We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Legian lives up to its reputation - and exceeds it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FOURTH NIGHT ON US
Ranked #1 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The Legian lives up to its reputation - and exceeds it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent a too-brief time at the Legian right at the end of August. From the moment of arrival, when we were greeted by Kevin, the GM, to the sad moment of departure, we were treated with the greatest of care and attention by everyone. To be greeted by name by all the wait staff in the restaurants and around the pools is very impressive. This little touch makes one feel very special and pampered. Check-in was prompt, easy and pleasant, as was checkout. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at the Legian...

We had a studio suite on the ground floor facing the beach, with its own little verandah as well as another spot with two sunbeds. This direct access to the lawn, the pools and the beach makes these rooms very well worth the money. There's no need to go through any of the more public areas to get to the water, and this makes for a genuine sense of privacy.

The room was spacious, impeccably clean and quite luxurious. The bathroom was gorgeous and enormous and the bed was very comfortable. My only (tiny) quibble is that there weren't any bedside tables and so one must put the glass of water, the Kindle and the reading glasses on the floor before sleeping - no big deal, just a very minor thing.

We ate tapas in the Pool Bar the first night, and the food was delicious. On the second night the GM hosted a cocktails and canapes evening by the pool, and we had a splendid time. On the Friday, it was my partner's birthday and in what is turning out to be something of a tradition in hotels when we travel in August, we were greeted at breakfast with glasses of champagne, a beautiful little spongecake with a candle, and the staff singing 'Happy birthday'. It's going to be so hard to spend birthdays at home from now on!!! This is such a lovely thoughtful gesture on the part of hotel management, and I'm sure always appreciated.

We had decided to do almost nothing during our brief stay, except a little burst of shopping, and so we spent many hours on sunbeds, watching the rather fierce surf pounding into the beach and intrepid tourists dealing with big unruly waves. We were plied with beers and snacks by an assiduous group of wait staff, who were all charming, helpful and quick!

On our last night (getting ready for the brutal 1.00 am flight from Denpasar to Adelaide), we ate at the hotel restaurant, and we were agreeably surprised by the prices, given that this is a 5 star hotel. Our meal was delicious and served poolside, with braziers illuminating the three infinity pools, with the surf breaking just beyond. Truly a magical and delightful experience!
This is a seriously lovely hotel, with outstanding management and staff, and they all rightly deserve the positive reviews seen here on TA. I wish I could award 6 stars! I will recommend this hotel without reservation, and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Some of the ground floor studio suites have their own direct access to the pools and the beach - mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear balhannah,

Thank you for staying with us and celebrating your partner's birthday here at The Legian. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write such a comprehensive review about your stay. It gives the team and I great pleasure to read that you both liked all the little touches around the property, along with its facilities and services and we were able to create a memorable holiday for your partner and you. In addition, we have made note of your constructive feedback and will make any effort to address this and thank you for recommending us to others.

We look forward to welcoming you both back very soon in order to celebrate the next special occasion.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    83
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
181
458
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at the Legian Bali with my parents, brother and girlfriend. After being unhappy with another 5* hotel, we decided to move to the Legian, they were absolutely great to accommodate us at short notice. The welcome at the hotel was very warm and the receptionists were very professional and speedy with the checkin. Waiting in the lobby we had our welcome drink and we really liked the big photography on the walls (thinking of buying one of the portraits from the artist).

The rooms were extremely clean and spacious. The beds were very comfortable, I had great night sleep in the bed even though I was in pain after having broken my foot a couple days before.

The gym is a good size with a couple of running machines (I don’t understand people going for runs inside when you have the amazing beach at your doorstep), a selection of free weights and machines & finally a sauna.

The most amazing feature of the hotel is its location and beachfront sunbeds/pools. The beach and sea right in front of the Legian is to die for. Anybody who enjoys a good wave can take some of the hotels bodyboards and venture into the sea, or just swim in one of the pools and enjoy the breathtaking views from the pool. The hotel is far enough away from Kuta, so its less crowded and you can thoroughly relax. But if you want to go for a walk on the beach, you can go for mils until you get to Kuta.

The only negative point for the hotel is that there is a lack variety for dinner at the hotel and prices are expensive. The food quality is great and service is very professional, but a lot of guests opt to dine in the town outside of the hotel, the concierge is happy to give some recommendations. The special barbecue by the beach where the food is served as a buffet was a good option as well.

Overall I can not rate the Legian high enough, it is one of my favorite hotels I stayed at and would recommend it to anybody visiting Bali. One of my favourite memories from my trip is to wake up after a good night sleep and get the great breakfast while enjoying the view of the sea....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Yann G,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I am happy to learn that you unexpectedly decided to experience The Legian and thoroughly enjoyed every bit of its hospitality. I am glad that you were able to soak in the sun and surf, relax at the beach front beds, indulge in the food and look forward to a great breakfast every morning after a good night’s sleep.

Thank you in advance for recommending it to others and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at The Legian for six nights stay. The two Bedroom Suite was always kept clean and the beds were comfortable with great view of the beach. The food served at the Restaurant and the Room Service tasted above average and was always served professionally. This is one of my Destination Hotel that I would always like to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear OpusBoy,

It was a pleasure to welcome your family and you to The Legian. I am pleased to hear that you all enjoyed The Legian experience and that it has become one of your favorite hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you all back very soon.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecatu, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

From the moment of arrival, we were given an excellent service. All we had to do was hand in our ID and credit card and they took care of the rest while we enjoyed the welcome drink and the beautiful lobby. I am not sure whether it was because we paid debit, but we got our room upgraded from Studio to Deluxe room with two bedrooms - which we didnt even need! It was a huge, spacious room complete with its own pantry, dining room, beautiful bathroom and amazing beach-facing balcony. The bed was super comfortable - our only minor irritation was the smell of the linen which was rather damp. Other than that, it was great.

The service of the waiters was impeccable - everyone was friendly and attentive and they made us feel very comfortable but non-intrusive. We arrived on Friday and there was a Friday barbecue by the beach - which was highly recommended. You get to eat outdoor by the beach and the food is served buffet style. Try everything - seriously, the food is just out of this world!

The Pool boys did excellent jobs catering everything we needed - from magazines, cold drinks to adjusting the towels to make us feel more comfortable.

Facilities are excellent - the restaurant served really delicious food - kudos to the chef and his staff - the pool was special because it was three-tiered from the shallowest for children to the deepest (1.8 m) for adults.

The hotel was having some renovation works during our stay, and it looked a bit different from the website. It should be updated to reflect what the rooms look like now.

Extra personal touch was shown as an effort by the management, through welcome letter, which we appreciated. At the end of our stay, the manager also had a small chat with us and ask about our stay and when we would return.

Room Tip: Because we stayed in the Deluxe room, it seemed ideal for family as the other room has a huge bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear whufwhuf,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Legian and celebrate your wedding anniversary. My team and I are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time spent on the resort whether it be in the suite, by the pools, at the Seafood Indulgence and last but not least the services rendered around the hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and be assured that we will make any effort to address it.

We all look forward to welcoming you both back in order to celebrate your next wedding anniversary and make it as special as the previous one.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I need to share my disappointment with the reservation and booking process for this hotel. Firstly unlike 90% of the hotels in the immediate area they refused to quote my room rate in Australian dollars only US dollars. Secondly they did not devulge the taxes when quoting the room rate. Thirdly it was only a matter of 2 hours approximately that my circumstances changed and I notified reservations immediately to change my booking from a 2 person room to a 3 person room. This more than doubled my original room rate, it in actual fact made the whole stay out of our reach price wise. The original room amount had already been taken from my credit card and reservations would not accept my upgrade until I paid the balance now outstanding in full. Once I complained they reduced the additional person room rate by $ 20 per night and have agreed for me to pay the balance on arrival which is very generous, but unfortunately even with these concessions it still becomes a very expensive stay at this hotel. I have asked for a full refund so we can stay at another cheaper hotel, and the hotel have refused to return my money stating their no cancellation policy, which again I have search a number of hotels in the area and they do not have such a policy. PLEASE BE CAREFUL WHEN BOOKING THIS HOTEL!!! They seem to be inflexible with their bookings, I wonder what their service will be like now I have been forced into staying there.........

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Met up with my family who had been travelling around Europe in Bali for a weeks getaway from Adelaide and were staying in Seminyak at the Legian Hotel on the beach front.

The hotel is incredible... we were staying in a two bedroom suite, and I was amazed by the size of the room in its entirety, especially the main bathroom and open living area. The rooms had everything we could have wanted, bottled water available (as tap water in bali is not drinkable) and a free minibar, replenished twice daily. The housekeeping staff are impeccable, and the evening turn down service with evening snacks... a lovely added touch.

The Pools are incredible, and the lounges overlooking the pools and the beach are great for relaxing. The restaurant, whilst pricy, is worth every cent, and the service is incredible, especially at breakfast time.

The staff are amazing, so friendly and polite, and do anything they can to make your stay spectacular... even little things like saying hello and smiling when you pass them in various areas of the hotel.

Highly recommend for anyone travelling to Bali and wanting to stay in Seminyak, away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and Nusa Dua.
The only downside of the hotel is now, when I stay at another hotel elsewhere in the world, nothing will compare, the service and attention to detail of the Legian was so incredible, I fear I will not find anything like it again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Matthew S,

Thank you very much for writing a very positive review on your stay at The Legian. I am very happy to learn that the level of service provided by our staff as well as the attention to details all around the property put together were able to create an amazing experience for you. I have shared your comments with the rest of the team and they were very pleased to hear the same.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon to experience more.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our two bed roon suite is not available during check in and we are upgraded to a 3 bedroom beach house and a free lunch as apology . so I do appreciate their service and the manager , Kelvin 's hospitality . the beach house is excellent with direct access to the beach and private pool but beware of the mosquito around you.During our stay , the seminyak beach is too wavery to swim and its a big pity as we cant swim in the sea . I have tried both lunch and dinner in the hotel which has good western food .the hotel takes 10 min walking to the main seminyak square which is the closest shoppingrea . perhaps next time , I may try the hotel near the bali bay with better calm beach or the ubud area with more feature shopping . another thing to mention is the jamaran bay seafood is too pricey to try and the quality is not worth the price though the taste is not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLegian B, General Manager at The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear michaelchoy,

Thank you very much for staying with us and it was a pleasure meeting you all. I am glad to hear that you liked The Beach House, enjoyed your time at The Legian as well as the food at The Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming your family and you back in the future.

Kindest regards,


Kevin J. Abramowicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 11 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. In keeping with GHM’s tradition to provide guests a culturally inviting experience, The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali – a GHM Hotel Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.