six year old daughter really liked this at our previous hotel as it meant that she could get out of the sun in the middle of the day and play with friends she had made in the shade.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Lisa03121410,

Thank you for choosing to spend your Honeymoon at The Legian Bali and it is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the friendly service delivered by the team as well as the central location of the hotel. It is indeed correct that we do not have a kids club, however offer an array of activities as well as baby sitters in order to keep our younger guests entertained during the day.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sceaux-sur-Huisne, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent service. The staff is extremely friendly, present but discreet. The view on the beach and the pool is just stunning, especially as it comes with comfortable sofas and big pillows. Much appreciated were the small complementary amenities and the afternoon tea!. Very close to the city center.
One of the few hotels we would come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear PMB92,

We are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, the service as well as the phenomenal views of the Indian Ocean whilst laying on the daybed at The Legian Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian to experience more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We first visited the Club at the Legian a few years ago, and decided to revisit it as part of a chill out trip to Bali.
First, the plus points.
- The service was as excellent as we remembered. Both our butler and the staff at the Club Lounge could not have been more helpful, and went out of their way to make sure we were looked after. I got sick while there (in no way a result of anything eaten at the Legian by the way!) and the guys took me to the pharmacy and even gave me some rehydration drinks. Thank you!
- We used the main pool this time, and it is an amenity worth using if you want to swim rather than just cool down; about 30 metres long and pretty much deserted most of the time.
- The location is excellent, really easy to get to both the beach and the Seminyak strip for evenings out.
- The complimentary car service is very helpful for evenings out.
- Having a private pool villa is great - you can get away from the noise and bustle of the town and beach.
- Complimentary Wi-Fi - take note, other 5 star chains!

Downside -
- Maybe we were just unlucky in the villa we were given this time, but it was in need of refurbishment. The sinks in the bathroom were cracked and the tiles in the bathroom needed replacing - all in all just a bit shabby which doesn't sit too well at these prices. It is also one of the nearest villas to the main areas, so we spent our last day with two guys overlooking our garden while they replaced a fence nearby. Completely understand that this needs to be done, but it wasn't great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear AsiaphileLondon,

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us again at The Club at The Legian and thank you very much for writing a review on your experience. The team and I are very happy to read that you appreciated the level of service delivered, The Club benefits as well as the location of our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your most valuable feedback and will make any effort to further improve the condition and standards of our villas.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel is just outstanding!!! And I should say outstanding in every aspect, especially the people.. We just love the people there.. starting from the GM, Kevin, and all his staffs, they are just very nice, friendly, helpful and resourceful. It seems that everybody is willing to give their best to serve you. I should say we were treated like a family, and that really made us fell at home.. Our home in paradise.

l should also say that we've been lucky enough to experience some of the best hotels in the world. But I must say this hotel is different. You would get that 'homey' feeling and you would also feel that you are surrounded by your family.
Even compare to the old The Legian two years back, we feel that this time the Legian is much better in terms of its services, rooms, pools, etc. Even though this time it is more expensive compare to 2 years back, but it is worth every penny of it.

I would like to thank Kevin and all his staffs who we cannot name one by one. You guys are doing a wonderful job.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with GHM Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Hendrayanto S,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at The Legian Bali and we are truly happy to learn that you felt very comfortable and at home whilst staying with us.

The team at The Legian Bali is looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We fwlt very welcome from the very beginning. On the nice meet the management- cocktail we also met other guest for nice conversations. Wonderful food, and extremely attentive and friendly staff. The concierge was very helpful with restaurant reservations, also on fully booked places. Very good gym as well. And of course a magic setting on the beach with stunning pools.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with GHM Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Leijonatle,

Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review on your stay at The Legian Bali. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the attentive and friendly service, the management cocktail, facilities and views.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#4 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 11 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. In keeping with GHM’s tradition to provide guests a culturally inviting experience, The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali – a GHM Hotel Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.