We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Hotel Seminyak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sense Hotel Seminyak to your Saves list
Sense Hotel Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kayu Jati No. 5, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
DISCOUNT UP TO 72% OFF
Ranked #61 of 106 Hotels in Seminyak
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

A good value option in Seminyak. A great location - 5 mins walk for the beach and very, very close to the shopping area. Good cafes and restaurants around the hotel area. The staff are wonderful, very friendly and helpful - keen to make sure that everything is fine. Had a room with a sea view, a small balcony with a spectacular view of the stunning sunset. Room lacked character but was very clean and comfortable. Pool looked nice. Free wifi but quite slow.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ms UKTravelgirl,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,
We would like to thanks for your lovely review where we have also passed it on to our dedicated staffs who did their utmost making your stay enjoyable. We take note also about your feedback for the room character, as well as the slow Wi-Fi for speed improvement.

Thanks and hope to seeing your smile once again at Sense Hotel Seminyak.
With best personal regards,


Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    121
    39
    9
    11
See reviews for
28
124
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at this boutique hotel. The service is outstanding and the staff were keen to do everything possible to make our stay a very comfortable one. From the moment we checked in to the time we left, we felt very well looked after. It was particularly pleasing to arrive at breakfast and find that the staff were so willing so cater for vegetarians - they offered us vegetarian fried rice and vegetarian noodles, in addition to the other items such as breads, pastries and cereals that were on offer from the buffet.

The standard rooms are a little smaller than we'd expected (particularly the bathrooms), but still very comfortable. The hotel is pretty new, and well maintained. It'd be nice to see the bathroom have a normal detachable shower as well as the overhead rain shower... just a minor suggestion for improvement!

Free WiFi is on offer throughout the hotel and is easy to use, even with multiple devices, however speeds are generally slow. We found that a simPATI 3G SIM card worked out better for surfing - it's really cheap to buy a starter SIM pack from a local shop and top it up with a data bundle.

In terms of location, the advantage of staying at Sense Hotel is that it is just walking distance from some wonderful places... 5 minutes away from Seminyak Beach and the Jalan Petitenget area. Check out the delightful Petitenget cafe if you're there... it's just a few minutes away from the hotel. It's so much cheaper to stay at Sense Hotel and walk 100m to get to the beach, rather than staying at one of the resort hotels located right on the beach. Also you get the benefits of being at a smaller boutique hotel and escaping the hustle and bustle of a resort.

We'd definitely recommend Sense Hotel to our friends and look forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: I would recommend a Deluxe room as they are more spacious than the standard one that we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Ms Neilmadhvani,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thank you for taking your time writing your review and making observation about our property. We appreciate your compliment to our staffs, and we have taken note of your feedback about our Wi-Fi so then we can improve the speed.

Once again thank you very much for your thoughts and recommendation.
Look forward to welcoming you again at Sense Hotel Seminyak.

With best regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itaparica, BA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have spent two nights so far at this hotel and have found staff very friendly and service excellent. It is situated in a very quiet street, but no problems getting a taxi and is only a very short walk from the beach and Seminyak shopping Mall. The breakfast is more than adequate with a selection of hot and cold. I will definitely stay here again and more than happy to recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior room, top level and the room size is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Ms Sharon H,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

We are delighted to read your review thank you very much for it. Glad to hear that our services could fulfill your expectation. We appreciate your help to recommend us to your family and friends.

Meanwhile, look forward to seeing your smile again at Sense Hotel "the Little Gem of Seminyak.
With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Purchased quite a cheap deal from Groupon Malaysia. An excellent place to stay in Bali if you want to avoid overcrowded area like Kuta. It is not too crowded but not too quiet either. Just in between. Stayed in a superior room which is comfortable and clean. Plus wifi is provided for FREE at the entire hotel. Staffs are super friendly and helpful, and they were willing to help us to call and book a tourist guide. The package include airport transfers, which is a bonus.
Five-minute walk to the beach, where swimming and sun-bathing is not allowed due to religious reason. But you can just walk for about 20 minutes to Legian and further down to Kuta (I took about 2 hours to walk to Kuta, with a very slow pace). So all in all, they have made my stay in Bali a memorable one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Ms Znzhdhznl,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Glad to read your lovely review, thank you very much for it. We have also forwarded it on to our staffs who actually contribute making your stay memorable.
We hope that we can have you staying with us again on your next visit.

Thank you and with best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

As I write this review, I AM still waiting for the hotel to pick me up from AIRPORT! And I have waited for 1 hour and 15 mins and still continue counting!!
I wrote in 2 weeks before my arrival to confirm the date and time of my flight. And I sent an email 1 day before my arrival to reconfirm and remind the hotel. But no reply from them and I sensed something might go wrong!
True enough! When I arrived at the airport, no one picking me up and I have to waste my international call to call the hotel and only they send the driver over... Stating that it will take 15 mins! And now many 15 mins have passed and I wasted half of my day and my schedule is screwed and trip is ruined! Thanks to Sense Hotel!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ms Clare_Wyc,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,
Thank you for your review written while waiting for us at the airport. We would like to express our apology for inconvenience you experienced during your arrival with us. Yes, there had been miscommunication regarding your airport pick up. However, we will improve our communication way so therefore other clients may not have this kind of experience.

We hope that finally you enjoyed your stay after this unexpected welcome.

Apologitically yours,

Gufron,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been staying at Sense for a week now and still have a few more nights. It is a dream come true. We arrived late at night to have a fresh, friendly welcome from the staff here.

The room is clean, the bed is comfy and the bathroom is amazing. The rainfall shower is great. We have a deluxe room which includes a small balcony, it's nice to be able to open the doors and let the air in.

We had a poolside room which was great. At breakfast one morning, Sugiantini asked us if there was any questions, I asked if there is a good room to see the sunset from. The next morning we were moved to an ocean view room.... WOW!

The staff here are so accommodating, the food is great. The breakfasts are pretty good an great if you order from the menu.

The area is great. Make sure you go to grocer and grind, the junction, and la lucciola. The beach is so close, and although you can't swim (sacred Hindu beach) it is perfect for a walk into legian as the sun is setting.

Thankyou for a great stay and we look forward to our last few days here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ms Phoebeamelia,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,
Thanks for your lovely review and compliment for our staff especially Sugiantini. Glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us.

With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is about 7 months 'new'! There are limited rooms and so it makes the hotel a little more private. The rooms are moderate in size, not too big and not too small (booked into a Superior room). They are really comfortable and clean. The service is superb and the staff are friendly and ready to accommodate. For a new hotel, I have to commend their staff. Though the pool is rather small, but its nice to just lounge around on the sub bed and play in the water. I've seen some complaints about the air cond but I don't think they were noisy. And what attracted me was how clever they were in tastefully hidding the aircond units behind designer panels. I thought it was a brilliant idea and very creative.

Location wise, its about 10mins from the popular hot spots around Seminyak area. The famous Ku DeTa is also walking distance away.

On the flip side, breakfast buffet isn't that great and you don't wake up to a beach. I didn't attempt the 5 minutes walk to the beach but was told that the area where the beach is is rather unpleasant and because there's a hindu temple, it isn't quite suitable if you just want to chill and play at the beach. So if you're planning a beach holiday, this may not be a perfect hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gufr0n, General Manager at Sense Hotel Seminyak, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Ms MichMabelle,

Warmest greetings from Sense Hotel Seminyak,

Thanks for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to read it.
However, we have taken note about your comment of our breakfast, we will discuss it internally for better presentation and variation.

Once again thank you, and hopefully we could see you again during your next trip to Bali.
With best personal regards,

Gufron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sense Hotel Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Hotel Seminyak

Address: Jalan Kayu Jati No. 5, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#38 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#45 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#46 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sense Hotel Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Pivot Point to Cloud NineSense Hotel is an idyllic retreat conveniently located in the tourist oasis and prestigious locality of Seminyak, Kuta. This luxury Bali hotel comes with a tropical stylish haven catering the discerning choice of young travelers and professionals. More than just an exquisite sojourn, the Sense Hotel is not only a hotel near beach but also a perfect Xanadu to celebrate life and revitalize the soul. So, if you’re looking for a hotel in Seminyak near beach but offering tranquility and coziness, think no further. Pick out Sense Hotel only.As the name implies, Sense Hotel in Seminyak will bring in ultimate experiences to every single guest as has been perfectly devised to harmonize the human senses with the surrounding environment through a comfortable stay. Modern design architecture shored up by eco-friendly concept pondering the ventilation, energysaving and the ever changing climate has turned out luxurious premises. In essence, it leads to efficiency in maintenance and operation without forfeiting the quality and convenience of this Bali hotel.Our gracious staff and excellent services extended result in a homey atmosphere that every guest looks for. In turn, this Seminyak hotel makes our mission happen, namely creating unforgettable memories that will stay in the heart of our guests long after they leave our elegant properties. Thus, it is worth becoming your preferred hotel in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, AsiaRooms, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sense Hotel Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense Hotel Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sense Hotel Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.