We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Hotel Seminyak

Save Saved
You added Sense Hotel Seminyak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sense Hotel Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kayu Jati No. 5, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST DEAL !!
Ranked #61 of 99 hotels in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It was my girlfriend's birthday and we decided to stay in Sense for 3 nights. The staffs were very helpful and provide all assistance to us whenever we have any queries. On the 3rd day (my girlfriend birthday), the staffs came to our room as a surprise with a decorated birthday cake and sang birthday song to wish her. The location is quite good as it was near beach and also some other eateries in Seminyak. Room is clean and spacious. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mr Francis_711

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thank you for providing your review, we are delighted to read that you enjoy your stay as well as the surprise for your girlfriend.

Appreciate your efforts for recommending us too.
With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    102
    31
    9
    10
See reviews for
22
99
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is fairly new and in a good location in Seminyak, right near Seminyak Square and a short walk to the nearest Minimart. I booked for my boyfriend and I as well as a room for my mum and sister through Booking.com.
My mum and sister had a deluxe room with balcony and a request for non-smoking room. I booked a superior for myself and boyfriend with a smoking room request, although the superior does not have a balcony. I assumed that you could smoke in the superior room (we prefer windows open though), because when I booked with Booking.com they gave you the option of requesting a smoking room in the superior category.
When we arrived my boyfriend and I were told we couldnt smoke in our room because it didnt have a balcony. I was immediately angered and pointed out our booking.com preference for a smoking superior room. They said that we could pay to upgrade to a deluxe room with balcony so we could smoke in our room, but I refused to pay because there was clearly a mistake made with our booking instructions. After getting me wound up and angry from this argument, the concierge spoke to his manager twice and they eventually moved us to a different, albeit inferior room with a balcony. We had a fifth floor room overlooking the pool to begin with and we ended up in a ground floor room with a balcony and view of a wall. The balconies dont even have chairs! They obviously dont cater for people who smoke or like to sit on their balconies. This initial experience ruined my time there, although the concierge was very obliging and polite and all the hotel staff were friendly and sweet. Im not sure if the mistake was the fault of the hotel or Booking.com, but surely the hotel ought to be aware of booking mistakes with their agents?
The first room we had and the one we moved to were comfortable, but both times the bathroom and shower floors were dirty. There was mold, soapscum and previous occupants' body hair on the floors, so I wore thongs while showering in this supposedly 4 star hotel.
There is no free water provided in the rooms only minibar beverages which you have to pay for.
The breakfast buffet was disappointing only because the pastries served were stale and obviously left over from the previous day's breakfast.
The hotel and pool area lacks any beauty or balinese flair, it feels like a concrete jungle.
I hate to write a bad review but after all what is Tripadvisor for except to warn people about wasting their hard earned money on a much anticipated holiday?
The only thing the Sense Hotel has going for it is the wonderful, friendly staff. I know its not their fault and I hate to think that they might cop the blame for things out of their control.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Ms Janelle B,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak.

Thank you for your feedback where we will discuss internally for improvement.
And yet, there are things that might arise misunderstanding. All our rooms are non smoking rooms, however clients may smoke in the balcony when available. Unfortunately, due to space reasons we do not set up any chairs on the balcony. We will check and revise content on Booking.com to avoid further misunderstanding about this in-room smoking possibilities.
With regards to the complimentary water, we provide 2 bottled water in your room and it will be replenished daily.

We appreciate your positive comments on our staffs, we will try to keep that level.

Once again thank you for your feedback and hopefully we will be able to cater you on your next stay with us.
With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Only had a night here this stay as we were moving to a villa the next day with some friends.

The hotel organised an airport transfer which was no trouble as we came in on a late flight and took us to our villa the next day after contacting them for directions.

The room was nice and clean and as this is a new hotel still in really good condition and everything works well, my only complaint is the bathroom is a little small but you don't spend your holiday in it so its not such a big issue.

The service is great staff really friendly and most of them remembered us from our last visit which was nice.

The location is fantastic, easy walking distance to seminyak square, grocer and grind, ku de ta and potato head etc etc

Would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr Anning,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thanks a lot for your review and the chance to host you eventhough on your short stay. It was nice to have you again with us.

Once again thank you for recommending us too.
Look forward to seeing you again and again at Sense Hotel Seminyak.

With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

we stayed for 8 nights at the sense hotel on our first trip to semiyak. the staff were extremely helpful right from the first day. the hotel is not a resort but has great rooms and a nice pool. as we explored the area we found that we had the best location. about 400m from beach, seminyak square and great restuarants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ms Margie112,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thanks for sharing your review, really appreciate it.

Hope to be able serving you again.
With best personal regards,


Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you want to stay in a new hotel (7 months old), in a prime location near the beach and top restaurant/ bars then this is it! Seminyak Square is 5min walk away as is Potatohead and Ku de ta, both top spots. Hotel staff are so nice and helpful. We went to Bali for my 60th birthday so it would be low key. We had a quite day arriving back 9.30pm, there was a knock at the door and ten of the staff came in with a cake singing Happy Birthday! You feel like family staying here and it is a new hotel at a reasonable price. Good rooms, decent bed and good breakfast-what else do you want!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if your wife likes to wash clothing regulary, dries quickly as outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr Tonycai

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thank you very much for your review, we are more than happy to read it. Our concept is to create an Homey Atmosphere for all our clients, we are glad that you enjoy it during your stay with us.

It would be great to have again staying with us in the near future.
With best personal regards,


Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was a really good stay at Sense Hotel for us! So pleasant that I came back to write a review for it even after one month from my visit.

Location:
This small boutique hotel tucked has a wonderful location! Turn right and you are on your way to potato head beach club and the left on the main road are restaurants & bars.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean and simple. The beds are comfy and the size of the room is good.

Service:
I am sure you have read about how other travelers have raved about their services and I must say it was really good. Its service is unlike those you get in 5 star hotels. The unique point about their service is that they make you feel comfortable and will do their best to accede to your requests. During our first night of stay, the occupant above us was shouting very loudly on his balcony that it disturbed our sleep. During breakfast the next day, we mentioned it to one of the staff during her morning feedback routine and she immediately apologized and arranged for a change of room. I like how they try their best to improve on their service by listening and working on feedbacks given by guests.

Spa:
The spa rooms are spacious and really beautiful. We made spa/massage appointments everyday and decided to give our hotel's spa a try on the last day. It was definitely cheaper than those recommended online but was good in my opinion. My partner commented that the massage was the best throughout the trip. Give it a try :)

Overall the stay was pleasant and we are very pleased with the staffs. If you are looking for a simple yet service-oriented accommodation, Sense Hotel is the choice :)

Ps. The only negative part about the hotel was their Internet speed connection.

Room Tip: Rent a motorbike to get around! It's cheap and the hotel will be able to make the necessary arra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Ms Januaryeleven,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak.

We would like to thanks and appreciate your reviews, and that you have rated us so high. We are also happy to read if you had a pleasant stay with us. Yes, we do need feedback from our clients so then we can provide better and better services in the future. We still keep on trying to improve our internet speed.

Look forward to seeing you at Sense Hotel again.
With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

A good value option in Seminyak. A great location - 5 mins walk for the beach and very, very close to the shopping area. Good cafes and restaurants around the hotel area. The staff are wonderful, very friendly and helpful - keen to make sure that everything is fine. Had a room with a sea view, a small balcony with a spectacular view of the stunning sunset. Room lacked character but was very clean and comfortable. Pool looked nice. Free wifi but quite slow.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ms UKTravelgirl,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,
We would like to thanks for your lovely review where we have also passed it on to our dedicated staffs who did their utmost making your stay enjoyable. We take note also about your feedback for the room character, as well as the slow Wi-Fi for speed improvement.

Thanks and hope to seeing your smile once again at Sense Hotel Seminyak.
With best personal regards,


Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sense Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Hotel Seminyak

Address: Jalan Kayu Jati No. 5, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#43 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#43 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#44 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sense Hotel Seminyak 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Pivot Point to Cloud NineSense Hotel is an idyllic retreat conveniently located in the tourist oasis and prestigious locality of Seminyak, Kuta. This luxury Bali hotel comes with a tropical stylish haven catering the discerning choice of young travelers and professionals. More than just an exquisite sojourn, the Sense Hotel is not only a hotel near beach but also a perfect Xanadu to celebrate life and revitalize the soul. So, if you’re looking for a hotel in Seminyak near beach but offering tranquility and coziness, think no further. Pick out Sense Hotel only.As the name implies, Sense Hotel in Seminyak will bring in ultimate experiences to every single guest as has been perfectly devised to harmonize the human senses with the surrounding environment through a comfortable stay. Modern design architecture shored up by eco-friendly concept pondering the ventilation, energysaving and the ever changing climate has turned out luxurious premises. In essence, it leads to efficiency in maintenance and operation without forfeiting the quality and convenience of this Bali hotel.Our gracious staff and excellent services extended result in a homey atmosphere that every guest looks for. In turn, this Seminyak hotel makes our mission happen, namely creating unforgettable memories that will stay in the heart of our guests long after they leave our elegant properties. Thus, it is worth becoming your preferred hotel in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sense Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense Hotel Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Hotel Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.