We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bestest Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FOURTH NIGHT ON US
Ranked #1 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Bestest Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I chose this hotel for my special anniversary and my decision was absolutely correct. I have never had such perfect service in my life. The stuff greeted me with calling my name every time they came upon me. They allowed me to enjoy silence but asked me if I was all right before I felt isolated. I was able to have a great time for my special day and I'm looking forward to visiting them again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Fumichka,

Thank you very much for choosing The Legian Bali for this very special occasion and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that the team was able to create a most memorable stay for you and you enjoyed all our services.

All of us are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali to celebrate many more anniversaries.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    84
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
183
460
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Legian Bali is worth every dollar you spend (as it is a premium hotel!) ..... Every aspect of this hotel is top-shelf (the staff, the places to eat/drink, and the grounds). Your right on the ocean (elevated) with 3 infinity pools at your disposal and everything you need at your disposal. The staff is right there to help, but not overboard like someplace where they are right-on-top-of-you. Don't forget the breakfast that is included in the price --- truly gourmet affair that can probably have you skip lunch - making the value even better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Belmarsurf,

Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review. It is with great pleasure to read that you appreciated every aspect of your stay at The Legian Bali, its location overlooking the Indian Ocean, the three tiered infinity pools and grounds as well as our food and beverage outlets. We are glad that you enjoyed our culinary offers, in particular the breakfast, and felt that our services are at good value for money.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali soon to experience more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

As repeat guests to The Legian our most recent visit in January this year was a wonderful reminder of just how exceptional this hotel really is. This is truly a 5 star hotel on a world scale. Upon arrival the hotel provides an immediate sense of tranquility which continues at every touch point. The service provided by management and staff is exemplary. The secret to this hotel is in the detail which is found at every level. We were touched that some staff who we had met over previous visits remembered us and were
genuinely interested to greet us as old friends. We love The Legian and cannot recommend it highly enough if you are looking for a special place that consistently delivers on it's promise. P.S. It really does look like the photos on the website! Thank you Kevin and your staff we hope to be back soon.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jo R,

On behalf of the entire team at The Legian Bali, thank you very much for visiting us again and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor as well as recommending our hotel to other visitors to Seminyak.
I am truly happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your most recent visit, be it the tranquility of the hotel or the service and it is with sincere gratitude to learn that staff recognized you by name as our repeat guests.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you back very soon to The Legian Bali,

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We recently stayed for 4 nights at The Club at The Legian which is part of The Legian but across the road from the main hotel and is a series of private villas with a private club area and lap pool for guests. It truly is an oasis of a destination; complete privacy within the one bedroom villa yet with all the benefits available at the main hotel complex if you so desire. The 24 hour butler service (Nura was incredible!), the on call car service to take you anywhere in the local area and the evening cocktails were fantastic touches (and all included) on top of the incredible service from the entire staff. Nothing was too much trouble; every time we requested something it was delivered with enthusiasm and a smile. As per some other reviews, the villas are a little on the dark side and some aspects of the villas are probably due for some upgrading but overall these were relatively minor and we would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Craig S,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience at The Club at The Legian Bali with others on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at The Club, be it the privacy within your villa along with the other amenities, the lap pool, cocktails every evening at The Club Lounge to the complimentary chauffeured car service within Seminyak area. The butler team and Ngurah especially were very glad to learn that they were able to contribute towards making your stay a truly enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali very soon to experience more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

A first class hotel run by first class staff from management to gardeners very friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of seminyak square area but close enough to walk to the shops and excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear ThePublican22,

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Legian Bali and writing a review. It is a pleasure to learn that the team was very friendly and accommodating in all your interactions and that you found the hotel to be ideally located within the heart of Seminyak with shops and restaurants in the vicinity.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Legian Bali in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Having only just left Bali yesterday I am already missing it…Our first stay at the Legian was in the Club Villas located in a totally separate building across the road, really I should have researched this a little better, as I had booked 4 nights here...when I mentioned to my friend I was staying here she said "Oh for that money you could get much better" and she is someone who knows her Bali..the Villa's are a little old, our Villa #2 had a broken awning over the outdoor bath area, and the garden in fact most of the gardens seem to be suffering a black fungus mould which looks dreadful, the pool area can hardly be described as a tropical oasis which is a shame, staff of course were very good, I would not stay in a Villa here again its dated and dark, and you feel isolated although some might say its classically decorated. ..The hotel though is amazing, I loved everything about our beautiful huge 1 bedroom ocean view room and found the hotel although quite large felt like we were staying in a boutique size hotel, staff here were unbelievable, always beyond helpful, the pool area at sunset is the place to be…our transfers were 5star, and I am really trying to work out how we can come back again with our kids

Room Tip: We were on the top floor ocean front, in a newly renovated 1bedroom sunset suite, I prefer to book m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear wendyinafrica,

On behalf of the entire team at The Legian Bali, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing both your visits and sharing your feedback with others on TripAdvisor. It was truly a pleasure meeting you and I am very happy to learn that the ocean view suite, service delivered by the staff, the pool area at sunset as well as the other facilities and services at the hotel put together created a memorable stay for you. This being said, it is with sincere regret to learn that your experience at The Club was not of the same standard. Your constructive feedback is most valuable to us, very much appreciated and please be assured that we are in the process of treating the gardens and will make any effort to further improve the landscaping of The Club.

We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to The Legian Bali along with your children.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at the Legian for four nights last week. Everything was just perfect. The staff was friendly and couldn't do enough to accommodate our family. We were traveling with two young children and our room was spacious and well appointed, with a beautiful view of the pools and ocean. There was plenty of room for our toddler to play and for all of us to have plenty of space. The bedroom was perfectly dark and the bed was was extreamly comfortable. We all enjoyed great sleep while we were there.
We had a wonderful babysitter for two days, which allowed my husband and I time to enjoy relaxing near the beach. The waves were too rough for swimming in the ocean, but the pools were refreshing and very well maintained, looking out over the ocean. I enjoyed walking on the beach every day, but there seemed to be even more trash in the water and on the sand than I remember from our previous stay. This could have been due to the rough waters or there could be more pollution, either way, the Legian does a much better job cleaning up the beach debris than the other hotels on the same beach do. I cannot say enough good things about the Legian's pool and beach area. The chairs are very comfortable and the whole area is quiet and relaxing. The pool waiters are friendly and very quick to bring another drink or refill water glasses. My only suggestion would be to add a few more covered cabanas. Last Saturday was very windy for much of the day. The hotel staff could not put out beach umbrellas due to the wind. There were only two covered cabanas that offered any protection from the sun and they were both occupied.
The concierge was quite helpful and offered us some great restaurant suggestions. There are many good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.
Everyone working for the hotel seemed to remember our children's names and went out of their way to smile and say hello to them. Waiters would even offer to hold our baby while we ate breakfast. Speaking of breakfast...it's delicious! We usually skip breakfast but we remembered how good it was last year and made sure to enjoy it every day during our stay.
Last year while staying at this hotel we had a late flight and they offered us a really late check-out time for no extra fee. We didn't need to take them up on the offer, because we were visiting the other side of the island for the rest of our last day, but it was a generous offer and shows how well run and thoughtful the hotel management our.
Everything about our stay was wonderful. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Brobro77_12,

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us again and thank you for writing a review on your most recent visit to The Legian Bali.

It is extremely encouraging for us to read that your second visit was even better than the first one. It gives me great pleasure to learn that the service provided by the team throughout the hotel was not only extremely professional and accommodating but they were also able to anticipate your needs. We are delighted to hear that your family and you were able to relax, enjoyed the daily breakfast, the pools as well as the time spent within the suite.

We all look forward to welcoming your family and you back to The Legian Bali very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 11 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. In keeping with GHM’s tradition to provide guests a culturally inviting experience, The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali – a GHM Hotel Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.