We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and nice resort within an area under construction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dipan Resort Petitenget

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Dipan Resort Petitenget to your Saves list
The Dipan Resort Petitenget
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Petitenget Gang Gagak No. 1 | Jalan Petitenget Gang Gagak No. 1, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
+10%Discount Deal
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New and nice resort within an area under construction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Naming this property a resort may be unsuitable due to its size. The Dipan is a very small establishment tucked away in a corner of Seminyak. It is currently surrounded by construction sites and even the road leading to the resort is unpaved. I'll probably not be able to find my way to the resort if not for the airport transfer provided.

We arrived via an airport transfer service which was included in our package. As I was previously staying at the Tanjong Benoa area near Nusa Dua, I called the resort for a change of pick up location which they were glad to accommodate at no extra charge! However, the resort did made a last minute change in the said pick up timing and the driver was late due to the usual traffic in Bali. We were picked up by Mr Putu, the resort's freelance part-time driver. You may privately engage Mr Putu for day tours which are cheaper than whatever is provided by the resort.

During check-in, we tried to request for late check-out 2 days later but was rudely turned down by the staff at reception stating that the resort was fully booked. We were then checked into a one-bedroom villa 107 which was very beautiful and romantically decorated with rose petals all around the room. However, villa 107 was tucked away in a corner near the main building but beside the construction site just behind the villa's walls. Although we were very delighted upon entering the villa, it had a very bad stench originating from the toilet bowl, the housekeeping staff was called in. They cleaned the toilet bowl again, probably sprayed an entire bottle of air freshener around the bathroom apparently trying to mask the stench. Thus, we decided to go explore Seminyak and return to see if the stench lingered on. Upon returning, the stench was still prevalent, so we called to request for a villa change. To our surprise, we were upgraded to a three-bedroom villa 302! Though it was kinda odd for a couple to be staying in such a big, 2-storey villa, we gladly accepted the upgrade rather than sleeping in a room with a stench. The bathtub in villa 302 was leaking a little which slightly flooded the bathroom. The showers also lack shower curtains.

The Dipan lacks a proper driveway for guests to alight, there was once when we had to alight from our taxi in heavy rain though it was a quick run. The main building was also not sheltered to the villas however, we were offer umbrellas. The staff around the property are very friendly except for one lady from the reception desk.

The private pools attached to the villas were not as private as expected. Since there are 2-storey villas and the main building around, these pools can be viewed from windows of neighbouring villas or the main building where rooms are located. Definitely not much privacy. The pools were also quite deep, about 1.7-1.5 metres from one edge to the other. Though not very deep, there was no ladder or steps to exit the pool. This was raised to staff during check-out and the housekeeping manager assured us that the ladders were ordered and will be installed soon.

Meals at the resort are tasty and fantastic but a little pricey as with any other hotel which usually mark up menu prices. There are no food areas nearby except for a Nasi Ayam (Chicken Rice) stall about 10 minutes walk away.

Overall, the stay is great with a few teething issues that need to be ironed out. I'll definitely return believing that these minor problems will be fixed.

Room Tip: Deny villa 107 unless the plumbing if fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    84
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
136
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Everything you could possibly wish for in a villa. Huge rooms with quality bathrooms, well maintained and extremely cosy. The living area accommodating for friends and family. A small but nice pool just outside the living room door in case you don't wish to use the shared pool outside the villa. Food wise, it was great, from the ambience of the dining area to the quality of the food! Especially the dinner menu. And the breakfast was definitely worth waking up for. The staff were all very friendly and very ready to help. They would greet you as many times as they see you with a huge smile on their faces, making you want to smile too. Some of them would even go out of their way to assist you. The hotel provides services that do make your stay in Bali much more convenient. For example, they rent bikes, they pick up/ drop off at the airport, hired driver for the day at a price, and many more! The villa was worth every cent paid and a second visit would happen for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Dipan resort is a fairly new boutique hotel set in the heart of Seminyak. Unfortunately it is currently surrounded on 3 sides by building sites which does not bode well for peace and quiet during the day. And at night, on the 4th side, there is the Hu-Bar which pumps until 2-3 in the morning. Construction is expected to continue for much of 2013.
So much for the cons. On the upside the rooms are large and well appointed with a great bathroom area. There is a separate shower and stand-alone bath. There is TV and a tea-making facility and bottled water is supplied free of charge daily.Beds are large and very comfortable.
Staff are incredibly friendly and willing to help and the chef is superb. Meals are of a high quality and well presented and compare with the standard expected in a much larger facility.
There is a small swimming pool although we failed to make use of it.
Do make use of the shuttle. Taxis to and from the airport are a nightmare and it is well advised to book the shuttle to meet you if flying in to Denpasar and going direct to the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Centrally located in Seminyak, friendly staff, large comfortable rooms. Nice touch having drinking water fountain in room. The swimming pool area is small and could do with additional sunbeds, and the noise from Huu Bar on some nights was disruptive but the hotel itself did it's best to compensate for this. The breakfast menu and quality is excellent and the spa also provides a great service at reasonable prices. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at Dipan Resort. We arrived at Bali and the driver was already there waiting for us patiently. On our way to the airport, he was recommending the different tour packages provided by the hotel yet not being pushy at all. Recommending us where to walk around Seminyak area and showing the way to the hotel.

The staff were really friendly and the receptionist was extremely helpful. Helping us to research on the prices of the activities we're interested in and asking her colleague to follow up with us as she has ended her shift.

The butler makes you feel at home and loved. Cleaning and packing your room every morning after you left the hotel and in the evening, they will return to your room to close the blinds, spray mosquito repellent in your rooms, make your bed once more, placing the bathrobes neatly on your bed welcoming you back "home" for the night.

We booked a car for a full day Ubud tour and added white water rafting into our itinerary. What I particularly liked about the tour is that it is very free and easy, you can add on activities you're interested in and they will try their best to fit it in. The driver was really knowledgeable, introducing us to the traditions and culture of Bali. He also gave us some private and quiet time to rest in the car as well. The car was really clean and comfortable. On one occasion, I accidentally misplaced my phone in the carand the driver managed to recover my phone.

The hotel also provides free shuttle service to Kuta beach but you have to inform them the day before to make arrangements for it. All these information were given to us by the driver on our way to the hotel from the airport.

The breakfast and dinner at the hotel was really impressive. I never expected such a great breakfast from them. The portions were huge.

Dipan Villa really makes you feel at home and makes you not want to leave the place thanks to the friendly staff there who would always greet you with a smile all the time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed there for 8 days over christmas 2012. Small resort with excellent rooms, pool area, staff, food. Large beds, big bathroom,big bath, big shower, plenty of water. Located within walking distance to the beach and the main shops. Most roads nearby don't have footpaths so you need to be able to dodge traffic, storm water drains, broken covers,etc.
The pool area is small but very relaxing and a nice place to cool off during the heat of the day.
There are two major constructions each side of the resort - we had to keep our curtains shut all the time because the constructions workers looked straight into our room.
Workers start at about 8 am and finish late at night around 10 pm.
The hu'u bar is next door - nice restaurant and a major disco and dance floor -Thumpa Thumpa music on big nights from around 10 pm till 3 am.

Very good Spa massage next door and not too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our staying at the dip an resort was excellent,, even though the hotel is not walking distance to main shopping, butt i guess in the future will get easier. The hotel provided us a driver who did his best, not even taking us everywhere, but his amiability was exceptionally, and the staff their all were helpful and the manager was so kind in upgrading us as when he saw my mom had difficulties with the stairs. Thank you, very much we really appreciated. And about the decoration, arquitecture and cleanliness exceptional feels very comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dipan Resort Petitenget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dipan Resort Petitenget

Address: Jalan Petitenget Gang Gagak No. 1 | Jalan Petitenget Gang Gagak No. 1, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#33 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#33 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dipan Resort Petitenget 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE DIPAN RESORT, VILLA AND SPA epitomises fashionable luxury accommodation with acute attention to a design and style yet to be seen on the magical island of Bali. Our philosophy is simple: Anyone who stays with us should feel like a VIP rock star, a fashion icon, a celebrity designer . The Dipan resort, Villa & Spa is the first private villa complex in Bali to incorporate a truly metropolitan chic design aesthetic that blends tastefully with the rich tropical Bali milieu. Our guests can always expect the pleasing comfort of our one of a kind property and unique individual private villas, coupled with services and amenities befitting the most discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, AsiaRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dipan Resort Petitenget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dipan Resort Petitenget Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dipan Resort Petitenget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.