We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dipan Resort Petitenget

Save Saved
You added The Dipan Resort Petitenget to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dipan Resort Petitenget
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Petitenget Gang Gagak No. 1 | Jalan Petitenget Gang Gagak No. 1, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 89 hotels in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were upgraded and our villa was lovely. The staff were very friendly, and the location was excellent. We enjoyed the many cafes and restaurants and shopping in the local area. We kept going back to the spa for massages as they had a special half price in the mornings. The massages and pedi/manicures were amazing. The breakfast was nice but not much variety. Villas were spotless. Would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    79
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
129
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had an enjoyable 4 nights stay at the Dipan. The spa is great quality as is the restaurant and the service from the staff was fabulous. The room was extremely spacious and modern. We stayed over the new year period therefor the was a bit of noise from the restaurant next door. Recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was having a business trip to Bali and often try new hotel or villa. This time I tried The Dipan Resort in their superior room (the most standard one). The location is not exactly on the main street but it is very close with the famous Huu Bar and it is in walking distance.

My first impression is this is a small hotel with small property. After I arrived, I do the check in process and the staff were really friendly.

The room is spacious, minimalist, and dust free. There is also a wide sofa in the room and they also provide water dispenser so you don't have to be worried if you only get 2 bottles of water every day.

The bath room also very spacious and they separate the shower and the bath up. The hot water also function properly. They don't provide the toothbrush, but when I requested it at around midnight, they said the housekeeping team was home already but in the end, they can provide me one. Nice service.

The breakfast is not a buffet style, but each person can get one portion of meal and drink as desired. I tried the salmon scrambled egg and it taste very good.

Too bad I only stayed there for one night. Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

After all the staff at The Dipan has done for me and my fiance, I feel bad even to do this review only now, like a month after our stay.

First up, to review the one-bedroom villa where we stayed, the place was clean and the interior decor was nice. I can't say I've not seen better but really, it's the standard of service which totally impressed me.

To cut to the chase,
1) My fiance's birthday fell on the 2nd day of our trip. I had requested for a cake prior to coming to Bali and was expecting to collect the cake from them for a private celebration. To our surprise, the whole Dipan team came to the door of our villa with a cake with candles lighted up, while someone strummed the guitar as the whole gang sang the birthday song for my fiance. I didn't quite expect it even though i was the one who ordered the cake, so you can imagine my fiance's surprise when he opened the door, cause I didn't even mention anything to him.
2) My fiance fell ill on the last day of our trip. He had very bad nausea and giddiness and was in no shape to walk around. We had to check out by noon and so we did but after depositing our luggage at the reception, all we could do was to to sit on the sofa at the Main Lobby cause he was feeling so bad. One of the staff, which we didn't manage to get his name, noticed my fiance was unwell and offered to check on an available room for us so that my fiance can rest properly till our night flight out of Bali. He managed to find an empty villa just opposite the one we were staying in and it looked like it had just been cleaned up after the previous guests checked out. We spent the rest of the afternoon in there Free-of-Charge. I was so grateful!

Two thumbs up!

P/S Another plus point: The Locale Restaurant @ The Dipan has excellent breakfast menu!! We tried lunch and dinner as well, great food! Minutes' walk from the Sea Circus which is a great choice for food as well! :)

Room Tip: Request for room away from Hu'u Bar. But I think you can still hear a bit of it from anywhere in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dipan R, Manager at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear , Mr. Slumbers

Thank you for your review sharing your experience during your stay with us.
it is very efficient to help other visitors of Trip Advisor to understand better about our property and our service, we at The Dipan try as hard to make every single guest stay with us to be satisfied and we only have a simple philosophy " guest need come first before our standard operating procedure "
we are simple and never make it complicated and deal with every one at The Dipan is always fresh and we are improving by smiles .

Once again thank you for the review we all look forward to welcoming you back to stay at The Dipan again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

After our stay there, we felt that its only fair if we write them a good review. The staff at the dipan were very friendly and helpful. They made sure our room was neat and clean. The place was beautifully decorated. Couldnt have asked for more. Great experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

From the moment we landed to the time we departed Bali, everyone at The Dipan have been warm, helpful, hospitable, friendly, humble and made our holiday so special.

We celebrated my husband's birthday in Bali and had a lovely stay at The Dipan. They did a beautiful job decorating our bedroom with rose petals on my husband's birthday and he was touched from morning when they sang him "Happy Birthday" and presented a lovely cake.

The food at the restaurant Loyale was delicious and of top quality and affordable too!
Compliments to the chef and his crew!

The spa was relaxing, and rejuvenating and the staff were skillful with their massage techniques. Definitely a must to visit the moment you check-in!

Our one-room villa was very clean with the lovely pool. Except for the set back of the pub next door which, the resort provided ear plugs before we even requested them! What detail to our every need!

Thanks to all staff again at Dipan and making it such a wonderful "honeymoon" for me and my husband.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dipan R, Manager at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear, Sandra D

Thank for spending your time to express your experience on the Trip Advisor.
We realized from the beginning that the employee are the greatest asset of the Company , therefor we spent a lot of effort to trained our staff to have a standard service initially and toward a personal service in the near future , as the foundation to have staff with standard service is almost in place , now is a time for the management of The Dipan to encourage all of the staff to have a qualification to offer a personalize service as of the goal we set from the beginning.

Your review is very meaning full and help us to motivate our staff to do even better service in the future and we believe the compliments make them happy and though the happiness the work will do even better.

Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Dipan again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

got to be fair in this review

didn't have much expectations for dipan in the first place. only booked for one night

might not be easy to locate for taxi drivers because it's not a "big" hotel - but just tell them huu bar and you will be able to see the hotel beside the huu bar

checked in to room 126 initially -- view (as per a previous reviewer) is of a big empty site, not good, not bad, wasn't expecting a superb view anyway

room size is good with space for tv, for big bed, for couch, and the bathroom is HUGE (with separate area for tub, shower and wc, overlooking the pool area

after bit of walk around of the streets nearby, went back to hotel just before heavy shower. noticed that the windows had gaps and couldn't be shut tight - probably for "ventilation" purpose but might not be such a good idea coz wasting aircon and mosquitoes could get in

exciting part comes shortly after, roof started leaking and poured quite heavily onto the tv console area. called up front desk straight away and told them about the problem. staff came very fast to check on the problem, and immediately called for help from upper management

maintenance manager came along and immediately apologised and offered an upgrade to a 3-bedroom villa (room 304). we packed our stuff and were helped along to the villa

villa was a 2-storey unit with private pool, 3 bedrooms (master on 2nd level with ensuite) with a family area, 1st level has a kitchen, a hall area, a bar counter, 2 bedrooms and a common bathroom

2nd level family area was also "flooded" - not leak, probably coz the rain was really heavy and the family area is somewhat "open concept". could argue this as a design flaw more than anything else

master room looked great but we decided to just sleep on the 1st level room, no point climbing up and down the stairs

1 of the bedrooms on 1st level also had slight leakages in the window area, so we were left with one room to sleep in.

bathroom looked great but lacking shaving kit and dental kits - not a big deal for us, probably just call up front desk and they can deliver those to the room

bed was considered quite hard for our liking, probably just down to personal preference

the location of this hotel is at jalan petitenget (walking to the beach will take a around 10 minutes or so -- no suntan, swimming, surfing though, because this part of the beach is sacred (temple nearby). this part of the beach is where La Lucciola is located also

breakfast was at the in-house cafe area, not buffet style, order from menu set style. reasonable portions, well prepared

staff have tried to assist with the inconvenience caused during our stay with the fast remedy action but i wondered what would have happened if we were out of the room during that time or if the leaking happened late at night, not so funny anymore if we returned to the room to find the whole floor flooded with water or our belongings being drenched in water, not to mention the possibility of a fire from electric short circuit -- coz the point of roof leak was close to the tv area

anyway, if there wasn't swift action by the personnel, rating would have been 1 star (or even a zero if there's such a selection)

the management needs to take a close inspection into all rooms and construction materials in the development. i didn't complain about room 304 because there wasn't a need to (only 2 persons staying -- we only used one room), but i'm pretty sure the villa also couldn't be considered satisfactory for larger-group travellers since the upper level gets flooded and ground level bedroom also had leakages at the window area

regarding the noise from huu bar, we weren't affected as the villa was situated furthest away but i do suspect those units facing huu bar may not get a "silent night" rest

our first time experiencing such a bad leakage problem during a hotel stay, but for this type of inconvenience to guests, i would have expected quite a bit more than just a room upgrade. i'm pretty sure other guests might have asked for a full refund (with compensation) or a complimentary night stay in another hotel of own choice.

Room Tip: urmm ... just ask for rooms that don't face huu bar and don't leak?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dipan R, General Manager at The Dipan Resort Petitenget, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear The Dipan Guest

Thank you for spending your time to write review on the TripAdvisor

Our SOP at the Dipan Is the react as quick as possible to full fill our guest needed (Guest Need Come First before Our SOP)

At that time Seminyak was totally wet and some hotels around underwater and extradited their guest to other hotels

We are very lucky at The Dipan because our construction worth man ship is good enough so will that heavy rain which others hotels are mostly leaking and we only have a minor problem of leaking and intentionally the leaking was only in you room (It was only little Leaking) and our villas of 3 Bedrooms Where we were moved you quickly, the leaking is caused from the rain water blow by the wind upper open living area and we will soon install the blind to prevent the windy rain ASAP

Just to let you know, the minutes it was dry we have re coating our property with more water proving in the all potential leaking area and we promise that the leaking won’t happen even a small one in the futures.

One again thanks you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back the The Dipan Resort, Villas and Spa Seminyak Bali.


Kind Regards
The Dipan Seminyak Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dipan Resort Petitenget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dipan Resort Petitenget

Address: Jalan Petitenget Gang Gagak No. 1 | Jalan Petitenget Gang Gagak No. 1, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#31 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dipan Resort Petitenget 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE DIPAN RESORT, VILLA AND SPA epitomises fashionable luxury accommodation with acute attention to a design and style yet to be seen on the magical island of Bali. Our philosophy is simple: Anyone who stays with us should feel like a VIP rock star, a fashion icon, a celebrity designer . The Dipan resort, Villa & Spa is the first private villa complex in Bali to incorporate a truly metropolitan chic design aesthetic that blends tastefully with the rich tropical Bali milieu. Our guests can always expect the pleasing comfort of our one of a kind property and unique individual private villas, coupled with services and amenities befitting the most discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Dipan Resort Petitenget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dipan Resort Petitenget Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dipan Resort Petitenget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.