We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, Relaxation, Serene, Tranquility...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LIMITED TIME OFFER
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Seminyak
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Luxurious, Relaxation, Serene, Tranquility...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I guess my title says it all. The Legian Bali is a gorgeous Balinese style hotel perfectly situated right on the heart of the beach and every room has the sea view. We stayed there for 10D9N, we were in heaven... The Legian Bali offered not only a Luxurious accommodation, but also a very relaxing environment where we could just lie down on the sunbed facing the sea, went for morning walk at the beach, lie down for a read or went for a swim at the ocean or at the swimming pool. The view was magnificent! Each corner of The Legian Bali was soothing and filled with serene, unruffled tranquility... There was hardly any noise around the hotel and the Zen and calming atmosphere of The Legian Bali relaxed your mind and soul. It was just a really beautiful place to be...

Their Customer Service was tip-top! Balinese are the loveliest people on the planet and each and everyone of them in The Legian always greet the guest with a smile and they always fulfilled the guest's requirement with the best they could. From the reception, concierge, housekeeping, waiters/waitresses to driver, they all have the 5 star service attitude. We have requested for a room change at the beginning of our stay due to the brightness of the room, in return, they upgraded us almost immediately to a brighter room and we couldn't be happier! However, I have to say that regardless of whether it's a studio suite or one-bedroom suite that you stay in, each room is huge and spacious with a lounge room, kitchenette, it's own private balcony and sunbed. The rooms are amazing! And the view is spectacular! Besides the room and the wonderful sea view, The Legian Bali is also located very closely to the shopping area, a short stroll would take you to Seminyak Square and the closeby area for food and shopping. It's an easy access to everywhere else.

And what could I say about the food in The Legian Bali? One Word: AMAZING! Breakfast was a wide selection from Asian to Western, from fruit to sweets. They made beautiful poached eggs! Have it as Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon and hollandaise sauce or Poached eggs with toast, that cannot go wrong. Try any flavor of pancakes, they were all delicious! And the French Toast with strawberries, mascarpone cheese and maple syrup was definitely to die for... So yummy! I love the Asian Congee, Nasi Goreng, Mee Goreng, Balinese Fish, Spicy Chicken etc. Try as much as you could and keep your options open to the morning breakfast. Try as well the Fish n Chips (although it's under Children's menu) for Room Service, OMG! I was really impressed with the battered fresh fish! The batter and the fish were both really fresh! And the chips were really well cooked, it was finger licking good! The portion was definitely good for lunch or snack and for both adult and kids. And I would highly recommend for you to try their dinner. My hubby and I are both foodie and we've almost been to most of the popular restaurants in Seminyak. And I would have to say The Legian Bali restaurant has one of the best technique, taste and presentation for fine dining. I would highly recommend their Chef's Tasting Plate especially if they have the Truffle Ravioli with Mushroom foam and shredded Truffles. It was definitely the most beautiful and delicious dish that cannot be missed! The homemade ravioli that was so thin but so deliciously well cooked, with the amazing flavored mushroom foam topped with dry shredded Truffles, the presentation and flavor of this dish, to us was a Winner!!! The Jamon Iberica (smoked ham) from France was absolutely fantastic! The aged smoked ham thinly sliced and accompanied by a piece of bruschetta, that flavorsome combination was just magnificent. Also, if you LOVE soft shell crab, The Legian Bali has definitely one of the most beautiful Soft Shell Crab made ever... The freshly deep fried Soft Shell Crab with the green in-house recipe butter sauce and top with watercress salad, the incredible combination of the plate absolutely blown me away... That light but flavorsome butter sauce with the fluffy deep fried Soft Shell Crab finished with the refreshing watercress salad, was a speechless combination... I love what came with the 4th course. The Wagyu sirloin with Pan Fried Foie Gras... Droolingly delicious... Also, definitely try their famous Beef Rendang. Such beautifully slow cooked Beef in Rendang sauce, the meat was cooked for hours and they were so flavorsome and tender, each bite you could feel the tendon and the meat beautifully dissolved together. Have them with rice and the chili eggplants, this local dish would leave you lingering around your taste bud with that powerful, beautiful flavor... Last but not least, Dessert... The simple Rasberry Meilleu-Feilleu was unbelivably light and delicious... A beautiful way to end the dinner...

I have read a lot of reviews about restaurants and especially the number one restaurant in Tripadvisor: The Breezes Bali. I could only say I was sooooo disappointed with The Breezes Bali's food, it was a let down for me. There was no chemistry in the food although the presentation was pretty. However, the food was lacking the most vital factor: the unity of food & flavor synchronization... I had really had a better meal in The Legian Bali restaurant, Sarong, La Lucciola, SIP Wine Bar, Mamasan, Metis etc. Each of them to us, was really better than The Breezes Bali. For the price we paid at The Breezes Bali, it was not worth it.
In contrast, that meal that we had at The Legian Bali was a highlight of our trip. We loved food and in The Legian Bali restaurant, we found the chemistry and synchronization between food/flavor... However, I do have to add that the ambience in The Legian Bali was really not as flourish or as beautiful as the Breezes or Sarong or Mamasan etc. It was a simple, open Kitchen concept restaurant with really warm waiters/waitresses and chefs.

In conclusion, we had an amazing trip and staying in The Legian Bali was one of the best choice we've made! We felt the fullness of the trip. It was filled with luxurious, enjoyment and relaxation... We will definitely stay at this beautiful place again, a place that we call Paradise... =)

Room Tip: Higher floors are sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    86
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
195
488
29
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Spent some 10 days in this hotel and I can recommed it to strongly, even if it is a little pricey.
The rooms and service was smooth and polite, the breakfast amazing. Especially the consierge merits a mention as anything we needed or wanted to do was organized, from golf trips, to surf course, transport and even low-cost restaurant experience.
Especially the fresh fruit provided to the rooms daily made me happy and the discretionary soft drinks were good too.
Legian is classy, with discreet clientele of all types. Location is perfect.
Just a couple of things to bear in mind:
The gym is very small with too limited equipment.
Restaurant (tested only once in the evening) is overpriced for what it is. Not recommended. The luch offering is slightly better but not worth the money.
Bar is relatively expensive, but it helps to keep the random visitors away and hotel area safe and cozy.
Laundry service is very good, although they lost one old T shirt by accident. So just see that you get your stuff back.
(Even if there were noisy kids at the pool, the sea and the waves were so strong that the kids were not disturbing the atmosphere at the pool. )
When I go back to Bali, I will most likely return to Legian.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are sunny. I had first a suite with separate bedroom (100 sq.m) and then 10 sq.m small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have returned for a third visit to this stunning hotel in July -we went with our teenage and adult children(3) and stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. We travelled around to other areas in bali and stayed the last 6 nights at The Legian to end our trip.
As usual this hotel did not disappoint-the rooms and service were impeccable-breakfast is amazing and most days we ate lunch in the pool bar/restaurant-the quality of the food is 5 star and has a huge variety to choose from.
Free wifi throughout the resort was enjoyed by us all-particularly the kids who love their internet and viber on their phones.
The highlight of the resort is the service by the pool by the beautiful staff who put out your towels each day,bring you fresh iced water continually-and the double lounges on the edge of the resort which look onto the beach are hard to beat.
The position of the hotel is perfect-close to seminyak center with all the best shopping ,and close to all the best restaurants in the seminyak area. The concierge is so helpful in making any bookings you need.
I cannot reccomend this hotel highly enough-it may be more expensive than others in the area but definitely worth the extra price-and I cant wait to return-hopefully in July 2012.

Room Tip: all the rooms look onto the water-it just depends on whether you prefer to being on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We are usually a bit hesitant to return to the same hotel in a resort area, fearing that the repeat stay will never meet the excellent expectations that were fulfilled the first time. But we were happily rewarded for our bravery. We continue to believe that the Legian is the finest hotel in the Seminyak area, bar none. The attention to detail, great service and fantastic food is simply amazing. We even managed to change our room during the busy holiday season, without a hitch. My husband had booked a Club Villa mistakingly thinking it was on the beach. We arrived late and discovered this error. But Eddie, our butler and the hotel manager quickly changed our reservations and got us into a lovely room at the hotel the very next afternoon. On my birthday, totally unprompted by us, the staff at breakfast appeared at our table with a candlelit cake and a rousing rendition of "Happy Birthday". The staff are professional yet friendly and always smiling. We won't hesitate to book another trip in 2012.

Room Tip: If you want total privacy and little interaction with others, or if you are a group travelling toget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Personal service at a top level. An experience for a lifetime! Picture perfect place where you really have it all in one place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband and I spent 6 nights in the The Club recently and were treated like royalty. Our butler Arisna, was not only extremely attentive, but was able to anticipate the little things that we didnt even realise we wanted until after he took care of them!!! He looked after us beyond the "call of duty" and is truly an assett to The Legian! All of the staff are wonderful and nothing was ever too much trouble. My husband even brought the recipe for my favourite cocktail and the Club staff went over and beyond to get the ingredients and perfect the taste!!! What can I say about the villas, service, food, transport at our beck and call, breakfast, the hotel, cocktails, canapes etc etc etc..... WONDERFUL!!!!
Of course, as with all fine and exceptional hotels, it is all of the little things that make your stay special. A small exqample of this involved our 19 year old daughter who joined us for the last 2 nights of our stay...we were going to pick her up from the airport in a Club car...but as we were running a little late, Arisna had checked the flight schedule and decided to send another car ahead of us, just in case she arrived before we got to the airport and had no one to welcome her!
A wonderful stay...we cant wait to go back to this gorgeous home away from home!!!

Room Tip: Pool villas very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Legian is truly 5 star. The staff are what make this hotel such a delight to stay at. Always so helpful to assist in anyway, we were always greeted by name and with a warm smile. We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe which was huge - the size of an apartment. Top marks also go to the chefs. The food was divine. Most days were spent lazing on the huge daybeds by the pool, reading a book or watching the ocean. The hotel location is perfect to all the popular restaurants/bars in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 11 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. In keeping with GHM’s tradition to provide guests a culturally inviting experience, The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali – a GHM Hotel Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.