We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“club @ the legian - best hotel we have ever stayed at !!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FOURTH NIGHT ON US
Ranked #1 of 107 Hotels in Seminyak
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“club @ the legian - best hotel we have ever stayed at !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

we stayed here after 4 nights at the amazing GHM Chedi Ubud. We thought that that hotel could not be beaten but how wrong we were .

how this hotel isnt at the top of tripadvisor i do not know. elegant luxury . gorgeous grounds , beach , pools etc etc

we stayed at the club across the road for 4 nights in a pool villa. you get between the hotel and the club by spending about 1 minute travelling by golf cart! i thought the villas at chedi where amazing but they blew even those away. amazing butler called Sura . the great thing about the Legian Club is your butler only works for you - so is always there for you.

just absolutely amazing. service. spa . restaurants . afternoon tea at the villa . free cocktails. my local newspaper from the UK brought to our room every day.

any questions - Sura had an answer. where to get handbags ? where to eat ? where to get authentic Bali souvenirs ? Sura had an answer and a car waiting to take us there!
the list is endless

amazing amazing amazing - truely a leading hotel of the world
we met the assistant manager at a cocktail night and had a note from the manager on arrival and an email after. brilliant service.

we were treated like VIPs from start to finish thanks to the level of service at the hotel and being on honeymoon and booking through the legendary travel agent David Ourisman all helped!

stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels in europe and usa and this was the best

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    83
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
180
458
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Legian is an excellent hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, it is spacious and clean, there is a turndown service each night and the small treats that are left is a nice touch. The mini bar is well stocked and the soft drinks and water is free. The spa treatments are lovely and well worth a treat. The Hotel meals are a little expensive and be aware that alcohol is extremely expensive, a bottle of wine can cost up to £50, however, all that said, the meals are very good. There is a wide range of restaurants outside of the Hotel, we went to Hard rock cafe in Kuta and also Chandi in Seminyak, both restaurants provided value for money and the meals were lovely. There are beach sellers, but if you politely say 'no thank you' they will not bother you. When you arrive at the airport, be aware of the porters as they will offer to help with your case and then escort you to the money exchange bureau, you need not pay anymore than 5000 rupees per case.
Remember to take your mosquitto repellent as you will most certainly be bitten at night. We had a good holiday and will certainly stay at other GHM hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are brighter. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite, it was spacious and provided for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at the club in one bedroom Villa. The Villa was of good size, luxurious and the free mini bar was generous .We had a private butler which was trying his best to give the best service. However we expected him to be more knowledgeable of the area, dining options and shopping options. his English was OK but in times we couldn't understand each other. some amenities expected in a basic hotel bathroom were not there. We love staying in luxurious places but we didn't feel the club here worth the money. the rooms at the hotel will be of much greater value.

Room Tip: stay at hotel not at the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights as part of an extended honeymoon in Indonesia/SE Asia.

Had a villa at The Club. Having flitted between the hotel and the Club area constantly, I can honestly say The Club has a distinct edge (as you can spend as much time at the hotel as you like, but then retreat to your villa). Having breakfast at The Club was a no-brainer as they have their own kitchen and staff - we only saw 2 other couples the entire time, whereas the buffet in the main hotel was rammed.

Great butler (Putu) - a genuinely sweet natured man who couldn't have wanted to help us more than he did. His patience with my constant demands for ice, vodka and chopped limes was heroic! (the complimentary bar is the best I've ever seen)

The ipods have a lot of good music from Kylie to classic punk like The Misfits.

The pool at The Club is 35M and rarely has anyone in it or by it - it's yours effectively. The pool in the villas is also sizeable and perfect for a cool-off dip or a drunken naked divebomb at midnight!

The bed is smaller then you expect, but the interior of the villa is so cool, it really doesn't matter.

6 pieces of laundry per person are included - this was an unexpected perk having arrived with loads of dirty clothes.

Dinner over the road at The Legian is quiet and relaxing with the waves crashing down on the beach. Service was spot on and the Indonesian food very good. The special ice cream bowls also are worthy of a mention (they have an inner bowl with crushed ice to stop the ice cream melting - ingenious.

Spa - excellent. The massages were very good.

Communal areas of the hotel - excellent...a very cool layout and design - very tasteful.

Overall one of best hotels I've ever stayed at. Recommended unreservedly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Amazing hotel with attentive, friendly and helpful staff. We plan on going back to Bali in the next couple of years and will definitley include a stay at The Legian as part of the trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

You can't beat the beach view at the Legian, especially at sunset. The hotel is beautiful and the entire property well designed. We stayed in a pool villa at the club and cannot say enough about the service and dedication of the staff. They remembered every preference and made sure we were well attended to. The only downside of the club is that the villas do not have sea view but the private pool is a great place to unwind in the chaos of Seminyak.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

We've just returned from an amazing honeymoon which included a week stay at the Legian and what can I say, it was just perfect! It is a very elegant and traditional hotel with a wonderful relaxed feel as soon as you enter. The smell of the beautiful flowers is very noticable too:-) The staff were all lovely, always smiling, always very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. The concierge and reception service was very efficient and helpful. The room we had was amazing and huge. We had a dining area, a lounge area, a large balcony with a day bed and table/chairs, a beautiful bedroom with a 4 poster bed and netting that was pulled to at night when they turned the bed down. The bathroom was huge too with 2 washbasins, a large bath, sep walk in shower and separate wc. Breakfast was extensive with a local option, and the full range you would expect from a top hotel and again the service excellent and prompt. We didn't have dinner while we were there as we wanted to eat out, but we did have lunch a few times and the food again was excellent! Complimentary afternoon tea each day was also a lovely touch! The pool area is lovely and the position of the hotel is right by the sea! Each day your provided with sun lotion, cold/wet flannels and a glass of iced water which was constantly topped up or refreshed during the day...just what you need in the heat! The sea isn't gentle, the waves do crash but they're excellent fun especially if you get a boogie board and ride a few waves! The sound of the ocean is something we've come back with in our minds....very relaxing! A few final things to mention...the spa is excellent and a balinese massage really sorts those knots out! You also get a bag in your room to use for the pool/beach was is handy to know as I wouldn't have taken one if I'd known. If your going out for food try Ultimo, we went twice and had an excellent meal both times:-) Note that wine is expensive no matter where you go, it's due to the high import taxes. We tried a local red, Two Islands which was good. As you can imagine we really didn't want to leave and I would go back to the Legian tomorrow!! We will definately be back!!:-)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#1 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#2 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legian Bali is an exclusive all-suite hotel set in landscaped tropical gardens, offering unrivalled views across the Indian Ocean. Flanked by quiet beach, this luxurious property offers a unique chance to experience the magical island of Bali in a relaxed setting. Beautifully integrated within landscaped gardens and lotus ponds, The Legian Bali boasts 67 sea-facing suites plus The Beach House in an ample variety of exquisite accommodation style. Situated in a quiet enclave in Seminyak, and adjacent to the exclusive The Legian Bali, a cluster of 11 private villas stands majestically amid scented gardens and private pools. This exquisite residence that redefines luxury living in the tropics is The Club at The Legian, offering guests the ultimate in privacy, and unobtrusive, yet flawless, personalised service. In keeping with GHM’s tradition to provide guests a culturally inviting experience, The Legian Bali and The Club at The Legian present all the charms of Balinese hospitality in its personable service, customised spa treatments and alluring surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Bali Seminyak
Legian Bali Hotel Seminyak
Legian Hotel Bali
Legian Seminyak
Bali Legian
The Legian Bali – a GHM Hotel Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.