We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Great Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arama Riverside Villas

Save Saved
You added Arama Riverside Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arama Riverside Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Sri Rama, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 94 hotels in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean & Great Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed at one of the 3 bedroom villas with a group of friends for 3 days, 2 nights. The main entrance of the villa is very simple but I was warmly greeted by the front desk lady, Bu Yuli. She was very accommodating to all our requests. We were put up at Villa 11 which was the nearest to the main entrance. Once we stepped into the villa, we were awed by the size of the villa and the size of the private pool. Entire villa was clean. All 3 bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms and there is also a toilet at the main living area. The kitchenette is fully equipped with utensils. The villa also has constant reliable hot water for showers. It comes with a water dispenser in the kitchenette for consumption, better than providing bottled water. The front desk and security guards are all very friendly and always willing to help. At the rear end of the villa grounds, there is a back-door leading to the Legian main road where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. Just make sure you check with the security on the security pin code to access the back-door else you'll get stuck outside the villa (like I did). If I'm back in Bali in future and if I would stay at this villa again, YES I WOULD!!!

Room Tip: Villa 11 (3 bedrooms) is the nearest villa to the main entrance. More peace of mind in terms of safe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    33
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We selected Arama villas from the Villas from Bali website.

Overall we had a great experience. We had villa 10 which is great because it’s the last villa so we didn’t have to worry so much about screaming kids in the pool.

We travelled as 2 families with 2 6 year old boys. It was heaven for them and great for us. 3 bedrooms was ample space for each couple to have their own room and bathroom and for the boys to have their own too. Lounge room was equipped with a dvd player so we bought up on dvds when we were out and about for down time. Kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed so for breakfast and lunch we mostly self-catered or went and picked up takeaway. Bintang supermarket is only a 2 min cab ride or 20 min walk.

Room service was also available and we used this option sometimes for the children. Servings where plentiful and price reasonable.

Loved the water cool, so much better than individual bottles of water.

Boys swam all day and we didn’t have to worry about going down to a hotel pool all the time they could swim and play at leisure and we could all relax too.

Downsides, a few flood issues in the bathroom after a massive downpour. Nothing that upset up, we remember this is Bali and things like that happen sometimes. Wifi didn’t work in the unit while we were there. Didn’t bother us much as we didn’t need it too much, Wi-Fi is always unreliable in Bali.

Upside. villas are fantastic when travelling with children. Younger kids I would have been worried about the pool as of course there is no fencing etc., but this age group was ideal. Staff where very friendly and only present when you wanted/needed them to be. i.e. room service. So we had the benefits of hotel comforts and privacy of the villa.

Would we stay again? Definitely.

Room Tip: Villa 10, beautiful and great for families or friends travelleing together
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Very Clean villa, pool, lots of room, kitchen, living room, tv, phone, etc, The location is not the best (walking in the night is not the best idea) so take a taxi if you go out, the personal was very nice and also they brought some food for us for cooking. I will recommend 99% this villa plus it was a good price. They should have Paypal or something for deposits instead of the Bank transfer, but it worked fine thou.

Room Tip: The first villa could be noisy if the "personal or guards" are speaking at night. But you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Arama for 3 nights at the tail end of our Honeymoon, and I wish we stayed elsewhere. Arama gave us a bad impression from the start. We arrived at Arama at 3pm on our check-in date but were told the room was not ready. Admittedly I had originally informed them that we would be arriving late (10-11pm) because we had some tours planned -but the tours got postponed due to rain. But I mean, we arrived within normal check-in time and the rooms should have been ready. The staff actually sent us away, suggesting we go into town, so they could prepare the villa. They were willing to hold our luggage in the villa (which looked ready btw) and off we went to find something to do for a few hours. Upon returning, we were told that the villa was ready but the key was "unavailable" because the previous guest "lost" it. We then were taken to the villa, and were upset to find that the villa had been left unlocked the whole time we were gone - with all our bags inside and in plain view. Strike 1.

We waited all night for the keys, and were given the 'master keys' for the place, because we insisted on having some way to lock the door. We finally got a set of keys the next afternoon around 2pm. They had an extra set made.

Now onto the physical villa itself. Beautiful in pictures and at first glance, but not nice in person. The bathrooms were simple and alright, but the bad thing about the bathrooms is that the water has a distinct odour. I think it was well water? But the last thing you want, after a long day out in the heat and humidity of Bali is to take a shower in smell water. It was a huge turn-off. I hurried every shower because the smell was so pungent .. This was not the relaxed spa-like bathroom I had hoped for. On days 2 and 3 after housekeeping had made up the rooms, we noticed that there were blood stains on our sheets and blood / rust stains on our pillows as I was getting into bed. It was gross. See pictures attached ! I think the dots of blood were from smacking Mosquitos, there were mosquito-blood stains on the floor too, but regardless of what it was from, it was disgusting. Of course, I had to call housekeeping to change all the sheets... Strike 2. Another thing you might want to know - the A/C is only in the bedrooms. Not in the bathrooms, and not in the common area / open living room. I guess we should have realized this, being an open living space, but sometimes we like to wind down and watch some tv before bed... There were no TVs in the bedrooms, so we were sitting outside among the Mosquitos when watching TV. Not a huge deal, but more of an FYI. And agree with some other reviewers, lots and lots of Mosquitos ... Maybe due to the close proximity to the drainage ditch?

The location was not great. Sure it was near the Main Street, but for some reason, lots of taxi drivers were not familiar with the street where the villa was. More than once, taxis would drive around and around looking for it. The taxis that knew the area, yes it was a short 3-5 min ride to say Made Warung on the main strip. other taxis, took us on a 15 min tour before stumbling upon the right road. It also was not in a place where you could walk anywhere .. You had to take a taxi, and in Bali, if you call for a taxi (as opposed to hailing one on the street) they charge a minimum fee. Converted to US, the fee is tiny, but it's the principal of it. If my ride only costs 9000 RP on the meter, it sucks that I have to pay 25000 RP. And trust me, Arama is not 'riverside' ... Drain-ditch-side would be a more accurate description. Strike 3. We were also very very disappointed in the beaches of Legian / Seminyak. Double six beach was dirty and filled with litter. We went at sunset, so maybe the days rubbish had accumulated, but it was a huge turn-off and I don't think I'd return to Seminyak.

The private pool was nice; it was the only nice thing about the villa.

Due to our poor check-in experience and blood-stained sheets, Management gave us complimentary breakfast on our last day, and a discount. While we were in the office lodging our complaints, two other guests were doing the same.

With so many villas and accommodations in Bali, I would find a better one to spend your holiday at. We loved our first and second accommodations in Bali -- Jeevaklui in Lombok, and Ayana in Jimbaran -- but this third pick, Arama, and the dirty beach, has made me dislike Seminyak and I see no need to go back. This was our honeymoon and because this was the last stop in our 3 week vacation, I left feeling disappointed and happy to be going home to Toronto.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baliarama, Manager at Arama Riverside Villas, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guests

We always take guest reviews across Arama Riverside very seriously as we consider them opportunities to obtain genuine and accurate feedback and improve our service and product offering to our valued customers.

Unfortunatley as we had been informed of your late arrival (10.00pm) we had allowed guests a late checkout from the your villa which was why the villa was not available. Your luggage was stored securely in office and was only put in the villa when it was made up.

The water at Arama does come from its own deep water wells and the filtration system that we use can sometimes cause a slight metallic odour to the shower water. This is not uncommon on Bali. We have just implemented a new laundry supplier and our manager has been in touch re the rust stain on your sheets. We do replace linen twice yearly at Arama and pride ourselves on our crisp white bedding.

Being in the tropics mosquitoes will be found and we have a full fogging program and pest control program at Arama. Open living is one of the reasons many people choose to holiday in Bali but it does mean that some insects will be around. Insect repellents and mosquito coils are available.

We are located just off the Legian road and a five minute walk brings you to numerous bars and restaurants. Unfortunately the minimum taxi fare of $2.50 is set by the government.

Regarding the beaches in Bali as a responsible hotelier we actively support The Coco Cola/ Quicksilver beach cleanup program that takes place every morning. As we come to the end of the rainy season and are the winds start to blow offshore again the beaches will be back to their pristine condition thanks to mother nature’s help.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope your holiday wasn’t spoilt too much.

Warmest regards

Arama Riverside Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My trip consist of 12 people including myself, and this is one of the best resort i've ever stayed in.
There is a mini rectangular pool, good enough for you to swim around, a depth of 1.8m given the size of the pool.
I am also amazed by the living area which was opened air, in between the pool and the rooms inclusive of a kitchen with all cleaned and ready cutleries.
There are 3 rooms in each villa, rooms were very clean. I get really particular about toilets, but toilets here are excellent except the water is a little oily. Small question, i understand that Seminyak means oily in Bahasa Indonesia, is that why the water in every part of the villa is a little oily?

Overall, this is definitely a place to consider staying in Bali.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just got back from Bali and stayed at Arama riverside villa's in seminyak and have to say how impressed we were with our villa. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and enjoyed the service from the staff who went out of their way with some of our requests. The rooms were clean and was nice having our own private pool. Would highly recommend Arama to those wanting a quite relaxing holiday away from the hussle and bussle of kuta. Thanks Arama

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was there for 3 nights in a group of 6 people, we stayed in a 3 bedroom villa.

The villa was of excellent value, and we were simply amazed by its beautiful furnishings and tranquil environment. The kitchen was well furnished with cooking utensils and cutlery, this allowed us to make our own breakfast every morning. Bedrooms were of good size, beds and pillows were very comfortable, and we all slept well every night. We had our own private pool, surrounding it were many deck chairs, daybed, and couches for us to lounge around. The villa was cleaned very well everyday.

The staff there were as helpful as can be. I made a couple of changes to my bookings before arrival, and they dealt with it in a prompt and hassle free manner. Airport transfer was smooth, and the front desk staff was always friendly and helpful - nothing was too much bother for them.

We went to Bali to relax, and the Arama Riverside Villas did its job perfectly well. For the price we paid, we could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arama Riverside Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arama Riverside Villas

Address: Jalan Sri Rama, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
#29 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arama Riverside Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arama Riverside Villas Bali in the heart of Semiyak epitomizes luxury accommodation in Bali. These plush spacious private villas, located within walking distance of Seminyak fashionable restaurants and a gentle ten minutes stroll to the beach, with lavish interiors and rare privileges to complement a perfect stay.Arama Riverside comprises of 5 two bedroom villas and 6 three bedroom villas all with private pools built to exacting standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Arama Riverside Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arama Riverside Villas Bali/Seminyak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arama Riverside Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;