We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Service, Great Pool and Great Mojitos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Paasha Seminyak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added U Paasha Seminyak to your Saves list
U Paasha Seminyak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Laksmana No.77, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 117 Hotels in Seminyak
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Service, Great Pool and Great Mojitos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I are currently staying in the U Paasha, having been here a week and with another week to go.

It's a great hotel and while there are a couple of small issues, the positives definitely outweigh the negatives.

So here's all the good points:

1. Location. The hotel is located on the main street "Eat Street" in Seminyak and when you walk out the front door, there are cafes, restaurants, shops and boutiques everywhere. There are also lots of taxis going up and down the street so you can pick one up very quickly.

2. Style: The hotel is really modern and hip. The rooms are huge, with a very comfy king size bed, a small sofa and a day bed. There's a mini bar and tea/ coffee making facilities and you get 2 complimentary bottles of water daily.
The room has a balcony but it's not really a working balcony. It's long and just deep enough to stand out on but if you open up the huge french doors of the room then it feels as if you're sitting outside anyway. The shower is really big although the water pressure is not the best we've ever had (but not the worst either). There's an iPod dock in the room which is great. You also get to choose your own toiletries. We chose Jasmine and they are really lovely. Oh and there's also a safe in the room.

3. The Pool: The pool is fabulous. It's on the roof and is surrounded by nice trees. It also has speakers around it and the music played is lovely. We've never had a problem with not getting a subbed, there's always plenty and there are plenty of large towels. There's also a basket with sunscreen in it if you want! The water temperature has been lovely while we've been here. There's a happy hour every night between 5pm and 8pm where you can get cocktails for £2 each and they have a great cocktail menu, and there are always plenty of staff going around the pool so you don't even have to get up off your sunbed! You can also get food but we haven't tried any.

4. The Gym. There's a really nice gym beside the pool. It has 2 cross trainers, a few treadmills, a bike and a multi-gym. There are also free weights which is great for us and plenty of yoga mats.

5. The Breakfast. We've seen a few comments about the breakfasts being poor but we don't understand this as we've had a great breakfast every day. Here's some of the stuff on offer...

Egg station - Fried, poached, scrambled, omelette... you name it, it's yours!
Waffle & Pancake station - With fresh strawberries and syrup
Warm, freshly baked pastries - Croissants, Pan au Chocolat, Danish Pastries (This was a favourite)
Soup station - Build your own soup - Chicken noodle, Meatball, Beef Noodle
Cereal bar with fresh fruit
Meats & Cheeses
Bread/ Toast station
Fresh Juice bar 0 you can also order cafe latte, cappuccino etc
And then there was the buffet... Sausages, bacon, hash browns, baked beans, potato wedges, fried noodles, fried rice, beef rending... etc etc

When other reviewers are saying there's not enough choice, I have to wonder what kind of breakfast they're usually used to if all that is not enough!

It's served from 7am - 11am (but they also have an all day breakfast policy, so if you miss it you can call them up and they'll deliver it to your room right up to 11pm at night) and you can sit inside or out on a small terrace.

6. Service. The people of Bali are really friendly and helpful and the staff here are the same. They always stop to chat and have been teaching us some local words and phrases.

So, what could they do better? Well as a few people have pointed out, the air con is quite noisy but there's an iPod dock in the room so we've just put on some soft music and the noise hasn't bothered us.

We've also noticed a sewage smell in the room but it's only in the evenings and to be honest, we bought a packet of nag champ incense and just burn one every night and it's been absolutely fine.

The hotel offers airport pickup which we used and it was great, but it also cost $25 and you can actually pick up a taxi at the airport for half that.

There are a couple of excellent restaurants just across the road from the hotel:

Cafe Bali - great food, quite cheap, lovely atmosphere. Wine is about £20 a bottle but that seems the norm for everywhere. The service is very 'relaxed' so don't go if you're in a hurry!

Chanti - Excellent restaurant, quite pricey but the delicious food is worth it. The service is great and there's a romantic atmosphere.

All in all we are really enjoying this hotel and would definitely come again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor at the back of the hotel and it was mostly very quiet, except when there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    206
    46
    21
    9
See reviews for
57
238
49
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Pros:
-Get to keep your room for a full 24 hours - we checked in at 5pm meaning we didn't have to check out until the same time the next day, perfect as we could shower and change before getting our flight.
-Breakfast - you can have it anytime and anywhere. Good selection.
-Rooftop pool - lovely pool and relaxing atmosphere.
-Location on the main street in Seminyak
-Huge, clean, comfortable room

Cons:
-Toilet and shower have non-locking, partially see-through swingdoors, which is a bit strange if staying with friends.
-Bit of a walk to the beach.
-Check-in process was quite slow and staff were not amazing.

Overall, great value for money and lovely hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We paid A$135 per night with bfst
We chose this hotel for it's 24 hour check out policy because we had a late night flight home - fantastic idea :)
This hotel exceeded expectations !
Pros
Very hip vibe
Huge room with wonderful comfy bed and lovely distant view out over the sea (we had a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel)
Big windows and a small balcony
Quiet (surprisingly)
Position - right in the middle of all the best restaurants and shopping in Eat Street !
Pool area was fabulous - lots of sun and awesome views.
Freindly, helpful staff

Cons
Breakfast fairly ordinary
Hotel seems to be built on the cheap - cracked pot plants around pool, huge cracks on bathroom floor, 2" gaps between sliding doors and ceiling.(Stay soon before it falls down lol :)
Shower needed a good scrub
Hallways a bit echoey - but our sleep was not disturbed

A fantastic hotel in an unbeatable position - highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Minuses:
- 10-15 mins to the beach
- hotel is industrial minimalist so finishing is a bit rough, i wud imagine bathrooms are a bit tedious to scrub
- water pressure is so so

But the pluses are plenty:
- smack bang in the middle of jalan kayu aya/laksmana eat and shopping street, so many quality restaurants all ard or a short walk from the hotel
- HUGE comfortable room (much larger than hotels of a higher category), ipod dock, well-stocked coffee/tea maker, large double vanity area and shower and toilet stalls
- cold a/c and very comfy king size bed
- nice rooftop pool area with view of the sea and a quite well-equipped 24 hr gym (cardio/treadmillls, weight machines, free weights)
- good bfast selection w i think outstanding properly made croissants. They serve local Sosro Heritage black tea which shows they care abt quality.
- very reasonably priced vs other options in this most prime seminyak area.

For the price and what's on offer i definitely will stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Brest place, reserve on line at the hotel website, free transport from the airport back and forth, complementary welcome beer and discount coupon for more. Breakfast included for around 100 usd. Plenty of restaurant in the area as well as bars. No too far from the beach, about 10 min walking, great staff always friendly and spoke English.
Will come back again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The U Paasha hotel is located in Raya Oberoi, which is a street packed with restaurants and shops. So if you're looking for a central location this is it. Rooms are spacious and have large bathrooms. My room looked clean and neat. Breakfast was ok. I mainly chose the hotel for their check in time is check out time principle as I had a late flight so that it was no problem to leave the hotel at 8pm. The hotel has a nice roof top terrace, but there are too little beds: around 20 which of course is too little for a hotel that I believe has around 65 rooms. Wifi worked good. I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. I joined the hotel's Christmas bbq buffet as I was given a voucher to do so for free. Quality of the food was ok, same applied to the sandwich I ordered for lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebourne Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

I just had a 7 night stay in this Hotel. No 1 is location, it's right in the middle of some great restaraunts and shopping places. The Decor is very nice, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The only negative is they are still learning how to cater for the clients needs, like the we couldn't get a drink by the pool before 12pm on one day and they ran out of pool towels another day, just small things but annoying. They also didn't pick us up from the airport at arrival which was frustrating!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.0 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#53 of 117 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
1.2 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
0.7 mi away
L Hotel Seminyak
L Hotel Seminyak
#44 of 117 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Seminyak
0.9 mi away
Vasanti Seminyak Resort
Vasanti Seminyak Resort
#49 of 117 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Amala
The Amala
#16 of 117 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Paasha Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Paasha Seminyak

Address: Jl. Laksmana No.77, Seminyak, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#37 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#45 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — U Paasha Seminyak 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
U Paasha Seminyak Bali Hotel is enviably located in the heart of Seminyak with nightlife and beach life both close by. Featuring modern and contemporary design, our Bali resort offers uncluttered spaces that create a relaxed and tranquil atmosphere that calls for enjoyment.U’s unique concept of service including our 24 hour room concept which allows guests to enjoy their room for 24 hours from arrival, as well as breakfast whenever/wherever during the stay, international and local calls at cost, pre-select amenities such as pillows, tea, music and soap that guests can select from our online U Choose programme and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your U Paasha Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U Paasha Seminyak Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Paasha Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.