We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, Beautiful, Romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uma Karan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Uma Karan to your Saves list
Uma Karan
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jl. Bidadari III/8, Kunti 2, Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tranquil, Beautiful, Romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

At first this place seemed like it is in the middle of nowhere but once inside I was greeted by this lovely pool with floating frangipani flowers and soft trickling water. It was quiet and very romantic especially at night. The room looks new and well provided with basic toiletries. Great toilet with walk in shower, safe, and long mirror, topped with natural light from the ceiling. Best part is the couch by the window, and the big comfy bed. Everything is spotless clean and new. Food (by Gofast) was nice (I ordered bolognese) with good serving size and reasonably priced. Best experience was the 3.5 hours at Murano Spa which was very cheap yet very very good.
Despite all these good things, one negative thing was the mosquitoes! They were everywhere despite the efforts of the staff( I wasn't bitten at all). Each room is provided with plug in mosquito repellent, but for safety please bring your own lotion. Another one is the matter of the dogs. I honestly heard them barking and howling (creepy) at night but not loud enough to disturb sleep. I guess it depends on where your room is located. These dogs are strays (Bali has this stray dogs problem) and it seems like the hotel has nothing to do with it.

Overall, I will definitely recommend this place to anyone and will definitely stay again in case I drop by Seminyak again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    36
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
66
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mandurah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We picked Uma Karan for our first trip to Bali based entirely on reviews on trip advisor and booking.com and the fact that we wanted a small hotel. The property itself ticks all the boxes, cosy, spotlessly clean, beautiful staff and close enough to all amenities. Our first night was lovely after being greeted and shown to our room at 1.00 am we woke to a nice breakfast served in our room.
Unfortunately things went down hill a bit from there. The first thing we noticed was that there are only four pool lounges for a potential twenty guests, so unless you're up at first light forget lounging around the lovely pool.
The main problem however was on the second and third nights, dogs in the adjacent property howled and barked incessantly ALL night long resulting in no sleep for two nights.
We decided to find another hotel for the remainder of our stay, forfeiting the money we had paid.
To be fair, the staff were very upset and offered us another room but the noise from the dogs was so loud I don't think it would have mattered which room we were in.
I hate posting negative reviews but feel that reviews must be honest for people like us that that rely on them to make choices.
To finish on a positive note the rooms and staff were great and they did say that they would try and speak to the owners of the dogs.

Room Tip: Check if they've got rid of the dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest MartinBarnett,

Thank you so much for your staying at Uma Karan and taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are apologize regarding the dogs barking and howling all night and make you can't sleep for two nights. We have talked directly with the owner of the dog from the back of villa and they had to move their dog are often barking.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future.

Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This petite-sized villa is the perfect nest for couples who's looking for a calm and serene setting to spend their holiday in. With only 10 rooms and a short 15m swimming pool as the central attraction, this place is quiet and intimate. The staff are very friendly, helpful and patient with our silly requests. The major highlight here is the opportunity to float in pool under the lush canopy of poolside trees lit by romantic lanterns while being serenaded to ephemeral Balinese music. The ambience is sublime. The only thing to bear in mind is to avoid the western or soup options for breakfast. Trust the Indonesians to make what they make best - go for the Mie or Nasi Goreng.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Fantastic little boutique hotel! Everyone is very helpful, thoughtful and friendly, all the services provided are wonderful! The best Spa tip ever, breakfast in the room or by the relaxing pool, surrounded by tropical scenery... Absolutely Approved!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are around the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest Mcfulcher,

We are truly delighted to know that that you had such a good time enjoying our hotel and our service and facilities.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your loved one back for another memorable stay in the near future.


Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This accomodation is located away from the busy streets of Seminyak, though still in walking distance of shops, pubs and clubs . A walking trip to the beach will take you about 20 mins, or you can take a taxi of course. Uma Karan has only 10 rooms, with a beautiful and serene pool located in between. Actually, we choose this hotel because it is near the airport and we had to leave the next day. We really enjoyed our stay here: the room was neat and clean and we loved the pool. Personnel was nice and helpful and provided us with information and a small map to find our way in Seminyak. This accomodation has a strong and fast WiFi so you can tell your friends how great this place is... :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest De Reuf,

We are truly delighted to know that that you had such a good time enjoying our hotel and our service and facilities.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your loved one back for another memorable stay in the near future.


Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a very warm welcome at Uma Karan and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are spacious, quite new and clean with proper shower and aircon. We loved the pool and the tranquil area to hang out in the evening. Although it's not in the center, you'll find enough places to shop and dine.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest Watersportsfun,

We are truly delighted to know that that you had such a good time enjoying our hotel and our service and facilities.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your loved one back for another memorable stay in the near future.


Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Everything is great except the location is a bit far (about 20 minutes to the central Seminyak). A tranquil, pleasant and homey hotel, with a nice tropical swimming pool, fresh breakfasts, very comfortable, spacious and well-designed hotel room. If you don't mind a bit walking and prefer quiet places like us, this is definitely your choice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmaKaran, Manager at Uma Karan, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest KacySong,


We are truly delighted to know that that you had such a good time enjoying our hotel and our service and facilities.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your loved one back for another memorable stay in the near future.


Thank you & best regards,
Norina Gracia
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Uma Karan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uma Karan

Address: Jl. Bidadari III/8, Kunti 2, Seminyak, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 321 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Uma Karan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma Karan, Seminyak boutique hotel. Located only 10 minutes away from the heart of Seminyak's dining and shopping point, beautiful sunset beach of Seminyak and Petitenget, yet tucked away in a secluded corner to allow you the luxury sense of privacy. All 10 spacious hotel rooms (28 sqm), provided with direct access to our 15 meters long swimming pool and lush tropical garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Uma Karan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Karan Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uma Karan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.