We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of my favorite hotels in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK EARLY & BE REWARDED
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorite hotels in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was my 18th stay at The Legian over a period of quite a few years and this most recent stay reminded me again why this is one of my favorite hotels in the world: a great location, amazing views, a wonderful rooms product and just generally incredibly relaxing and wonderful.
I stayed in a two bedroom suite for two nights. The room had been subtly renovated/refreshed since my last visit, but not lost any of the character that I have grown to love. Sweeping views over the pool and beach, the fantastic bathroom (lighting could be a bit better) and excellent food & beverage offering both in the bar and restaurant. The service was pleasant, pretty efficient and the staff were friendly and welcoming throughout the resort.
A memorable stay yet again and I very much look forward to my next visit. I just hope that Bali's traffic situation does not get worse. It felt pretty congested everywhere. Quite a change from when I started visiting this magical island more than 20 years ago now.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear bart8888,

Thank you very much for returning to The Legian Bali again and it was a great pleasure meeting you. I am delighted to read that The Legian is one of your favorite hotels in the world due to its suites with wonderful views, the relaxing atmosphere and location within Seminyak as well as that you enjoyed our services and food and beverage offerings.
Recent refurbishment and upgrades focused on the guest experience with the emphasis on the original Balinese design. Thus, I am glad that you liked the enhancements and also appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the bathroom lighting, which we will further address.

We all at The Legian look forward to welcoming you back many more times.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    82
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
180
439
24
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here at the end of August 2013 with our two children (19 and 21) and right from the start, the staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful. The rooms are lovely (maybe a little dark - but that's true of most hotels) and the beds wonderfully comfortable. The location is right on the beach and there are plenty of sun loungers and day beds all around the pools and the beach side. We had a lovely yoga session on the grass overlooking the ocean. The food was great - especially the breakfasts and we also recommend the sea food BBQ which was delicious. The staff were really helpful at suggesting and organising restaurants and excursions. We've stayed in lots of top class hotels and this one really is outstanding -we will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Our 2 bedroomed suite was on the second floor with a lovely sea view. it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Saracjb,

It was a pleasure to have you and your family staying with us and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are happy to read that you felt very comfortable at The Legian Bali and enjoyed the suite, the Yoga sessions as well as our culinary offers, from the breakfast to the Seafood Indulgence close to the ocean.

We look very much forward to welcoming you all back to The Legian in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night on the 10th September and returned on the 18th September for lunch.
The Legian is a fabulous property with very attentive staff and we loved the openness of the design with seas breezes blowing through the downstairs public areas. Our room was a little tired and quite dark but the bed was very comfortable.
The only area open for any criticism is the food. Bali is really trying hard to improve its restaurant offer to the more experienced traveler and we had some fabulous food on the island. Sadly this was not the case in the Legian. I found the food to be 'lazy' in its design for example: Fish and Chips in the beautiful sea front restaurant with a wonderful salty sea breeze blowing across you sounds like a dream come true for a chef. But frozen chips and battered fish that was soggy and still had the skin on and no mushy peas? I understand that this is a western dish cooked by Asian staff but if they can't do then don't do it. Frozen thin McDonald style chips is not the Legian!
All in all that did not spoil our enjoyment of this great hotel and I would highly recommend it but eat out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights earlier this month as part of a 3 stop tour of Bali & Lombok.
On reading other reviews much is covered of this amazing hotel. I just want to cover some special touches that help make it such a fabulous hotel.
From the moment you arrive at the airport you know you are going to be staying at a special hotel.
After a long tiring flight from the UK we were greeted by a representative from the hotel. He met us as we got off the plane & dealt with passports & visa's for us , collected luggage & swiftly bypassed the queues securing us in a lovely air conditioned car. It really was a lovely touch not having to deal with visa's etc.
On arriving at hotel we were personally met by hotel manager. On reading other reviews this looks to be a standard of the hotel. This is again a lovely touch that helps make you feel that bit special.
The management clearly have an excellent way of training their staff as they were all so charming & helpful . They had this very clever way with ear pieces of connecting to one another giving them the ability of discretely asking your room no. Repeating the no and then via ear piece would be given your name. They then made sure they used it. Again a lovely way to make you feel special.
The room/suite. Well other reviewers have covered so much about the suite's. But wow wow wow. Absolutely stunning & huge. Really loved the layout decor & furnishings. Bed was super comfy and loved the little notes left on your bed each evening.
What I loved most though was the huge balcony with day bed Beautiful views out across the ocean loved to sit there watching the sunset. What I loved most of all though was sitting on the balcony looking out to sea having our breakfast We did this everyday and it made the perfect start to the day. With no extra charge this was again a lovely touch provided by the hotel
I really could go on and on about all the good things about this hotel. Please if you are wondering which hotel to book in Seminyak, stop wondering & book The Legian. Yes not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear JulieSBournemouth,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Legian Bali on your tour thru Bali and Lombok.
We are very pleased to read that you spent a wonderful time in our hotel and that our amenities and services left a memorable impression, be it from the smooth arrival experience all the way to departure.
We sincerely appreciate your review on TripAdvisor highlighting your experience and some details observed during your stay with us.

The entire team at The Legian is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy the view and sunsets from the suite or around the pools.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

After a 7 year hiatus I stayed at the Legian again recently. I only wish I hadn't left it so long to return. The staff are all friendly and efficient, rooms are spacious with the most wonderful view over the spectacular pool and beach. We ( 3 adults) stayed in a Club 2 bedroom suite which has more than enough room both inside and out on the huge balcony. Service throughout our stay was very good, from arrival to departure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear blueyloons,

On behalf of the entire team at The Legian Bali, thank you very much for staying with us again and writing a review on your recent visit.
We are truly glad to learn that you enjoyed our services and facilities, the spacious suites and villas as well as view over the pools to Seminyak Beach.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just returned from our 6th stay at the Legian and the place just gets better and better each time we return. The recent refurbishment has freshened up most things but the design has remained the same, which I like as it has a Balinese flair. Too many hotels are too generic.

The gym has been completely redone and brand new high-end Technogym equipment was delivered during our stay. The new gym looks fantastic and it makes the daily workout really enjoyable. The Spa offers some excellent treatments.

The new management team is highly competent with a great eye for detail. They have done a lot of fine-tuning and the Legian is now better than ever. The service is top-notch and we really felt pampered by the excellent staff; many have worked there for years and recognise us as returning guests.

Each day we had some delicious food for lunch and the kitchen gladly caters to special wishes. The beef tartare is really yummy.

The Legian is definitely a wonderful hotel and we have already bought tickets to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear jmalux,

It was with great pleasure to have you both returning to The Legian Bali and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us.
I am glad to read that you feel the hotel has further improved its standards since your last visit. The Legian will always remain authentic Balinese in its design and any effort shall be made to improve its facilities and services based on the feedback received from our guests. Hence, we are happy that the latest upgrade to our property, namely in the suites or the new Spa and Gym with its latest Technogym equipment made your stay and daily workout even more enjoyable.

We are also pleased to hear that the staff have recognized you as frequent guests to The Legian Bali and were able to create another memorable stay to both of you whether in terms of service or on the culinary side.

Looking very much forward to welcoming you back soon to The Legian,

Kindest regards,

Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The only problem with writing a review about "The Legian" is trying to book back in when it has become well known as the most amazing, wonderful place in Bali that it is. There is simply nothing else like this hotel.

My family of four just had another 9 days in "paradise"...thank you Kevin and your fabulous team.

Room Tip: all rooms in this hotel are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Drswoods,

Thank you very much for staying with us again with your family and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that The Legian Bali remains your Paradise away from home.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to The Legian.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 11 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. In keeping with GHM’s tradition to provide guests a culturally inviting experience, The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali – a GHM Hotel Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.